We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel located near West Lake in Hangzhou, Excellent Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Goethe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Goethe Hotel
Ranked #63 of 2,351 Hotels in Hangzhou
Madisonville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel located near West Lake in Hangzhou, Excellent Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here to visit her brother back in January 2013. I could not believe the price of the room we received. The view was fantastic and service was excellent. The buffet on the top floor was tasty and affordable.

If anyone would like a 4-5 star quality hotel in the Hangzhou area, please do stay here as i thought the value and quality exceeded my expectations. West Lake area of Hangzhou is very peaceful and beautiful. Most of the hotels on the west lake are very expensive and transportation is very affordable to and from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tluehr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    101
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
4
5
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a great hotel after the stay in the Relax Hotel. Obviously more costly too. The Junior suite is very spacious and I then moved to their deluxe room which was small but well appointed and comfortable. If you arrive by high speed train, the station is a 100m away. The breakfast is good and the buffet dinner has an extensive seafood section. English is in general a challenge. They have English TV channels.
The Westlake area is about 1500m down the road. I walked it and it was quite pleasant.

Room Tip: Any room, depends on what you want to spend
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mataka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
402 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

When you first walk in there is a feeling of fanciness with all the marlble and the fountain - although a slightly dated look! Check-in was a shambles and took forever as there were about 20 English people checking in and no one spoke English at check-in, which was confusing for everyone. After checking in I was impressed with the room, very spacious, comfortable and even had a bath with TV - overall I thought the room was great. People I travelled with ended up on smoking floors (very stinky) and asked to move, the staff objected and refused until eventually giving in and changing the rooms after about 20mins of debating.
Personally I would prefer a location closer to the lake next time, it was not walkable from this hotel and is certainly a highlight for when visiting Hangzhou.
The restaurant has amazing views but not so amazing food unfortunately. We had the buffet dinner which was expensive and pretty terrible, there were only a few people in the restaurant and I suspect the food had been there for hours and strangely they will only sell wine by the bottle not the glass. Breakfast has very little choice too.
Overall, I wouldn't stay here again as I have stayed at better places in Hangzhou and even though the rooms were good the service wasn't too good and food was not good at all, it was as if everything was 'almost good', just needed a few tweeks.

Room Tip: Make it very clear you don't want a smokers room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_WLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Hotel is quite removed from the lake which isn't a huge issue as long as you can get a taxi from the lake to take you back. It is walkable (around 30 mins) if you want to try as we did after failing to hail any.

Room was quite small though very well appointed and bathroom was excellent. Room service menu, while being very good, is very small though reasonably priced (e.g. pasta 65RMB). The on site restaurants are excellent. I ate in both the Hangzhou and the chinese restaurant where the service was first class and the food very affordable and of a good quality. They even allowed me to order take away beers to take to my room as its much cheaper than the minibar!

Service very good helping me to book train tickets (station is located next door to the hotel).

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: May be worth going for an upgraded room for the extra space provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassell28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
145 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed here at the end of business trip to hangzhou as it was close to the train station. Never again. A lot of building works going on around the hotel, so it was very noisy.

View from the 33 restaurant and bar are great. I arrived for breakfast at 10.02am, breakfast was still out as people were eating, but was told we are closed..... So I had a coffee from the bar. RMB 80 for a cold coffee!!

Room rate are higher than what you would pay for international branded hotel, so at stay at one. No this local hotel..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwiawayMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kermanshah, Iran
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

First of all I have to say china trip without Hangzhou is a jerk. then about hotel:
I went to this hotel in 2010 October. hotel had a peaceful and very beautiful environment. staff were great and so kind with always smiling faces. The restaurant for serving buffet breakfast was at the 33th floor and satisfied every taste with an excellent view of a river lying down and toy could try SUSHI !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.
bed, blanket and pillows were silk and you dont like to leave it. beautiful lobby and so quiet to relax.
safe, hair dryer, umbrella,Iron,Iron table,slippers, so clean towels, bath tub with a large LCD in front of you when you are relaxing.
You can change your money at the hotel. and no request will be unanswered. I will put all of its pics here.

Room Tip: Dont miss its breakfast its the most complete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armin1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

Popped in for coffee prior to catching train to Shanghai and got stung for 334 yuan for three cups of very ordinary latte in the foyer coffee shop, that is about $A13 per cup. It pays to check the price before ordering. We were not guests at the hotel and the staff were uncompromising in their position.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
6.1 mi away
Grand Parkray Hangzhou
Grand Parkray Hangzhou
#24 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.6 mi away
Zhejiang Business Hotel
Zhejiang Business Hotel
#66 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
3.2 mi away
Oakwood Residence Hangzhou
Oakwood Residence Hangzhou
#17 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#7 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cosy Park Hotel
Cosy Park Hotel
#21 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.5 mi away
West Lake Golden Plaza Hotel
West Lake Golden Plaza Hotel
#68 of 2,351 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goethe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goethe Hotel

Property: Goethe Hotel
Address: No.19 Xihu Avenue, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310009, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 2,351 Hotels in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Goethe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Goethe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing