We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Century Royal Hotel
Ranked #10 of 169 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Location is excellent. there is convenient underground access to the JR station, underground shopping mall and the anchoring Daimaru (large department store) and ESTA, a multistory group of shops and eateries. Odori Park (site of the annual snow festival) is a very easy walk and even Susukino is fairly easily reached on foot. Staff were courteous and helpful, typically what you'd expect in Japan, where the customer is treated with great respect. As part of a group tour, we had a choice of Western buffet or a set Japanese menu for breakfast, held in different restaurants in the hotel. Both were excellent. Rooms are slightly smaller than the rooms found in the more corporate hotels. For westerners, they might feel a bit cramped, but these are typical in Japan and may be classified as representative of "tour group" type of hotels. this is not a knock on the hotel, just stating a comparison. As is also typical in Japan except for the high end hotels, the bathrooms can be "smelly", especially when you run any water (sink, toilet, shower). This is why I've given it 4 instead of 5 stars.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsukikenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (804)
There are newer reviews for Century Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 804 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

Adjacent by tunnel with Sapporo JR station; therefore very convenient location. Service excellent. Rooms of decent standard, great bathrooms and amenities.Beds very comfortable with great quality bed sheets. Overall highly recommendable.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
4  Thank AngmohofArabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

My regular choice of stay whenever i'm in Sapporo. Was pleasantly upgraded from a single bed to a twin-bed deluxe room on arrival and the location of Century Royal which is next to the JR Sapporo Station simply cudn't be more convenient.
On clearing the ticket barrier, turn left and head for the APIA sign, after which on exiting the building and turning right, Century Royal Hotel is a mere 50m walk away.
The twin deluxe room is clean, neat and simple and certainly spacious by japanese standards. Flat-panel tv with bs and cs channels, free wireless internet, soft comfy beds are the standard offerings and a heated toilet seat with an ample bathtub are nice to have.
Staff are polite and courteous and always willing to help. Despite the occasional halting english, a mixture of patience, hand signals and expressions and nothing there is that cannot be solved. All you need is flexibility and adopt an open mind.
The location of Century Royal simply is second to none. Daimaru and Stellar Place both next door, with its never ending floors of shops and eateries are simply mind boggling and will have you shopping and eating to your heart's content. For the techies, Esta next to Stellar Place is a delight with its nine floors of high tech gadgets and other electrical stuffs.
Most importantly, places of interests from JR Sapporo TV Tower, Clock Tower, Odori Park, Nijo Market, Susukino entertainment district are all a stone's throw away with never more than a 15-30 minutes stroll.
As for the ramen afficionados, look no further than Seiryu Noodle Bar in the APIA underground shopping mall. Head for APIA West Food Walk and you will not miss it. Having been to most parts of Sapporo for many years and the ramen joints at the famed Ramen Alley in Susukino, for me, Seiryu have the best ramen in all of Sapporo. The thickness and richness of the broth are simply out of this world and will have you begging for more. As it is a pretty small joint with limited seatings, try to avoid the lunch and dinner hours unless you are not averse to queuing to have a good slurp!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank joe115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Location: the hotel website doesn't clearly indicated there is direct access from JR Station. it is a 7-10mins walk from JR station, 7 mins from Subway. Take Exit 2, Look for APIA, that might be easier to find the way. the direct access closed 11pm.

Service: unfriendly, long face unorthodox Japanese hospitality. Staff with very limiteed English capability at Front Desk. Concierge is under par, only one girl speak better English, the other staff only passed on maps and the snow festival brochure

Room: Given the property claimed to be 4-star, but room is very small. We arrived at 10pm, but the room seemed not prerpared for us. No slippers no cotton wool, until the second day. The room is very standard, NO in-room safe. Very little shelf and closet space, esp for winter clothings.
NO English TV Channel. The website indicated only free cable access internet, but it does offer free Wifi. The plastic electric jug generated bad plastic odor. the next day I asked for another jug, staff seemed to know the problem and gave us a better Japanese electric jug. That's why I mentioned the room seemed not ready for us.

Breakfast: buffet with limited choices. They refill very slow and with very little. I noticed the staff refilled the fresh pineapples bowl with only 20 small pcs. breakfast is 6-10am but around 915am the food are almot gone but with no refill. Pathetic.

We were glad we only booked two nights. The hotel amenities and facilities does not match the price tag. There are more 3-star choices that is better. We were glad we booked ourselves into Mitsui Garden across the street for the other two nights. (We were offered by the Tvl agent to stay in Gracery- ex Washington which in fact is closer to JR station and with direct access like Century Royal. I wasn't very fond of Washington Hotel chain, we make our own choice on internet.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yrtx4e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stay there for 3 nights. This hotel is very convenient as we can direct access from JR & subway station. It was heavy rain for first day we arrived Sapporo, but we still can spend our time for shopping and eating surrounding hotel area as all are direct access from hotel. All staff there are very freindly & helpful althought it take some times to communicate with them in English. But we are so lucky that we meet Ms Paku (朴)which can communicate in Mandarin. Thanks to her for helping us sending our luggage to Airport Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickeyLoveTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Overall a decent hotel. Rooms are small but are expected. Like its location as it's very close to JR and MTR station. There is also a convenience store on on the ground floor of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twowoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We stay at Century Royal almost every January. A group of 10 or 12 of us go skiing at Niseko and usually stay in Sapporo 2 days just for shopping. We love Century Royal as it's only 2min walk from the underground shopping arcade. Shopping during snowing season would be a mess as you have all your coat, scarf, hat, gloves, boots, bags.. we simply walk down from the hotel in sweater and sneakers and when we carry big and heavy bags after shopping, we can simply go back to the hotel without worrying the weather condition.

Hotel itself is not the most beautiful and elegant one; however, with Japanese standard, you won't be disappointed with its cleanliness. Hotel room is big enough including a little table and 2 sofa chairs. Everything else is just normal yet comfortable. We never had breakfast there as it's way too convenient to walk downstairs for various choices.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank staHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapporo hotels
Jouzankei Onsen
JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo
Nishi Juitchome Station
Sapporo Grand Hotel
Sapporo Grand Hotel
#14 of 169 in Sapporo
1,529 reviews
Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo
#11 of 169 in Sapporo
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cross Hotel Sapporo
#8 of 169 in Sapporo
1,221 reviews
Mercure Hotel Sapporo
#5 of 169 in Sapporo
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Royal Hotel

Address: 5 Kita-gojo Nishi, Chuo-ku, Sapporo 060-0005, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Sapporo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sapporo
#8 Family Hotel in Sapporo
#14 Business Hotel in Sapporo
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sapporo
Price Range: $112 - $872 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Century Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here is just 2 minutes walking distance from the JR Sapporo Station and there is underground pathway on rainy days. PARKING LOT: \1300/night(2pm-11am) The one at basement 3 in the hotel or the contracted parking structure across the hotel. Only RONDO, the sky restaurant at the top floor of the hotel offers French cuisine combined with magnificent revolving view of Sapporo, in the city. - 2013 Won the Rakuten Travel Diamond Award Prize in the premium hotel category of Hokkaido. - 2013 Won the JTB Great Serive Ryokan and Hotel Prize in the large hotel category. - 2014 Won the Trip Adviser Certificate of Excellence Award. - 2014 Won the Frist Prize of Rakuten Breakfast Festival in Hokkaido. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Ctrip TA, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Century Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Royal Sapporo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing