We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view and cheap” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sapporo TV Tower

Sapporo TV Tower
Book In Advance
More Info
$651.82*
and up
Private Sapporo Custom One-Day Tour by Chartered Vehicle
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice view and cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Went up to the top of this just 3 days after going up in the Eiffel Tower. So it sort of suffers by comparison, but on the other hand:

1) No crowds, no waiting, no ordering tickets months in advance
2) Much cheaper

I had just wandered over (was strolling through Odori Park counting the beer gardens) and on a whim thought I'd walk in. Free elevator to the middle, so just hopped on, and then found that the elevator to the top was cheap so up I went. Views are quite good (no haze that day though), although I also had similar views later on at the top of the Royton (where my conference was).

And plenty of souvenirs, although this is not really a problem if you're traveling in Sapporo.

Not the kind of place you'll put on your "must-see" list, but if you're in the vicinity--hey, why not?

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mattne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    502
    384
    24
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bonsall, California
Level Contributor
345 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 614 helpful votes
“Pleasant, retro attraction.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Compared to other "tower" type attractions in Japan, this one certainly isn't anything special. But, it is kind of fun to visit an older tower to see what was all the rage in the 1960's. Of course, there is a nice view of Odori park and the rest of Sapporo, but if you are staying at the JR Tower Nikko or another new high rise hotel, the view from the room is probably better.

I know all that doesn't sound very encouraging, but I found the whole experience charming. The employees were all very nice. The elevator operator pushed a button that changed the spiel to English for us (we were the only people there in the off season.) The spiel was so perky I almost needed insulin afterward, but it kind of added to the quirky charm of the place. Everything is in good condition. There is a small gift shop on the observation deck and a larger one on the ground floor. The ticket includes a small discount in the shop. I didn't bother to give it to the clerk because what I bought was so cheap anyway. However, she asked if I had a coupon and deducted the discount before I paid, which was very nice of her.

If you are short on time, you can skip the observation deck and just look at the structure from the park. You're not missing a whole lot, but it is kind of fun if you have time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank davegidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
142 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Icon of Sapporo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Looks so much like the Tokyo Tower. It is beautifully litted at night, and changes into various colour. Sapporo TV Tower is located in Odori Park, within a stone's throw from Sapporo's other famous tourist attractions.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bloodbubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaliningrad, Russia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Cute avatar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Not so tall, but worth spending half an hour to see. As i've got, it's remarkably old (1957?), but looks like it's the reason of specific atmosphere there. Very nice.

Helpful?
1 Thank R0man4282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
730 reviews
471 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,150 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Located on the eastern end of the Odori Koen park this is a 147m tower which I believe is trying to mimic the Eiffel tower, although somewhat poorly. I saw it briefly while visiting Odori park and found it fairly underwhelming. I wouldn't recommend people loose sleep if their itinerary can't fit this place in, although given it is free and located in Odori Koen park, another famous area, its probably worth a quick look, if only that. Its 700 yen to go to the 90m observation tower which i think is a ridiculous price so didn't pay it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sapporo TV Tower also viewed

 
Sapporo, Hokkaido
 

Been to Sapporo TV Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing