We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel - Cheap rate - not really in Hangzhou”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Xiaoshan Hangzhou
Ranked #48 of 2,386 Hotels in Hangzhou
sydney
2 reviews
“Average Hotel - Cheap rate - not really in Hangzhou”
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Stayed for one night on a business trip.

This is a cheap hotel, and good if you are working in/around the XiaoShan Economic Development Zone - and is about 15kms from Hangzhou itself.

The room was generally clean, the staff spoke poor english. The reception is cramped and check in was poor, though the flower arrangement in reception was lovely. Breakfast was a little disappointing - but it was cheap (for a western (branded) hotel).

it does have a nice view of the Xianshan area, so that was pleasant. Don't think this would make a good holday destination though - the location is not appropriate.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    79
    35
    8
    2
See reviews for
11
4
6
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2008

My wife and I were part of a sightseeing tour to China. We stayed in Hangzhou for one night as we worked our way back to Shanghai. The Holiday Inn's in China are wonderful. Nothing like you would expect to see in the states. This hotel was pretty cool. Our standard room with a king size bed was pretty small, but very doable. The Holiday Inn in Suzhou had this modern/classic Asian inspired decor which this place lacked, but it was still nice. The bathroom was also small, but great-with it's extra large marble shower. My wife enjoyed it.
The hotel was part of a larger, very new complex in Hangzhou. It was a little confusing when we were looking for the gym-a lot of unmarked corridors made us second guess our selves as we explored the hotel. The gym was connected to the hotel as well as to the outside and was a separate entity and an actual full-size gym (actually more like a 1/3 of a full size gym) with access to the non-guests. Also connected to the hotel was a multi-level shopping complex, with a movie theater and many restaurants. It was in a busy area with a lot to explore. Very fun place.

  • Liked — So much to explore around the hotel and surrounding area
  • Disliked — rooms were small
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Roman_Tacomans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2008

We stayed here last week with a tour group. The area around the hotel is mainly commercial with a mall a half block down the road. This is the tallest Holiday Inn I've ever seen. Breakfast buffet is average, with pastries, egg stations, Chinese station with porridge, fruits and hot meats. Not much for the vegetarian except bread stuffs and porridge. Eggs, dairy off limits because of the possible melamine contamination, and fruits unless they were canned or able to be peeled were avoided. They did have New Zealand butter. the coffee had a chemical flavor to it. The room we had on the 17th floor was more than large enough for 2. The business center had 3 computers for internet usage. The cost was 30 yuan per hour or any fraction of an hour.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank TippyGirlTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
343 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2008

My preference when in Hangzhou is to stay at one of the hotels on West Lake such as the Hyatt, but this hotel was where the tour company put us. The room was very tiny (were we in Japan instead of China?) and oddly shaped. It was pretty cramped with two of us and our luggage. Amenities in the room were so-so and the room was adequately cleaned. Breakfast was so-so. The front desk service was so-so. From a location standpoint, there is not much in the neighborhood. There is a semi-indoor shopping mall on the same block as the hotel that has a few boutiques, many restaurants, and several arcade areas for kids, but it was pretty dull and uninteresting.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marfak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hangzhou CBD
Holiday Inn Hangzhou CBD
#55 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
111 reviews
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center
7.8 mi away
Huachen International Hotel
Huachen International Hotel
#36 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Landison Plaza Hotel
Landison Plaza Hotel
#22 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
223 reviews
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hangzhou Huanglong
7.1 mi away
Cosy Park Hotel
Cosy Park Hotel
#23 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Xiaoshan Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Xiaoshan Hangzhou

Property: Holiday Inn Xiaoshan Hangzhou
Address: No.688 Shanyin Road, Xiaoshan District, Hangzhou 311023, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
#44 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Xiaoshan Hangzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 417
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xiaoshan is located at south of Qiantang River, nearby Hangzhou and Shaoxing and only 200km from Shanghai. The biggest airport of Zhejiang Province is located here as well. Xiaoshan has long history over 8000 years and Xiang Lake is called the sister of the West Lake. It has its own history. Holiday Inn Xiaoshan Hangzhou is located at central business district of Xiaoshan, High-Long Plaza, just 20 minutes drive from airport and 20 minutes from Hangzhou central business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Xiaoshan Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Xiaoshan Hangzhou Hotel Hangzhou
Holiday Inn Hangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing