We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not that good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
Ranked #9 of 2,402 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Shoreditch, London
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good but not that good”
Reviewed May 21, 2010

We stayed here at the last minute when our flight was delayed and we decided not to go on to our planned destination. It was a Friday night so the hotel was nearly full - we had asked for a quiet room. The room we were allocated was really noisy - the people in the next room had their TV on full blast and it was not going to be quiet at all - perhaps poor soundproofing?

When we complained our complaint was handled promptly and efficiently and we were upgraded and transferred to a quiet room.

We had room service as there was nowhere to eat in the hotel after 11pm (which is usual in China). The room service was not that great - but perhaps it was our choices.

The location of the hotel is very good. But a warning - it appears to be nearly impossible to get a taxi. We were warned that it would be hard on a weekend and we waited for an hour and a half to get a taxi to take us 20 minutes from the hotel before giving up and paying for a hotel car.

The hotel is probably better than others - eg we had lunch at the Shangri-la where the service was not good and the hotel was old and tired. We are usually fans of the Shangri-la chain.

So if you want to be central to the lake then I think this would be an ok choice.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneShepherdess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    346
    78
    18
    12
See reviews for
139
124
41
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

The location of this hotel could not be better. Steps away from all major shopping and restaurants in HZ.

Feels great walking into this hotel especially in the humid summer its nice walking into a nice air conditioned and filtered lobby.

Bell hops and staff are very pleasant and speak perfect English.

Food:

Breakfast buffet is a bit expensive but has almost anything you can imagine. I prefer to have lunch in the hotel lobby as they have a lot of sandwiches and bar food that is pretty good and reasonably priced.

Dinner is always good too. Again buffet or a la cart.

Rooms:

Very nicely decorated and comfortable rooms. Beds are a bit small but still ok.

Great gym, pool and spa services.

Overall great hotel for any Western traveling to Hangzhou.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayaghoubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights as part of a business trip. I would rate this trip 8/10..


Pros
- Great location right at the west lake
- Great view of the west lake musical fountain show (if you have a view room)
- Very safe and metropolitan neighborhood... I counted 4 starbucks, 3 KFC, 2 Pizza Hut and 1 Hermes within a 5 minute walk
- Great service
- Modern decor
- Clean
- One of the best Hyatt Regency brands out there
- Amazing food at all hotel restaurants (especially the Chinese one... it was the best Hangzhou crusine I have ever had)
- Plasma TV

Cons
- Low headroom
- Beds and pillows were hard and not comfortable
- Regency Club is a disappointment - it was very small, crowded and lacks service/beverage service on non-meal periods
- Long (or should I say loooooong) walks to the elevator. If you are at one of the rooms at the far end, and I counted the rooms are exactly 30 rooms away from the elevator, which means a 2 minute walk to your room, depending on room location.
- Bad traffic to/from hotel since this hotel is so close to the music fountain/attractions etc

I would still highly recommend this hotel .. but I do hear the Park Hyatt is coming in town soon...

Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kceesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

The hotel is situated right next to the West Lake, and the newer development in the area. There is a music fountain throughout the day right outside the hotel. Although I did not book a lake view room, I was very satisfied with my room on the back side of the hotel.

The rooms are clean and of good size, and very comfortable. I think the hotel was completed some 5 years ago, but very well managed. The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly.

For breakfast, there is a Starbucks just downstairs on the side of the hotel. If you are adventurous, you can venture to the local shops which are about within 10 minutes walk, and much cheaper with quality of food reasonable.

Its Chinese restaurant, 28 Hubin, serves great Hangzhou food. Much better than the better restaurants that I went. I also tried to check in ion my return flight n the business centre without having to pay the normal charges. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misty_M8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2010

West Lake's musical fountain is right in front of the hotel which is a short walk from numerous shops, restaurants and entertainment. As it was our first trip to Hangzhou, we were unaware that locals typically eat dinner from 1700hrs; after 2100hrs, we had difficulty finding places to eat and settled for the hotel's excellent in-house Chinese restaurant, 28 Hu Bin Road.

We experienced consistently high service levels at the hotel, something that we learnt not to take for granted in China as many staff in the hotel and restaurant industries are new and untutored.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biketrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

Both of us stayed at Hyatt Hangzhou for a night. Excellent location.Great staff who understood english. West Lake was located at the front of the hotel (the water/music syncronized show was located near to the front of the hotel. Also, there's a shopping mall located behind the hotel, this housed brands like Zara.

Not too sure about getting around hangzhou because we had our own transport arranged for those 2 days that were were there.

The only downside was that the price (as expected of Hyatt) did not include breakfast...additional charge for that.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank australia_garage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Great place from which to explore Hangzhou - across the road from the Lake, lots of sights nearby

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beansleyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#17 of 2,402 in Hangzhou
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
#27 of 2,402 in Hangzhou
796 reviews
JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou
#4 of 2,402 in Hangzhou
551 reviews
Gongshu District
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
#5 of 2,402 in Hangzhou
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hangzhou

Property: Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
Address: No.28 Hubin Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hangzhou
#6 Spa Hotel in Hangzhou
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hangzhou
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#8 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#51 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Hangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou Hotel Hangzhou
Hyatt Hangzhou
Hangzhou Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing