We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice surprise for our honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Huachen International Hotel
Ranked #35 of 2,421 Hotels in Hangzhou
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Huachen International Hotel in the beginning of September.
The hotel is very close to a metro station, a small grocery store (just across the street), a very nice bakery and a “baozi” (a steamed bun) shop. It is also close to where the airport shuttle drops off and picks up. The shuttle is 20 RMB per person which is very cheap.
When we booked the room we made a note that we were coming for our honeymoon. When the hotel sent us the confirmation they asked if there was anything special we wanted for our honey moon. When we told them we didn't know what to say they offered a “Chinese wedding room to experience the Chinese tradition” and that was exactly what we found when we got to the room. We were very excited when we saw it!
The hotel personnel had minimal English but it was enough to get along. Obviously, some were better than others.
Our double room was big and had a safe. The bathroom was also big, the shower was great though its flood looked a bit “mouldy”. The hotel supplied 2 free small bottles of mineral water per day (and even have a separate tap for drinking water in that bathroom), soap, shampoo, towels, tooth brushes, shower cap, etc.
The toilet even had a reading light :-)
The view from our room was a nice urban view and we could see a bit of West Lake too.
The hotel offers laundry service, for a price, but when we asked at the desk about cheaper alternatives we were showed to a laundry room on the 3rd floor where we could do our own laundry for free. The room has a single machine that’s both a washer and a dryer and a large sink for hand wash. Soap for both hand washing and using the machine was available there. The machine’s labels were all in Chinese but there’s a sign on the wall with explanations in English as to what do. Also, Nancy, the person from the front desk who showed us to that room helped us out.

Our only problem with this hotel was that our room was made even though we left the “do not disturb” sign on the door (we left it there when we went out so we could leave our staff lying around and not worry about any one touching it). When we complained about it at the front desk we got an apology and a promise that it wouldn't happen again... It happened again the next day.
When we complained again we got another apology but we told them it wasn't enough and that it was a serious issue and ended up getting a free breakfast the next morning, which was nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ifat_and_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
There are newer reviews for Huachen International Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 317 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband, adult daughter & I spent two nights in this hotel. We found it average at best. The room size was adequate, nothing special; as for the beds, the mattresses were as hard as rock, and the pillows, by contrast, were oddly huge and fluffy. That we could not get Wi-Fi in our room, only in the lobby, was irksome & inconvenient. On the good side, everything was spotlessly clean. The staff was polite and very helpful, especially in getting us a taxi for the train station. Also, our breakfasts in the hotel were very good, and notable for the large variety of different foods, all of them delicious. For breakfast, my husband had yoghurt, fruit and cereal each day, while I chose a variety of vegetables (pictured). The hotel was in a good location, within easy walking distance of West Lake.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SECh694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Case: I booked this hotel via booking.com. The room is able to accommodate for 2pax and the breakfast is included as stated in booking.com. However, during check-in, the receptionist informed that the breakfast will be given to 1 person only, whilst the second person is required to purchase at RMB50. We argued with them and they provided us with 2 breakfast.

The hotel should inform booking.com that breakfast is only provided for 1 pax so that user can evaluate either to take up the room or otherwise.

Location - The hotel is located about 500m from Longxiangqiao Metro and only 1km from West Lake. There are many restaurants and shopping malls around this hotel.

Cleanliness - The hotel and room are very clean.

Room - Room is a bit cozy but small. Very comfort to sleep after a long walk at the lake. WiFi is not available in the room during my stay.

Food - Breakfast was ok. Variety of food but please dont take extra food due to you need to pay any wastage of more than 500gms.

Room Tip: Please request a high floor room facing the lake
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimmi Zarul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I came to this hotel in the middle of the night after leaving my previous one and everything went smoothly, the staff was very nice and helpful, they didn't speak english, but they called for some one who did.
The room was quite nice, the perfect size for one person, if you're two, i'd recommed to ask for a bigger one. You could tell that it wasn't aired properly, but after doing that for 10 min this wasn't a issue anymore.
Plus: great location, a ten minute walk to the west lake and to nanshan lu where all the good restaurants and bars are, it' s surrended by 6 malls and tons of small chinese restaurants, there's a bus stop right in front of the hotel that will take you all over the city, friendly staff and will cater to any need you may have, they are a stop for the airport shuttle bus (only 20rmb, very comfy, 40min to get to the airport).
Minus: it doesn't have any if you factor in the room price. The difference between this hotel and a western 4* hotel is made by very small details: the windows didn't seal complety, you could feel a bit of draft, the heating system could be improved a little, but over all the room wasn't cold, the shower door didn't close that well so you got some water on the floor, the carpet had a stain and the internet cable was kind of short, it wouldn't reach the bed.
Overall i strongly recommed the place, it was a great value and if i'm ever in town again i'll be sure to boom a room here.

A small observation: they'll ask you for a 700rmb deposit which includes the price of the room, so if you book the room through booking.com or any other boing agency be sure when you check out to tell them to give your full deposit back and to leave the charge on your credit card cause they normaly cancel the transaction on your card and charge you from the deposit.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maominna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a good hotel with friendly and courteous staff. The location is good. The rate at which room is offered is very economical and the food and the restaurant is managable when compared to other hotels of Hangzhou.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Varun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Hotel is located on the big main street, easy to find, not too far from West Lake (use taxi / tourist bus). Bus stop is exactly outside the hotel. Not an impressive Hotel when you look from outside, not until you come inside and enter the big lobby and you'll find the 4* Hotel atmosphere. English speaking staff (some at the front desk), Fast check-in, although the rooms are not ready yet when we arrived early at around 10.00, had to wait for half an hour and all set up. Quite spacious rooms, large & very comfy bed. All decent and clean. A little bit old but for this rate, it's a good value. Meet a very helpful staff which now become my friend!

No Wi-fi inside the rooms, have to go down to lobby to use it for free. You could also ask for a free Hangzhou city maps from front desk, they have it in Chinese / English.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess_sutanto88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Huachen International Hotel and enjoyed our stay apart from the beds (refer later).

Pros:

- good location, about a 10 minute walk to West Lake
- Nice large room with twin beds, work desk and two lounge chairs
- Free broadband in room.
- Effective air conditioning
- good bathroom
- mini bar with ice cube try. Fridge worked better than most
- iron & ironing board
- opening window with screen & good block out curtains
- Very little noise
- Staff at reception spoke limited English but ok
- in room safe
- Excellent buffet breakfast

Cons:

- Beds were the hardest we experienced during our months holiday in China; so hard my hips and shoulder were still suffering a day or two later.
- Safe was too small for my laptop
-No wifi except in lobby - Broadband in room made up for this

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yotsmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Xiacheng District
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
Landison Plaza Hotel
#24 of 2,421 in Hangzhou
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#18 of 2,421 in Hangzhou
604 reviews
Grand Metropark Hotel Hangzhou
#41 of 2,421 in Hangzhou
330 reviews
Merchant Marco Hotel
#37 of 2,421 in Hangzhou
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huachen International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huachen International Hotel

Address: No.25 Pinghai Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 2,421 Hotels in Hangzhou
Price Range: $58 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Huachen International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huachen International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing