We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic and Peaceful Hotel with Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hangzhou Xanadu Narada Hotel
Ranked #30 of 2,418 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Visited the Crowne Plaza Xanadu Resort in Hangzhou last weekend. We used to visit this hotel when it was under the management of Sofitel as we enjoy fishing by the lake which is located right in front of the hotel. This is my first visit after change of management to Crowne Plaza. The staff are still charming and helpful and the lake remains beautiful. However, if you go to this hotel you certainly don't go there for food because the Chinese restaurant has limited range of selection on their menu. It was mediocre during the Sofitel days and it is still mediocre now. Somehow their F&B manager don't seem to put much effort into upgrading the menu. Other than that, the staff were excellent and it is a perfect spot if you want to take time out and relax.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the lake
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackMSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie H, Public Relations Manager at Hangzhou Xanadu Narada Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

I am very glad you like our resort environment and come back agian after we changed brand to Crowne Plaza. Also feel sorry to read your comments about the food selection, I apologize for this. Actually, our FB team are working on many ways and trying to rich and improve our food variety. Next time you come to hotel, you will find we have afternoon high tea sevice, which you can enjoy while fishing on the Swan Lake. Chinese restaurant will have fresh seasonal dishes come out. Thanks again to this review. Your comments are really helpful to us to improve our sevice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
There are newer reviews for Hangzhou Xanadu Narada Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 251 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2012

This is a resort with a touch of Chinese traditional design with some of the rooms facing the lake, and with swans swimming and quacking. Unlike those resorts giving you an unrealistic dream-like feeling, this one is back to basic with a Chinese touch, embrace nature and relax!

Room Tip: Choose the room facing the lake if you don't mind waking up by the quacking noise of the swans.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinernothappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed here in October. They did not take travellers checks, or cash them. Their hotel smelled nasty and smoky. If you walked to your room through the buildings, you were assaulted by the smell of mildew and nicotine.

Their executive lounge was also very smokey, and the food offered was often stale or looked inedible. The lounge CONCIERGE, Nina, however, was WONDERFUL, kind professional, and thoughtful. She kept my American son supplied with all the milk he could drink, which is quite a bit. She also surprised us by having breakfast waiting (to go) for us early, the day we left, since our cabs were arranged (by her) to come before the lounge opened.

My husband and I both got bronchitus from the mold in our building. We eventually went for treatment to a hospital in Beijing.

The staff should warn you that you will not get much rest; there are geese making noises at all hours and random fireworks throughout the day and night.

But the WORST THING was the garbage cans, next to the toilets. They were covered in feces. Apparently the plumbing doesn't work very well, so guests throw their soiled toilet paper into this can, which is NOT lined or cleaned.

Room Tip: I don't know. the whole place smelled. Maybe one NOT facing the "lake" (pond), so you...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank platinumforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We were visiting Hangzhou as part of a 4-city, nine-day visit from the USA to China. We were delighted with the peaceful, lovely waterfront setting. The rooms were very good, clean, and comfortable. The breakfast buffet offered multiple stations with a variety of international cuisines. Whether you wanted sticky rice, bacon & eggs, or sushi for breakfast, you could get it here. The food quality was good. The lobby bar/lounge was relaxing and pleasant. The bartender/server offered above-and-beyond service and the youthful three-piece musical group was so much fun as these played American pop favorites with a Chinese flair. We never expected that while visiting China we would see two pretty Chinese women singing and dancing the Macarena! It was fun and the hotel was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted_and_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Enjoyable place, Kind of Ressort. May buildings Spread over a Large Area. Lots of Green and Water.
Big Lobby Area.
Not much to do After hours. Good facilities for Convention.
Food ok, Atmosphere in total only so, so. Not charming and inviting, also maybe because of Little Penetration for such a Big place.
Used to Be a Sofitel when opening and for a Few Years thereafte (can still see from Symbols On Glass Doors and glass Walls).

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuttgartWilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This hotel, like all others on our big bus tour, was preselected for us.

The wings, floors, and numbering system for this hotel were VERY confusing.

Our room was clean and nice. No reason to complain. When we first got into the room, we moved some tea cups from the top of a cabinet to a shelf directly below to make room for a suitcase. As usual for this trip, I immediately hid the water glasses [one with a hugh blob of white stuff... someone else's toothpaste on the inside?] into a drawer in the bathroom. I did this in every hotel as a reminder that the tap water was unsafe to drink.

The next morning, we had been back on the bus only a short time when our guide got a call on his cell. He asked us where our tea cups were...had we moved them to another room? We finally remembered and described what we had done with them. OK, fine. A couple of minutes later, another call....where were the water glasses? I described the drawer beside the sink where I had put them. OK, fine. The very strong feeling we got was that we would be billed for these items!

The room was nice. Breakfast was pretty good.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maurice95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Hong Kong
11
Reviewed November 11, 2010

The staff is not as they should be to give correct, adequate advice to us, such as where to have breakfast as I update the room & was entitled to have free breakfast to the club...
The room is not as good, cyber as I had expected, compared with the photos shown in the website..

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
15.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Hangzhou East
7.2 mi away
Grand Parkray Hangzhou
Grand Parkray Hangzhou
#31 of 2,418 in Hangzhou
62 reviews
10.3 mi away
Dragon Hotel
Dragon Hotel
#25 of 2,418 in Hangzhou
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Hangzhou, Binjiang
8.2 mi away
Diaoyutai Hotel Hangzhou
Diaoyutai Hotel Hangzhou
#26 of 2,418 in Hangzhou
24 reviews
10.2 mi away
Landison Plaza Hotel
Landison Plaza Hotel
#24 of 2,418 in Hangzhou
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hangzhou Xanadu Narada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hangzhou Xanadu Narada Hotel

Address: No.3318 Xianghu Road, Wenyan Town, Xiaoshan District, Hangzhou 311258, China (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hangzhou Xanadu Resort)
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hangzhou
#28 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
#29 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range: $93 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hangzhou Xanadu Narada Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Wenyan Town, near the junction of the Qiantang, Fuchun and Puyang Rivers, the Resort presents an idyllic natural environment and incorporates the Xiang Lake tourism area, an official venue for the World Leisure Expo 2011. Hotel covers an area of 94,000 square meters; forested 28,221 square meters. Situated by Tiger Mountain, the hotel has its own Swan Lake, where the Swans, Ducks and Mandarin Ducks are dwelling. In the hotel, you will enjoy the natural beauty away from the modern life. Having a meeting or on a trip – whatever your purpose is, our hotel will provide every convenience to guarantee your trip is a success. Our hotel can be used as an extension of your office. We have 301 distinctive rooms, including 19 suites, 62 Crowne Plaza Club rooms. All rooms are well-designed with the minimum size of 40 square meters; some rooms even have a feature balcony for you to enjoy the stunning view of the lakes and mountains. Zest CaféZest Café located on the first floor of Conference centre, the elegant and stylish lake-view International restaurant, you can order exquisite food delicacies cooked by our hotel chef. It also serves International buffet, with seafood selection, authentic Brazilian barbecue, cocktails and desserts, presenting you a feast of delicacy.Waterfront Terrace Waterfront terrace on the Swan Lake can be used for various outdoor parties and is an ideal choice for private gatherings, weddings, product promotions, cocktail receptions and company meetings.Tao Yuan Chinese RestaurantIn a luxurious and elegant atmosphere, enjoy the modern-style Cantonese cuisine, delicate Hangzhou cuisine, local Sanjiang special cuisine and a variety of afternoon tea dim sums. 37 private rooms in diversified styles and a function room for 550 guests can accommodate functions of all sizes. Muse Lobby BarRelaxing and easy atmosphere, flavorful coffee, authentic tea, exquisite snacks and mellow wines, Muse Lobby Bar is an excellent venue for a business negotiation with your partner or a friends gathering. The resort is at the prime location of Hangzhou whether it’s for business or leisure purpose.It has 21 meeting rooms in different size and design. The impressive Xanadu ballroom offers 864 square meter of event space and accommodates up to 800 guests for a theater style meeting and 550 guests for a round table dinner set up. The 460-square-meters Xiang Lake ballroom can accommodate up to 350 guests for a classroom set up, and cocktail reception for 550 guests. The VIP Reception Centre located by the Swan Lake, it is an exclusive meeting and dining venue and ideal for private dinners, weddings, cocktails and corporate meetings. Other meeting rooms of various sizes that offer the organizers and participants ample space which can handle groups of 10 to 450 people.The resort offers meeting organizers and participants world-class meeting facilities including the latest audiovisual equipment which are supported by the services of a team of professionally trained staff. For absolute relaxation, you can unwind with an invigorating swim in our 25-meter lap pool; practice your swing at the tennis court, test your skills in the billiard chess and table tennis room, enjoy fishing and boating in the lake that commands a majestic view of the surrounding with the company of swans. The health centre features a gymnasium with state-of-the-art exercise equipment. For a moment of serenity, the jogging or bike trail provides an interesting option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hangzhou Xanadu Narada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Xanadu Hotel Hangzhou
Sofitel Hangzhou
Accor Xanadu Hotel Hangzhou
Hangzhou Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing