We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It pays to have a bigger room here.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cross Hotel Sapporo
Ranked #6 of 163 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It pays to have a bigger room here.....”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is the 2nd time that we are staying at Cross Hotel. We liked this hotel for its location - in the city yet far away (enough) for the hustle and bustle. There are many restaurants within walking distance from the hotel so one is never short of restaurants to dine at...In fact, the Yakitori restaurant next to the hotel is pretty good and we are sure to go back again. Otherwise, there are also many dining options available. The Sunkus (convenience store) opposite the hotel is also a very good option for snacks and drinks anytime of the day.

The only downside is that the airport shuttle from Chitose does not stop at the hotel and it can be quite a confusing (for 1st timers) to navigate to the hotel from the drop off point - not very nice to be lugging our luggage with heavy clothing during winter. We had a car with us this time round and its much easier to locate the hotel but the parking can be a pain (takes a while for the car elevator to send/ bring it down to street level).

We had the standard room during our 1st stay at Cross and like most city hotels in Japan, the rooms are rather tiny. There is just enough room for 1 luggage (to be kept in the closet) and not much space to walk around. For our stay earlier this month, there was a promotion on booking.com and we managed to get the superior room with breakfast for a good rate. The superior rooms are MUCH bigger than the standard rooms. There is even a comfortable couch area to rest. Although the room sizes differs, I must say that the hotel is well maintained - both categories of rooms were clean, bright and pleasant enough for longer stays.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Princess_fei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    459
    102
    25
    13
See reviews for
365
314
153
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 30, 2013

excellent service and food.
excellent service and food and location. Hot spa as well. U can enjoy every place in Sapporo within walk distance.
I definitely will choose this place again when i come back in Hokkaido.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Cross hotel is a five minute walk from the south exit of the sapporo station. You have to take the JR from chitose airport, and get off at sapporo. You am see the cross hote using n from the traffic light outside the station. Walk straight down and it's on the left. It's a lovely hotel, right in the centre a block away from the clock tower and odori park. A brisk ten minute walk will take you to suskino, the covered walkway market. Room was good sized. Quiet. Staff are friendly. Worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guruprasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Cross Hotel is a fine establishment indeed. Located very close to JR Sapporo Central station it is a hassle free location for all activities in Sapporo. The room is clean and light - not anything special per se (and don't except any extra luxury), but par excellence for the price we paid. The hotel has great service and the onsen located in the top floor is a serious plus. Cannot fault this place for anything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FinDeGaijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mae Chan, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night in July 2013. As most Japanse hotels the rooms are expensive, very small and very clean. Location is good, walking distance to the best shopping and dining areas. The staff tried their best but all interaction ended up in total confusion, embarrisment and loss of face. We simply could not make ourselves understood, despite the fact that my wife speaks decent Japanse. Everything went wrong particularly in the end when our car rental booking was messed up and we ended up taking a bus to our next destination. A few recommendations: please dont change the direction of the escalator all the time, its confusing. Please offer some english TV channels, please arrange adaptors in the room and change your policy about check in 1500 and check out 1000.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joakim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed for the first 3 nights and couldn't figure out what went wrong with the air-conditioner, as it seemed the compressor didn't work. So there is no cool air coming out. The room was at 26 degree celsius. Then the sun rise quite earlier in the summer time, at 5am. So the room could be up to 28 degree when the sun got in the window regardless of the sun shade curtain being covered. When I checked with the front desk, I got told the air conditioner would be turned off during night time. I asked them to change the heavy quilt and warm bedding to something light, but nothing could be done. Even when I asked to talk to an English speaking person, or later on, I wrote a complaint, no response at all. In my complaint, I said that I didn't mind about the energy saving, but at least the room bedding needs to go with the summer mode.
The room is quite spacious but no cabinet or enough stands or stacks. The bathroom is pretty nice though

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whispalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

After traveling around the rural part of Hokkaido, enjoying the luxury of big spacious hotel rooms, we would expect a small typical Japanese Hotel space upon reaching Cross Hotel Sapporo since it is the Capital City of Hokkaido. To our surprise, the room was spacious for our tripple room. We have 2 super single bed, cum half of a sofa which is converted to a bed. The living area still remain roomy after the sofa bed taking up half its size. The bath room space was also ample with 2 basin, a bath tub and seperate shower area. The furnishing look brand new and clean. The breakfast spread was more western but this is expected given that the hotel probably expect more international business travellers. However, a disappointment is that the reception staff barely speak any English and this should be improved on since it is Hokkaido financial district.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeLeng73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapporo hotels
Jouzankei Onsen
JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo
Mercure Hotel Sapporo
#5 of 163 in Sapporo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Nishi Juitchome Station
Sapporo Grand Hotel
Sapporo Grand Hotel
#13 of 163 in Sapporo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Styles Sapporo
#2 of 163 in Sapporo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Century Royal Hotel
#8 of 163 in Sapporo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Hotel Sapporo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Hotel Sapporo

Property: Cross Hotel Sapporo
Address: 2-23 Kita 2 Jo Nishi, Chuo-ku, Sapporo 060-0002, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Sapporo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sapporo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sapporo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sapporo
#10 Business Hotel in Sapporo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cross Hotel Sapporo 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cross Hotel Sapporo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapporo Cross Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing