We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large and Empty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hangzhou Xanadu Narada Hotel
Ranked #35 of 2,446 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We only stayed here one night on a group tour. The property is large and the buildings themselves are pretty spread out making it an interesting journey just to find the breakfast buffet. Even the lobby area was vast. Due to its vastness however, this place seems cold and uninviting. The decor of the whole place is a bit dated. Our room was comfortable but could be cleaner. The hotel is far from the city center so I would not recommend this hotel for independent travelers. Besides our small tour group, there were only a handful of business travelers staying at the hotel making the vastness of the hotel even more creepy. The breakfast buffet seemed old/stale and not fresh. Perhaps it was due to the very few guests they had at the time. Overall nothing bad at all but also not a very memorable place. The reception staff was nice. They gave us the best exchange rate at this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VDlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 251 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed here as part of a China Tour.com group. This facility, and the staff, will not disappoint. The staff were friendly and accommodating, rooms we comfortable! Everything about this hotel is western...except the phenomenal breakfast. The grounds are beautiful...but the smog was not! This property is well worth your consideration!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I've stayed in in this hotel with my friend for a couple of days in Hangzhou and whole trip was pleasant despite of the bad weather in town.

chosed crowne plaza Xanadu by reviewing others' comments here. Hotel is not in city center however traffic beffer than I expected with shuttle bus provided to subway station directly n' approximately 20 min driving from hotel to westlake.

room is old, ture, but still cozy and spacious and view in this resort is awesome, swans in the lake and wild pumelo trees in the garden. on site activities are available for in house guest.

during our stay hotel had seafood promotion in Chinese restaurant, taste good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kecai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
betty f, Public Relations Manager at Hangzhou Xanadu Narada Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear kecai
Thank you for taking the to share your valuable feedback with us.we will continue to strive in delivering quality services, allowing our guests' to indulge in the best they deserve.
Once again, we look forward to your next stay with us and continuous support in the near future. Thank you!
Sincerely,
Betty Fang Assisant Marcom Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My stay at this hotel was average, due in part of the coldness of the lobby/common areas and the small insect problems I experienced in a 1st floor guestroom. The room itself was clean and slightly above average, well decorated with high ceilings. The location of our particular guestroom caused us to have small insects in the room - we only stayed one night, so we didn't complain. The lobby has free wifi, which you can also access from the cafe where they serve a great cheesecake! The hotel is large and sprawling - people in my group got lost trying to find the pool area. Be sure to get directions! The common areas seem to lack adequate heating, as the front desk attendants wore coats the entire time I sat in the lobby. The breakfast is the crown jewel of this hotel. There's a wide variety of food and even a waffle station, which I didn't experience at my other Chinese hotels. Beyond the cuisine, there's a great view from the dining room onto a lake, complete with swans. I wouldn't be opposed to staying in this hotel again, I'd just request a higher level floor for my room.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank travelNYCsista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Nice setting right on the lake, with swans included. However, the hotel is a bit "worn" and really needs some attention to details. Bathroom was large with separate tub. However, tile and grout needed some attention.

Bed (king) was large and comfortable. The room itself was a good size. No Wifi in the room though - only in the lobby and lounge area.

There was a flat screen TV in the room and a small fridge and a desk area, plus 2 chairs and small table.

Our room was on the 4th floor. Quiet. Didn't look out over the lake though - just a grassy area onto another building of the hotel.

Lobby is large and has several seating area, which comes in handy since that is where the free WiFi is. Lounge was also large and the bartendar was friendly, though a bit stingy on the drink pours. A couple of TVs in the lounge as well.

Not much to do here at the hotel. It really is isolated. Nothing within walking distance in terms of shops, dining, etc.

Breakfast was good, though the set up/arrangement was a bit akward for the crowds. Service was a bit inattentive. Though the noodle bar was really good and flavorful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDSpartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
betty f, Public Relations Manager at Hangzhou Xanadu Narada Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear SDSpartan ,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and detail suggestions regarding your recent stay with us at Crowne PLaza Hangzhou Xanadu Resort.
We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inattentive service ,your comments about the tile and grout in guest room has been documented . Meanwhile ,we feel so pity that not make enough introduction of hotel leisure activities during your stay to make you borling .we would like to recommend lakeside fishing,
cycling, lianhua temple tour, jogging around the lake, tennis court, snooker, ping pong leisure facilities in our hotel . There is a beautiful Xiang lake which is in walking distance ,bigger than hangzhou west lake ,and have a bridge museum .
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.Thank you !
Sincerely,
Betty Fang Assisant Marcom Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The hotel had a beautiful lobby, restaurant, excellent breakfast, and well furnished rooms. The rooms had everything you would need, hair dryer, comb, toothbrush, toothpaste, vanity kit, sewing kit, lotion, bodywash, shampoo, conditioner, shower cap and a hot water jug with coffee and tea. The beds were large and very comfortable, they weren't too soft or too hard. The pillows were medium firm and comfortable. The bathroom had a lovely tub to bathe in with a hand shower.

For not providing WiFi free to all guests I have removed a star, because that should be be a priority in a luxury hotel such as this that caters to business travelers. There is connected internet available but not always free.

The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with WiFi. The facilities are huge and takes long walks to get to the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LotusPrins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
betty f, Public Relations Manager at Hangzhou Xanadu Narada Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear LotusPrins
Thank you for taking the to share your valuable feedback with us.we will continue to strive in delivering quality services, allowing our guests' to indulge in the best they deserve.
Once again, we look forward to your next stay with us and continuous support in the near future. Thank you!
Sincerely,
Betty Fang Assisant Marcom Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This is truly a beautiful property. The location is just stunning as it is located right on a lake complete with beautiful black swans and other water birds.
The rooms are beautifully decorated, beds are comfortable,and the service is A+.
Wonderful breakfast in dinning room overlooking the lake.

Room Tip: didn't pick a certain room but was very happy with the room we were assigned
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
betty f, Guest Relations Manager at Hangzhou Xanadu Narada Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Sharon863
Thank you for taking the to share your valuable feedback with us.we will continue to strive in delivering quality services, allowing our guests' to indulge in the best they deserve.
Once again, we look forward to your next stay with us and continuous support in the near future. Thank you!
Betty Fang Assisant Marcom Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Gongshu District
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
#5 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
787 reviews
Cosy Park Hotel
#18 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Nook Hotel Hangzhou
#38 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
42 reviews
New Century Grand Hotel
#36 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
686 reviews
Xiacheng District
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hangzhou Xanadu Narada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hangzhou Xanadu Narada Hotel

Address: No.3318 Xianghu Road, Wenyan Town, Xiaoshan District, Hangzhou 311258, China (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hangzhou Xanadu Resort)
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hangzhou
#24 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
#34 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range: $91 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hangzhou Xanadu Narada Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Wenyan Town, near the junction of the Qiantang, Fuchun and Puyang Rivers, the Resort presents an idyllic natural environment and incorporates the Xiang Lake tourism area, an official venue for the World Leisure Expo 2011. Hotel covers an area of 94,000 square meters; forested 28,221 square meters. Situated by Tiger Mountain, the hotel has its own Swan Lake, where the Swans, Ducks and Mandarin Ducks are dwelling. In the hotel, you will enjoy the natural beauty away from the modern life. Having a meeting or on a trip – whatever your purpose is, our hotel will provide every convenience to guarantee your trip is a success. Our hotel can be used as an extension of your office. We have 301 distinctive rooms, including 19 suites, 62 Crowne Plaza Club rooms. All rooms are well-designed with the minimum size of 40 square meters; some rooms even have a feature balcony for you to enjoy the stunning view of the lakes and mountains. Zest CaféZest Café located on the first floor of Conference centre, the elegant and stylish lake-view International restaurant, you can order exquisite food delicacies cooked by our hotel chef. It also serves International buffet, with seafood selection, authentic Brazilian barbecue, cocktails and desserts, presenting you a feast of delicacy.Waterfront Terrace Waterfront terrace on the Swan Lake can be used for various outdoor parties and is an ideal choice for private gatherings, weddings, product promotions, cocktail receptions and company meetings.Tao Yuan Chinese RestaurantIn a luxurious and elegant atmosphere, enjoy the modern-style Cantonese cuisine, delicate Hangzhou cuisine, local Sanjiang special cuisine and a variety of afternoon tea dim sums. 37 private rooms in diversified styles and a function room for 550 guests can accommodate functions of all sizes. Muse Lobby BarRelaxing and easy atmosphere, flavorful coffee, authentic tea, exquisite snacks and mellow wines, Muse Lobby Bar is an excellent venue for a business negotiation with your partner or a friends gathering. The resort is at the prime location of Hangzhou whether it’s for business or leisure purpose.It has 21 meeting rooms in different size and design. The impressive Xanadu ballroom offers 864 square meter of event space and accommodates up to 800 guests for a theater style meeting and 550 guests for a round table dinner set up. The 460-square-meters Xiang Lake ballroom can accommodate up to 350 guests for a classroom set up, and cocktail reception for 550 guests. The VIP Reception Centre located by the Swan Lake, it is an exclusive meeting and dining venue and ideal for private dinners, weddings, cocktails and corporate meetings. Other meeting rooms of various sizes that offer the organizers and participants ample space which can handle groups of 10 to 450 people.The resort offers meeting organizers and participants world-class meeting facilities including the latest audiovisual equipment which are supported by the services of a team of professionally trained staff. For absolute relaxation, you can unwind with an invigorating swim in our 25-meter lap pool; practice your swing at the tennis court, test your skills in the billiard chess and table tennis room, enjoy fishing and boating in the lake that commands a majestic view of the surrounding with the company of swans. The health centre features a gymnasium with state-of-the-art exercise equipment. For a moment of serenity, the jogging or bike trail provides an interesting option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hangzhou Xanadu Narada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Xanadu Hotel Hangzhou
Sofitel Hangzhou
Accor Xanadu Hotel Hangzhou
Hangzhou Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing