We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value close to West lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunny Huansha Hotel Hangzhou
Ranked #327 of 2,386 Hotels in Hangzhou
Gold Coast City
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“excellent value close to West lake”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I found this hotel to be excellent value for money. The hotel is centrally located in a quiet street only a few minutres in a taxi from the main railway station. It is only a few minutes walk along tree lined streets to West Lake.
I stayed three nights and the room I was in was well appointed with modern furnishings in neutral tones; the glass-walled toilet/shower was a nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    42
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
1
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I paid for this hotel with airline miles, but the quoted rate was 340RMB/night, on a weekend in May, for a "business room" (2 beds). They were fully booked and the room smelled smoky, even though I'd requested a non-smoking room, but when I complained, they fixed it the next day. Bathroom is a little greyish at the corners, and the toilet wasn't draining properly. They didn't fix it, but instead, suggested that I turn the water on and off. Breakfast was okay, similar to comparable free breakfasts at Chinese hotels, where the food runs out early and gets kind of cold sitting there.

Otherwise, the beds were clean and comfortable and they have a selection of specialty (buckwheat, tea leaf) pillows that you can try for free. Lots of TV selection, wired internet. Easy, 10-minute walk to the West Lake, with plenty of restaurants along the way. Flat screen TV, clean floors.

Reception didn't realize that I had booked with points when I checked out, and insisted that I pay cash. I asked to look at their documentation, and it explicitly said that they should be billinging the company through which the reservation was made. I pointed this out in Chinese, and it was fine.

This is a more basic hotel, catering to Chinese clientele, who are loud and like to smoke. The rooms and beds are fine, and the location is easy and convenient. Would probably try elsewhere next time, though.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cestdrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Neat hotel, away from busy Qingchun Road but still a 5-10 mins walk to XiHu.
Check-In was a breeze even though it was almost mid-nite. Too bad Bkft was not part of my room fees. Have to pay extra for that.

Room Tip: Get onto websites to research for good deals on availabiilty of rooms and you have book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

The room we stayed in was furnished in tasteful neutrals and looked modern with its flat-screen TV, executive chair and glass-walled toilet/shower (there is a roll-up curtain for privacy). It took a while to operate their TV because there’s a control box attached to it and the functions weren’t that straight-forward. Aside from the TV, the room had the standard mini-ref, bottled water, slippers, teabags & electric pot, and bathroom amenities. Curiously, they also have socks, underwear, shaver and condoms for sale.

The room was comfortable and the location convenient with shops, mall, supermarket and restaurants within walking distance. The West Lake is just a few minutes ride away.

If you’re going to the hotel on your own, make sure to tell the taxi driver it is Sunny Huansha Hotel, because there is also a Sunny Hotel nearby which is the sister hotel of the former. We were dropped off in the wrong Sunny Hotel and were told by the front-desk person when we gave her the hotel voucher.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zooq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Huachen International Hotel
#36 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
303 reviews
West Lake Golden Plaza Hotel
#72 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
287 reviews
Xinqiao Hotel
#142 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xihu Resort
Home Inn (Hangzhou Hubin Road)
Home Inn (Hangzhou Hubin Road)
#820 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Huansha Hotel Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Huansha Hotel Hangzhou

Property: Sunny Huansha Hotel Hangzhou
Address: No.17 HuanSha Road, Xihu District, Hangzhou 310001, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #327 of 2,386 Hotels in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunny Huansha Hotel Hangzhou 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunny Huansha Hotel Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing