We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace And Quiet Achieved!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
West Lake State Guesthouse
Ranked #46 of 2,443 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2014

For anyone that knows the rigors of travel in China, I was stunned to have found peace and quiet at this lovely hotel. While the rooms and common areas are certainly not to the level of the Four Seasons or other high-end luxury properties, they are comfortable and the grounds make up for any deficiencies. The hotel is located directly on the lake and mirrors a China of a bygone era. Additionally, the history is fascinating. We were lucky enough that our host requested a tour of the Mao Museum on site and they opened it for us. Very interesting to see the photos of Mao through the years at the Guesthouse. We also took a long walk up into the hills behind the property to see Mao's study perched on a hilltop in the woods. This is the location that Mao crafted the PRC's constitutional outline, hosted dignitaries, relaxed, and picked his own tea. Additionally, it was interesting to see the staff of PRC Soldiers that guard the various entrances and guest houses. Throughout the day you can see them marching to change guards at each position. If you are in Hangzhou, I would recommend that you seek out the Xihu and enjoy the experience and the quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 132 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is a good luxury hotel, somewhat below the level of a 4 Seasons, but also less expensive. The main draw for me are the jaw-droppingly stunning grounds and the quiet. Like many tourist destinations in China, West Lake is crowded and has terrible traffic. This hotel is an oasis of quiet and peace and I loved it. The rooms are very nice, though show a bit of wear you wouldn't find in a top of the line hotel. The english proficiency was a bit hit and miss but always friendly. I was the only westerner I saw there in 3 days, so perhaps this is unsurprising. The buffet dinner was a bit overpriced and the relative isolation (which is a big benefit) means not many non-hotel options for dinner. The breakfast buffet was very good and worth it. The fact that this is a state hotel lends some interesting things: the PLA guarding it is interesting (mostly nice but one or two jerks) and at night you see luxury cars in the VIP villas, presumably local Party higher ups.

Room Tip: worth the extra for a view room, I wish I had done this after seeing how stunning the grounds are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Heard so much from the locals about this place so I checked out early from the Hyatt to see for myself. This place used to host Party (yes, capital P) officials and the Chairman himself was rumored to have stayed at Guesthouse 12. Don't think it's open to the public though. I stayed at Guesthouse 8. The room is clean and modern-ish. All guest houses are two-story buildings but no elevators. The place is literally built on the side of the West Lake so the hotel is hidden from the main road that surrounds the Lake. Amazing views. It's tranquil and a stroll through the gardens by the Lake is incredibly relaxing. The service is attentive. Didn't see any Westerners at the place. Military police guard the entrances. A great experience!!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Frank d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This hotel's location at West Lake trumps all the surrounding hotels, such as InterContinental and the 4 Seasons. Why? Because this hotel has the exclusive spot at West Lake. Walking into the building where the restaurant is located, you can see many pictures from all the Chinese President who have visited this hotel from Mao Ze Dong to Hu Jing Tao. Many government officials also visited this hotel as well.

There was a problem in our initial room due to a problem in the shower head. The staff was very helpful and quickly upgraded our room to VVIP (Very Very Important Person). Their English is well spoken and didn't give us any headaches. My girlfriend and I enjoyed the free breakfast at the main buffet near the reception. Cook to order omelet was fantastic and the won ton was delicious! Totally made our day. Coffee was superb also.

Beautiful city, the lake, and the hotel made our trip very special! Will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the VIP rooms. Great location near the lake and the view from your room is p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swiftler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We here stayed 2 nights mid Nov 2013 and enjoyed the experience. The slightly variable comments are understandable, but we would stay again if we returned to this area.
The location, in what is virtually a private park, is superb. The gardens are just beautiful and perfect for a morning or evening stroll. There are views over the West Lake.
Our room was fine and very comfortable.
The breakfast was good, but we did find the evening meal buffet items were not as hot as they should have been.
Little English was spoken, but it was not a problem - I guess this can be frustrating or nice aspect of the holiday depending on your outlook. Everyone was polite and helpful.
It's difficult to put a value on the location and grounds, but for us it was a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: You could ask for a Lake View - not sure of the premium and I have read comments about humidity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff3881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The location is wonderful, one quite place in the busy city. The room is just ..uhm...ok...And the breakfast is just standardized. As a general 5-star hotel, there is nothing special but the secured by the PLA military police.....sounds scary ^^~LOL

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SonicHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights as part of a South China tour. Arrived in evening. Room was large, excellent facilities and moderate wifi access. Decided to have dinner in main restaurant - big mistake! Buffet was cold, limited and staff spoke virtually no English, so lots of pointing and acting out. Meal was very disappointing and buffet closed at 8.30pm, when we were only ones in restaurant. Next morning, we saw lake side walks from hotel - excellent place to chill out and walk along lake. However, hotel remote from all restaurants and shops so you need taxi. Felt like staff were still learning about customer service and hang over from state run building, used mainly for business meetings and large government banquets.

Would not recommend this, unless you want to be remote, quiet and have access to taxi.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank BrianML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
0.9 mi away
Zhejiang Xizi Hotel
Zhejiang Xizi Hotel
#33 of 2,443 in Hangzhou
204 reviews
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#11 of 2,443 in Hangzhou
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Chaptel Hangzhou
Chaptel Hangzhou
#40 of 2,443 in Hangzhou
42 reviews
3.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Hangzhou
Banyan Tree Hangzhou
#42 of 2,443 in Hangzhou
266 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#15 of 2,443 in Hangzhou
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Lake State Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Lake State Guesthouse

Address: No.18 Yanggong Causeway, Xihu District, Hangzhou 310007, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Hangzhou
#44 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#55 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range: $180 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — West Lake State Guesthouse 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel was once an old abbey, and has a history over 100 years. It covers an area of 360,000㎡, backed by mountains, surrounded by West Lake, away from the noisy city, it is a resort like paradise. The hotel boasts its Chinese garden and architecture, it is known as “the most famous garden of West Lake”. Luxury hotel rooms, fine food and wine, perfect conference facilities, private music hall and theater, very local characterized lakeside teahouse, luxury yachts and boats, and lawn yoga, all these will let you enjoy a slow life in the world heritage area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your West Lake State Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xihu State Guesthouse Hotel Hangzhou
Xihu State Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing