We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I want to return to the Cross Hotel Sapporo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cross Hotel Sapporo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cross Hotel Sapporo
Ranked #5 of 163 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“I want to return to the Cross Hotel Sapporo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Having stayed previously at the Cross Hotel in Osaka we knew we were in for a treat at its sister hotel in Sapporo. It's within convenient (at least in summer) walking distance of Sapporo station, the subways, department stores and places to eat. The hotel interior is very trendy, though quite dark. The urban room was large, comfortable and stylish, though it lacked the Japanese pre-bath washing area that I so love about the Osaka version. The room was a bit warm, but that's Japan for you. English movies on demand were included in the room price. Unfortunately we never had a chance to use the sex-segregated baths (it's worth having a look at the lounge, just for the view at night). We greatly enjoyed our stay and would definitely put the Cross Hotel at the top of our list if we returned to Sapporo.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    438
    100
    24
    13
See reviews for
358
301
151
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Asia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Checked into this hotel in June and was shocked when the aircon system was not working. It was merely blowing in normal air. Checked with the front desk and they said the entire hotel is just drawing in atmospheric air and channeling into the rooms. Unfortunately, this means some room will get it cooler and some will get it warmer. I drew the short end of the stick. So while the outside air temperature was a cool 16 degrees, my room was effectively becoming a greenhouse, and had a temperature of 27~28 degrees. This was despite the hotel bringing in a fan. I showed a screenshot of the fan with the in built temperature reading to the front staff but they were staunch in their stance of not turning on the air conditioner as they said then other guests will complain its too cold. Cant the guests just turn off the air con manually I asked? The front desk just continued saying other guests will start to complain about the cold.

I have travelled widely across Asia and even in countries like Hong Kong in december, NO HOTEL ever turns off the air conditioner. And seriously, if a hotel does not turn on the air conditioner when your room is 28 degrees, when does it turn on the air conditioner?

I would strongly advise all customers who are used to sleeping in a nice cool environment to stay away from this hotel, unless you are used to sleeping in 28 degrees temperature or higher.
And to make matters worse, the windows in this hotel cannot be opened. So you cannot even do something simple like open the window to let in cool air. I would strongly recommend other hotels like Mitsui Garden. I stayed there during winter in February and the air conditioner was still running for all guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MiraAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saroma-cho, Japan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

I booked two rooms over the summer for myself and my parents and young sister to stay in on their first two nights in Japan, visiting from Nebraska. I got a great deal on Rakuten (the Japanese site) for their room, a family room, with no breakfast. I had a hollywood double. I had stayed here before with other family so I already knew that the hotel itself was beautiful and convenient to the station, but this stay left me even more impressed. My parents ended up missing their connection in Narita, and stayed in a hotel there. I didn't find out about this until 8pm, and told the front counter, assuming that we'd just have to pay for the room as it was well past point at which we could receive a refund. However, the very pretty young woman at the counter consulted with her manager and they forgave the costs of their room for the first night. I didn't complain or try to convince them to do this, it was simply a courtesy that was completely unexpected. If this is indicative of their overall service - and I think it is - then it's one more reason to strongly consider a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seanmisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

5 min away from station. 10 min to the park. 15 min to the shopping area. Great location with nice people who can speak good English. Will be back next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Good location - only a short walk from the train station. The design of the hotel is really modern and sleek, very tastefully decorated. The breakfast is good and the onsen on the roof-top is just icing on the cake. The rooms are spacious and staff speaks pretty decent English. The hotel really does live up to the hype.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank citizen_1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

The Cross Hotel in Sapporo is a good choice if you want to tour the city. It's closely situated in the middle of the city. 5 mins walk from the train station and within walking distance to all major attractions. The rooms are clean and spacious for a japan hotel. The top floor public bath is a great addition after a long day of walking the sight seeing. overall a great choice and worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Whilst the hotel itself was perfectly ok - although perhaps facility-wise more style than substance - my experience on this particular stay was quite average.

The internet connection in the room stopped working on the first day of my stay - and upon enquiring was told that the internet was down for the entire hotel because of a hotel guests' wireless router.

Unfortunately the internet for the entire hotel stayed down for my entire stay - despite the seemingly obvious solution being perhaps to deal with the faulty equipment in the relevant guests' room...

This effectively crippled my ability to work whilst staying at the hotel - and I either had to pay for access elsewhere or use the wireless whilst siting in the sparse hotel lobby.

Overall then, I will not be taking the risk of staying at this hotel in the future - although if internet access is not essential for your trip then I'd perhaps give it an extra star.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapporo hotels
Jouzankei Onsen
JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo
Mercure Hotel Sapporo
#4 of 163 in Sapporo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Nishi Juitchome Station
Sapporo Grand Hotel
Sapporo Grand Hotel
#12 of 163 in Sapporo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Styles Sapporo
#2 of 163 in Sapporo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Century Royal Hotel
#8 of 163 in Sapporo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Hotel Sapporo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Hotel Sapporo

Property: Cross Hotel Sapporo
Address: 2-23 Kita 2 Jo Nishi, Chuo-ku, Sapporo 060-0002, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Sapporo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sapporo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sapporo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sapporo
#10 Business Hotel in Sapporo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cross Hotel Sapporo 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Cross Hotel Sapporo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapporo Cross Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing