We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice right on the lake shore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
Ranked #7 of 2,386 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa OK USA
Level Contributor
214 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent choice right on the lake shore”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is right on the shore of west lake. You can look out your window and watch all the activity along the lakeside if you are on the side towards the lake. I am sure the rooms on the other side, but getting a lake view room is worth it. The room is large and very comfortable, with a good quality king bed, good tv with satellite news, big bathroom with a great shower and tub that are separate from each other but enclosed together. Plenty of room.

The restaurant is outstanding, and the chef came by and chatted with us, a very nice New Zealander. The kitchen is open so you can see all the activity. Breakfast was included in our rate, and it is huge.
Lots of western and Chinese choices. Since we are in china, I have been eating the noodle soup, which they make to order, for breakfast. Very delicious. They have all sorts of dim sum items as well.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Feistyrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    343
    76
    17
    12
See reviews for
135
122
41
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

At the base of the West Lake, the location cannot be better. Get a room with the view of the Lake and wake up early to watch the breathtaking view of the sunrise over the Lake. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is also within walking distance to shops and restaurants, although it is located in the busier, more touristy part of the Lake though. The hotel restaurant serves nouveau local cuisine and it's very well done. If you want authentic local cuisine though, get out of the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
110 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Although I was aware of the complaints of some members of the TA community regarding this hotel, I booked it for its convenience, totally forgetting my personal golden rule when it comes to picking hotels in China - ALWAYS PICK AN EXCELLENT HOTEL. Why ? Travelling in China on your own, battling hordes of loud tourists, handling dishonest tour operators who have no qualms of cheating you, n dealing with rude cab drivers (one cab driver in hangzhou insisted on texting while he was driving!) is hard enough.
I stayed at this (someone called this a "low-class" Hyatt) hotel for 2 nights, paying an average of 1840 yuan per nite, lake view , at the 7th floor. This is very expensive n not value-for-money considering there is no breakfast given. If breakfast is included, they add another SGD 40 per person per day. That is over SGD 400 n it is not a Shangrila grade property at all.

Firstly, the lake view is , to me, pretty ordinary. It is foggy in the morning when u wake up. by the time it clears, which is close to lunchtime, u would hv left ur room. when u come back, i don't think u will stand in front of the window for more than 10 mins. so a room with a lake view is a waste of money. The first room, they gave me, at the 5th floor, has that swimming complex blocking it.

Secondly, the room doesn't have a nice vibe to it. the air-condition is old. It is loud and whirrs all the nite, so if u r a light sleeper, forget it.

Thirdly the concierge is clueless. I wanted to go to a certain restaurant in the XIHU state Guesthouse ( strongly recommended by a SG food blogger). Despite giving him the address n my insistence that Chairman Mao used to stay there , he said there is another similar restaurant just around the corner of the hotel. So he directed me to the wrong restaurant. Different class of restaurant. A local fast-food restaurant.The second day, I got the same concierge again. Rolled my eyes!!! Coz he wasted my time the previous day. Again I insisted he booked the restaurant I wanted. Aa expected, he said no reservation needed. He didn't even bother to check c'mon.
I stood my ground. I said I have checked online. Reservations a must ! the restaurant I wanted is in a soldier-guarded property n I can never enter without a reservation. Then only he called for a reservation. He knew he made a mistake, but was not apologetic. He could see how upset I was. He left it as that. Good grief ! Ii is a good thing I always do my homework. I also asked about the flower show at Taiziwan - he told me it is at the end of March. Later in the day a local told me the flower show has started ! When I asked about the plum blossom, he said it was in april. I asked a local n he insisted I went right away as the plum blossom season in the botanical garden of qingziwu is already 90% open! So my description of this concierge called richard as clueless is really apt. btw I have never had any problems with any concierge in any luxury grade hotel before.

This hotel really cannot shake off its second-tier china city mentality. It is a "China"- luxury grade hotel, not international luxury-grade. the convenience comes at a price too. The part of the west lake it fronts is the noisiest.

Room Tip: if u must stay here, pick a room from the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mordecai12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmain, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just left Hangzhou yesterday and now in Nanjing. Stayed at the Hyatt where the view from room 672 was perfect. The view looks straight out on to the lake which is a 60 second walk across a paved shared bicycle and pedestrian thoroughfare. You can watch the music water fountain from the comfort of your king size room and through the very large window, which is at least two thirds the size of the entire wall.

Drive along Nanshan road for a strip home to the most number of prestigious motor vehicles you'll ever find on the same strip. Walk about 5 mins along Xueshi road that runs along the northern side of the Hyatt and you'll find clusters of old dilapidated buildings that are still used for residential city living by the locals. Rooms are wide open on the ground floor and you can see their living quarters consisting of a single room about the size of a small dingy hotel room with a small basin area. Almost all of the ground level dwellers were cooking and selling locally produced food just outside of their door etc. These fairly large apartment clusters are totally boarded up from the outside with few entrances and large poster advertisements of the impending shopping centre. You'll find Prada, Gucci, Balenciaga, Emporia Armani to name just a few next to lane ways where you'll find locals living in squalor, all around 5 mins from the Hyatt.

Back to the Hyatt, the head chef is a nice young kiwi guy who likes to chat. The staff are pretty friendly but speak very little English. If you're after good quality food then you won't be disappointed. Try their hot chocolate also. Breakfast and dinner was great. The rooms are also great and to the standard expected of the Hyatt. We'll return to the Hyatt as our trip was for both business and leisure hence we'll be back soon.

Room Tip: Waterfront! Sixth floor was great because you get a cleaner line of sight to the promenade, lake and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anj m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
134 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here many times, as we are regularly in Hangzhou for business. The hotel is excellent in all respects- large and beautifully appointed rooms, a full service hotel with a beautiful lobby, and really excellent service for westerners (something many other nice hotels just cannot match). And good internet!! Important for business trips.

In addition, it is right on West Lake, my favorite spot in China, and one of the best attractions for westerners and chinese alike- this city is known as the garden city of China and it certainly lives up to its reputation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CurtM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moriac, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The location next to the Westlake is excellent for a stroll following a long business day. A professional and very clean hotel with good staff who are attentive to detail. Importantly a good bed and pillow meant a good rest and recovery following long days visiting factories.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night while on business. Nice accommodations and the breakfast was fantastic. Next day drove around nearby West Lake which is a beautiful Chinese park/lake area. Wish I would have had more time to spend there. If in the area again will stay at the Hyatt so maybe I will get to explore this beautiful, historical lake park.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#16 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
#27 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
794 reviews
JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou
#3 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
533 reviews
Gongshu District
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
#4 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hangzhou

Property: Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
Address: No.28 Hubin Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Hangzhou
#5 Family Hotel in Hangzhou
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hangzhou
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#8 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#50 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Hangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou Hotel Hangzhou
Hyatt Hangzhou
Hangzhou Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing