We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prefessional Excellence with hotel front services” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Hangzhou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
Ranked #8 of 2,334 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Prefessional Excellence with hotel front services”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

From the moment we set foot at the hotel to the moment we bid farewell, the level of unparalleled attentiveness to all guests throughout the hotel was noticeable. It was that culture of enthusiasm that topped off with a genuine smile favored with a personal touch conversation set this hotel apart from most posh hotels that we have stayed.

We chose to return to Hyatt Hangzhou after our first visit in 2005 as we longed to picture ourselves again immersing in the blissing morning atop the West Lake from the patio. Except this time we found our immersed in the warmth of hospitality professional excellence demonstrated by all hotel staff.

It is truly remarkable to be felt welcomed!

It was a reflection of a strong leadership to provide the level of professional excellence on the standard of hospitality that the Hyatt Regency Executives should be proud of. Good job, Linda, Kudo to you.

Room Tip: Get a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    333
    73
    14
    11
See reviews for
129
113
39
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indio, California
Level Contributor
176 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Great location and new hotel. We were going to stay at the Shangra-la and found out that it was very dated. We were told that the Hyatt was great and right on the lake. We got the information from two friends in Shanghai. They were right. The service was great, the rooms clean and modern with a flat screen tv. the price was the same as the Shangra-La. We visited the bar at the Shangra-La and agree with that it was dated.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zoecatCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

on July23-24 2011,I really enjoyed the service and all staffs were excellent on every level. The Concierges are fantastic!

Room Tip: Lake view are the Best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spiispii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed in a club room and had requested a view of the lake which I got. Service was excellent but as in other Hyatt establishments some policies are mean. For example the club room was very expensive but the room was relatively modest - although everything was there it did not match the quality of club rooms experienced in other Chinese 5 star establishments. Next is the policy on breakfast - having paid a handsome sum to get club access, the Hyatt want you pay more to have breakfast in the general dining room. There is of course a modest breakfast in the lounge but 'modest' is the operative word. The mean streak extends to toiletaries in the bathroom - half empty shampoos and soaps not replaced etc.
Next time I will stay at a cheaper 5 star a short walk from the lake. But I must say that the service and staff were excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are obviously the best. Higher rooms have a better view. However on foggy da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AUSSIETRAVELADVISER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. The service and staff were exceptional on every level. I needed a HRC train ticket back to Shanghai and the concierge sent someone out to buy it and brought it up to my room. Room service was fantastic also, as is the breakfast service in the Regency Club.

My very comfortable room on the Club level was complimented by fresh flowers, fruit and chocolates. I highly recommend a West Lake view room and above the 5th floor so your view isn’t blocked by the very large indoor pool complex that sits as a center piece in front of the hotel. The view of the lake is extraordinary , as is Hanghzou !!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

The Grand Hyatt is right on West Lake and just in front of the daily free Water Show. The rooms are typical large chain hotel rooms some with a lake view (ask for a high floor or you’ll be looking at the pool dome instead of the lake). The breakfast buffet was quite extensive and delicious. We ordered room service one night and it was very good.
The thing that sets this hotel apart is the wonderful staff. They have quite a large staff but each and every employee we encountered was very friendly and went out of their way to help us. For a big chain hotel, it feels more intimate because of the wonderful personnel.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor on the lake side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAexpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

I rarely take the time to give these reviews. However, because of a recent two day stay at the Hyatt in Hongzhou, and because I personally often use these reviews as a reason for why I book, I wanted to add my thoughts.

I was visiting from Shanghai where I work. I needed an excursion and a trip away from "the big city" and I had heard so much about the famous "lake town."

I stayed at the Hyatt - and it was a terrific place. From a room quality - it is as good if not better than what you expect in a Hyatt. The rooms were modern, and full of great amenities. The hotel has twice a day service, including turn down service. They leave you bowls of fruit when you arrive. I had 3 apples. Others were getting oranges. The rooms use the latest in luxury linens and pillows. The bed was very comfortable.

The gym in pretty good - and available 24 hours (a sign says that if you want to use it at a late time, call the front desk, and they will let you in.). It is small, and only a few of each of the pieces of equipment, but it had everything In needed. Inside the spa, you can tell it was at its peak about 10 years ago. It feels slightly old, but still, it is clean. There are nice Jacuzzi's and steam saunas in the spa area. And the gym spa area is free to use for all members.

The staff deserves special comments. I learned that many of them are university graduates who are doing internships. They work very hard to practice their English. When you arrive to the hotel, they are lined up to ask to help for your every need (nearly to the point of too much!). I don't need my shopping bag carried from the front door to the elevator. But thanks anyway!

When I stopped in at the concierge to get information on a late night place to eat, they were helpful in suggesting first the nicer places, and then later, the "off the beaten path" places where you can get steaming bowls of hot noodles.

Each evening, the bar, which is essentially the entire lobby, has a three piece jazz group. They are excellent, and nearly make the $15 glasses of wine worth it.

I didn't try the breakfasts, or restaurant (opting instead for the attached Starbucks, which is the largest and nicest I have seen in all of Asia!).

It is a PERFECT location if you are visiting for the lake. Go left, and walk for hours to the Pagoda (worth climbing for the view). Or go right - and walk along the lake all the way to the Shangri-la (which I stopped in to see, and realized I was glad to have chosen the Hyatt instead of Shangri-la).

I was also able to negotiate for a late check out to as late as 1:30 on my departure date.

(As noted by everyone, Taxi's in the city are scarce. I still don't understand that. I think the mayor wants to make it hard to get them. so that people use the local buses and bikes. And perhaps because there are already so many cars on the very congested streets. Hangzhou is experiencing quite a boom, and it shows!)

Overall, it was a great experience. I will be back, and I will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Don't opt for the lake view. Instead, pay the lesser price, and use the money to go sit AT the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rvonfeldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#10 of 2,334 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The East Hotel Hangzhou
The East Hotel Hangzhou
#7 of 2,334 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou
JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou
#2 of 2,334 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
1.3 mi away
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
#28 of 2,334 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hangzhou

Property: Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
Address: No.28 Hubin Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Hangzhou
#5 Family Hotel in Hangzhou
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hangzhou
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#8 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#47 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Hangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 390
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou Hotel Hangzhou
Hyatt Hangzhou
Hangzhou Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing