We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money for short stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hangzhou Southline Hotel

Hangzhou Southline Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hangzhou Southline Hotel
Ranked #833 of 2,334 Hotels in Hangzhou
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value for money for short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2008

This hotel is a bit tricky to find as it is tucked away on a small side street off a main road (on east side i think) next to West Lake. It's close to the Arts museum so if you can find that, then you are quite close by.

The room was ok in size and clean. Bathroom the same - nothing to rave on about but for the price we paid, we were happy. Location was ok too - it´s close to some restaurants and cafes (although we did not try them) and also walking distance (about 20 mins) to the market street.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Rooms seemed a bit dated
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jukazu1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    26
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
2
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

I've stayed here three or four times now, mainly for the location, right by West Lake and convenient for bars/restaurants up and down the lake. Good sized rooms with internet access, bathrooms with spacious walk-in shower, and staff very helpful (NB I speak a bit of Chinese). The only drawback is no lift, but I've always managed to get a second-floor room. The nearby Cafe Bernini out by the main road opposite the lake is one of those Chinese places with so many staff with too little to do, it actually slows down the service, but is in a lovely 1920s building, and makes a nice spot for leisurely coffee and people-watching.

  • Liked — Location, location, location!
  • Disliked — No lift - long walk if you're on the fifth floor
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fieldtripper020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2008

After reading quite positive reviews about Southline hotel in this website, I booked myself a triple room for 4 nights in April 2008 for my Hangzhou trip. List of pros and cons are as follow:

Pros
- Pretty good location, very close to the West Lake and not too far either from Hefangjie and good restaurants/eateries along Nanshan Lu.
- Staff is very helpful. Accommodated our request for a room change without hesitance. The staff also took the trouble to walk out to the main street in the rain to get us a cab to the airport when they couldn't get any taxi via phone.
- Condition of room satisfactory. Although the hotel looks slightly worn out, everything works fine enough - no complains there.

Cons
- As mentioned by some other reviewers, the staff is almost entirely Chinese-speaking. To ask for directions/advises, would advise to refer them to Chinese map since they would not be able to identify landmarks in English maps.
- Also like to note that there is no elevator in the hotel. Although the porter carried out bags upstairs, it would be difficult for the elderly/disabled to make their way up to the rooms. I went there with my mum who was quite elderly and found it tiring to climb up the stairs, especially after a long day of sightseeing and walking.
- Restaurant for breakfast is quite small and is not able to fit in large crowds. When I was there, there were quite a number of guests, especially during the weekend. We were lucky to be there early for breakfast. Some others had to wait for their turns. Have to say the breakfast menu is quite limited too.

Overall: I will actually recommend this hotel to travellers who wants something value-for-money. Wouldn't mind staying in this hotel again (though never again with my mum - will always check to see whether there's lift in a hotel the next time.)

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — No lift/elevator.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tlcKl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2005

Hangzhou Southline Hotel
No.3 Jingyuncun,Nanshan Road
Shangcheng District,Hangzhou,Zhejiang Province, China 310002
+86 571 8777 3939

The Hangzhou Southline Hotel was a pleasant surprise for our New Year's Eve stay in December 2005. It was quite a small hotel hidden in the Jingyuncun alley off Nanshan Road (famous road along West Lake). It is a small hotel but if you ask for a Deluxe Suite room then you will get a nice sized room (ours came with a loft) for only 480 RMB per day ($60 US). This type of room would easily cost 3 times as much in larger hotels. Their service is quite good too. They offer great quality high-speed Internet access too (was able to use PPTP VPN).

The only downside of this hotel is that most of the staff only speak Chinese (or have very little English knowledge). So take your Guide book that has a few common hotel words in Chinese.

The best thing about this hotel is that it is very near (5 minute walk) away from West Lake. It is also very near many restaurants (a very good one is Xihu Spring) and many cool bars/discos.

So my review scale for this hotel with a Deluxe Suite Room based on 10 stars:
(higher value the better)

Location: 10
Room Quality: 6
Room Size: 8
Bed Quality: 7
Bed Size: 9
Service: 8
Internet: 10

Regards,
Ken

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 1HotTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#10 of 2,334 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Sunny Huansha Hotel Hangzhou
#322 of 2,334 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Xihu Resort
LiuYing Hotel West Lake Hangzhou
LiuYing Hotel West Lake Hangzhou
#41 of 2,334 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wuyang Holiday Hotel
#173 of 2,334 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Hangzhou Overseas Chinese Hotel
#220 of 2,334 in Hangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Hangzhou Hujing Holiday Hotel
#1,007 of 2,334 in Hangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hangzhou Southline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hangzhou Southline Hotel

Property: Hangzhou Southline Hotel
Address: No.206 Nanshan Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310002, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou > Shangcheng District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #833 of 2,334 Hotels in Hangzhou
Hotel Class:3 star — Hangzhou Southline Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing