We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cross Hotel Sapporo
Ranked #6 of 163 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed a couple of days and we were very glad to enjoy the good restaurant and the relaxing onsen. The rooms are maybe a little small but for a city visit, being outside most of the time, it seems alright. If the designers would have considered some more storage space, e.g. in the cover arrangement around the window, it would have been perfect for that size. Anyway, we recommend to visit this nice hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    459
    102
    25
    13
See reviews for
365
314
153
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Sleek comfortable rooms. Good water pressure in the shower. Free wifi. Friendly staff. Just not a lot of amenities if that's what you're looking for. 7-11 down the street, and several restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrinaWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

stayed there during snow festival cos jr tower sapporo fully booked.
service is gd. it's a 15 to 20 mins walk for our family of 5 (3 small children.)
room is a decent size, we stay at convertible family room (natural), do note that if u required to convert sofa to sofa bed, they charge 3,000 yen for 1 size, 6,000 yen for both size. hubby convert himself so we save 6,000 yen.
for family with small children, room size is gd but a bit far to walk esp with snow condition. it's better to stay at jr tower sapporo fopr family with small children.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine_Mint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I got a 40% discount booking 2 nights through hotels.com which was pretty good value. I had problem walking there from the train station, took me about 10 minutes including consulting the map I got from the information desk at the airport.
The building seems pretty new, the standard is good and it has a pretty stylish and nice finish to it. The people at the front desk spoke good english, which at least for me is a plus.

The bed was very comfortable, but the window won't open so the air got pretty moist overnight. There was little pools of water in the window sill. I still had two good nights of sleep though.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
361 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Trendy modern hotel, rooms are small but well planned, shower is set a little low, not good for 6' plus people - Also that annoying thing of no where to put your wash bag in the bathroom 

Bar outside front in the evening - for brave and foolhardy 

The safe was a lockable draw, which was useless - one iPad filled it, so no room for passport etc and no hope for a laptop 

Dined in the hotel restaurant agora
Fine dining Italian - great food, definitely a recommendation,  chianti wine very good - went for set menu - starter a bit dull but all up hill from there 

3pm check in time was annoying 

Shower, whilst low, was a proper power shower, quite good for Japan 

Nice bar to watch the world go by - get a seat in the window 

More Japanese style breakfast, small selection of croissant toast and cereal 

Free wifi and LAN plug in 

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riddler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I booked accommodation at the Cross Hotel online, and was really happy with the easy check-in and check-out that this pre-paid booking provided us with. Staff were polite and friendly, but rarely seen out from behind the check-in desk. They will give you a handy walking map if you ask for one.
Addresses in Sapporo are a little difficult to understand at first, so we had a hard time finding the hotel, as all signage and entrances are set in from the street, so looking down from the corner, you can't actually see the hotel. Once you get a bit closer, it's obvious, with a massive X logo and neon green wall projections at night - you can't miss it then! Reception is on the second floor, so take the escalator or lift up.
They have a large public bath on the top floor (divided into sections for men and women). It's very popular with Japanese visitors, who are used to naked communal bathing, but we didn't see any foreigners using it. There is also a separate lounge area on the top floor (clothed!), with comfy couches, good views and vending machines selling hot and cold drinks and beers. It's a bit more casual (and cheaper) than the bar, if you just want to unwind with a drink.

Room Tip: I don't think there's much difference between rooms, although do request a non-smoking room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kato_80_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed in a queen sized 'hip style' room for 5 nights in January. We just adored our stay - the hotel was in a fabulous location, well designed/furnished rooms, spotlessly clean and great service. While the rooms are small (typical for Japan) the design is smart and fits in plenty of storage and generously sized bathroom. Nice sheets, towels, Ella Bache products etc. The front desk were incredibly helpful - providing directions, calling shops/restaurants to confirm they were open, suggesting activities etc (especially the lovely Manami!). The location was fabulous - just five minutes walk from the main JR/mall complex and 20 minutes from downtown. Lots of lovely little bars and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. I think we paid about $100/night for the hotel and just thought it was fabulous value. We didn't have breakfast or dinner at the hotel but the bar was reasonably busy and had a nice vibe. Overall we loved Sapporo and are looking forward to staying at Cross Hotel again - we think we might try a "natural style" room next time for fun.

Room Tip: 'Hip rooms' are light, bright and have a good layout despite being small. The basin area wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miffy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapporo hotels
Jouzankei Onsen
JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo
Mercure Hotel Sapporo
#5 of 163 in Sapporo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Nishi Juitchome Station
Sapporo Grand Hotel
Sapporo Grand Hotel
#13 of 163 in Sapporo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Styles Sapporo
#2 of 163 in Sapporo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Century Royal Hotel
#8 of 163 in Sapporo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Hotel Sapporo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Hotel Sapporo

Property: Cross Hotel Sapporo
Address: 2-23 Kita 2 Jo Nishi, Chuo-ku, Sapporo 060-0002, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Sapporo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sapporo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sapporo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sapporo
#10 Business Hotel in Sapporo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cross Hotel Sapporo 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cross Hotel Sapporo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapporo Cross Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing