We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Pleasant Stay in City of Gardens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hangzhou Xanadu Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hangzhou Xanadu Resort
Ranked #17 of 2,116 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay in City of Gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Older hotel with many modern conveniences. Room furnished with beautiful "dark cherry" furnishings. Modern, western-style bathroom. Plenty of hot water for shaving and bathing, and bottle water furnished free for making tea in room. No problems with electrical or internet service. "Best" breakfast in buffet-style, offering wide selection of oriental and western food. Easy to eat quickly and get on about business. Conference center bright and efficient. All staff very helpful and friendly. Quick about duties.

This is a very pleasant place to stay as it has a beautiful view of Xianghu Lake framed by mountains. An early morning walk on hotel grounds to view gardens, swans, and geese is recommended for a peaceful start to the day. I found it very calming, in contrast to the tourist activity at West Lake.

Hangzhou is one of the most beautiful cities in China, with the absolute latest fashion and convenience as shown in the "Sun and Moon" architecture and the new mall. It's gardens and lakes are fabulous, and I heartily recommend a visit to a tea plantation for a better understanding of the methods and value of Chinese teas.

One small thing. I would have preferred slightly lighter color carpet in the halls and rooms, as it gave the impression of being a bit too dark in those areas at night and during foggy days, suggesting perhaps not being cleaned well. But that was only a personal thing, and I found the room to be spotless.

Room Tip: This is a resort area. 2nd floor Executive wing was quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Friend_of_IEEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    102
    26
    7
    7
See reviews for
22
32
11
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our tour group flew from Beijing and came here before going to Shanghai. It was a welcomed day of slower pace. The hotel is picturesque with the swans and ducks floating by and fireworks at night. Breakfast was very good. The next day we went to the tea plantation and saw the highlights of the town and the new projects on which they are working to change the downtown area.

Room Tip: We were at the "0" building right on the water and the view was most pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were on a tour the week of 10/21. This was our third stop. This resort was gorgeous. The room was extremely elegant and comfortable. The breakfast was very nice, the view from the dining room was lovely. The hotel was quiet, clean, well appointed. The grounds were flawless and looked so relaxing. This was a quick stop so we never got to completely explore this hotel, but what we saw was extremely pleasing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joycelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Good room - clean, good amenities. Poor selection of foreign language channels on TV, No wifi in rooms so cant use your smartphone.
Nice location on Lake very well looked after.
Buffet breakfast only average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I stayed there for the weekend with the family. The hotel is located away from the downtown in a very nice environment. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The only small constraints were that the staff did not speak good English and that the concierge was not fully aware of the good sights and scenery within the neighborhood.

All in all, this is an excellent getaway from the busy China city life.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GauthShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
154 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Oh dear! I am a great fan of Intercontinental Group hotels and stay in many, mostly Crowne Plazas, as I travel extensively and usually they are excellent but sometimes one is sadly disappointed. I stayed at the Crowne Plaza, Xanadu Resort, Hangzhou, last weekend and it was seriously below the standard expected of a five star hotel. As always, when there are things wrong in a hotel, it is the management which is at fault, not the staff and there were no managers in evidence at this hotel, except for a very young, very junior supervisor, who although he tried, just did not know how to fulfil our requirements or satisfy our needs.
No one spoke English to any degree of proficiency and were obviously nervous of their foreign guests. The service went from non-existent to over solicitous, following a complaint but they really had no idea how to care for their guests. The breakfast in the club lounge was terrible, plenty of congee but the western food was a joke, the tea undrinkable and the selection poor. See photos.
The hotel was almost empty and we were given a lake view room, I had already booked club; however when we arrived in the room, the view was of the car park. When we mentioned this to the receptionist, she laughed at us! The electric sockets next to the beds didn’t work and the shower was weak and made a horrible noise. The toiletries were minimal and there was only one bar of soap for the bath, shower and washbasin; Crowne Plaza are obviously on an economy drive. Luncheon in the restaurant was one of the worst meals I have ever eaten in China, the wonton soup was terrible and my wife’s Panini, the only vegetarian option, was soggy and tasteless. The whole hotel reeked of cigarette smoke and there were even ash trays provided in our non-smoking room.
Seeking a pleasant, relaxing diversion, we repaired to the leisure centre. More disappointment, it was full of local members and none of the staff spoke English, there was no signage in English and no help for the visitor. The changing rooms were smelly and dirty, we couldn’t find any towels or work out how to use the lockers, the loos stank and the WC’s were the ‘hole in the floor’ type, the first I have ever encountered in a five star international hotel. The pool was stark and cold; it reminded me of a Russian training pool during the cold war, so different to the modern leisure pools found in most high end establishments.
I could continue with a comprehensive list of complaints but I shan’t bore my readers further, suffice to say that I shall not be returning to this hotel in a hurry! I only hope that Intercontinental Group and Crowne Plaza hotels, take note of this review and endeavour to carry out the improvements which will make this type of hotel in China, acceptable to western visitors, after all they are charging western prices.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Very nice hotel located far off downtown, which was perfect for my vacation. Quite and peaceful, with view on the lake, my friends and I did not step out of the hotel during our 4 days stay. The staff are very friendly and helpful, specially the coffee shop, who looked after us really well. A great live band sets the ambiance every night for 3 hours in the lobby bar, making a comforting place to have a drink! Last but not least, free internet high speed in the room and all public areas is topnotch. Coming from Shanghai and looking for a serene place to blow off some steam, this hotel is definitely our best choice! Such a beautiful and relaxing resort almost at my fingertips. It was my first try and sure thing is I already see myself back there by the lake for my next getaway!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
9.8 mi away
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
11.1 mi away
The East Hotel Hangzhou
The East Hotel Hangzhou
#5 of 2,116 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#11 of 2,116 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 486 reviews
9.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake
9.5 mi away
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
#19 of 2,116 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hangzhou Xanadu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hangzhou Xanadu Resort

Property: Crowne Plaza Hangzhou Xanadu Resort
Address: No.3318 Xianghu Road, Wenyan Town, Xiaoshan District, Hangzhou 311258, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hangzhou
#17 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#23 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hangzhou Xanadu Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Wenyan Town, near the junction of the Qiantang, Fuchun and Puyang Rivers, the Resort presents an idyllic natural environment and incorporates the Xiang Lake tourism area, an official venue for the World Leisure Expo 2011. Hotel covers an area of 94,000 square meters; forested 28,221 square meters. Situated by Tiger Mountain, the hotel has its own Swan Lake, where the Swans, Ducks and Mandarin Ducks are dwelling. In the hotel, you will enjoy the natural beauty away from the modern life. Having a meeting or on a trip – whatever your purpose is, our hotel will provide every convenience to guarantee your trip is a success. Our hotel can be used as an extension of your office. We have 301 distinctive rooms, including 19 suites, 62 Crowne Plaza Club rooms. All rooms are well-designed with the minimum size of 40 square meters; some rooms even have a feature balcony for you to enjoy the stunning view of the lakes and mountains. Zest CaféZest Café located on the first floor of Conference centre, the elegant and stylish lake-view International restaurant, you can order exquisite food delicacies cooked by our hotel chef. It also serves International buffet, with seafood selection, authentic Brazilian barbecue, cocktails and desserts, presenting you a feast of delicacy.Waterfront Terrace Waterfront terrace on the Swan Lake can be used for various outdoor parties and is an ideal choice for private gatherings, weddings, product promotions, cocktail receptions and company meetings.Tao Yuan Chinese RestaurantIn a luxurious and elegant atmosphere, enjoy the modern-style Cantonese cuisine, delicate Hangzhou cuisine, local Sanjiang special cuisine and a variety of afternoon tea dim sums. 37 private rooms in diversified styles and a function room for 550 guests can accommodate functions of all sizes. Muse Lobby BarRelaxing and easy atmosphere, flavorful coffee, authentic tea, exquisite snacks and mellow wines, Muse Lobby Bar is an excellent venue for a business negotiation with your partner or a friends gathering. The resort is at the prime location of Hangzhou whether it’s for business or leisure purpose.It has 21 meeting rooms in different size and design. The impressive Xanadu ballroom offers 864 square meter of event space and accommodates up to 800 guests for a theater style meeting and 550 guests for a round table dinner set up. The 460-square-meters Xiang Lake ballroom can accommodate up to 350 guests for a classroom set up, and cocktail reception for 550 guests. The VIP Reception Centre located by the Swan Lake, it is an exclusive meeting and dining venue and ideal for private dinners, weddings, cocktails and corporate meetings. Other meeting rooms of various sizes that offer the organizers and participants ample space which can handle groups of 10 to 450 people.The resort offers meeting organizers and participants world-class meeting facilities including the latest audiovisual equipment which are supported by the services of a team of professionally trained staff. For absolute relaxation, you can unwind with an invigorating swim in our 25-meter lap pool; practice your swing at the tennis court, test your skills in the billiard chess and table tennis room, enjoy fishing and boating in the lake that commands a majestic view of the surrounding with the company of swans. The health centre features a gymnasium with state-of-the-art exercise equipment. For a moment of serenity, the jogging or bike trail provides an interesting option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hangzhou Xanadu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Xanadu Hotel Hangzhou
Sofitel Hangzhou
Accor Xanadu Hotel Hangzhou
Hangzhou Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing