We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Merchant Marco Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Yilin Apartment(Hangzhou)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Mingzhu Inn(Hangzhou)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveler rating
75
130
38
11
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
130
38
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmainland hotelswest lakegarden hotelwithin walking distancevia ctripshower and bathtubexcellent hotelfour star hotelcentral locationbuffet breakfastchinese guestsbooked this hotelmin walktrain stationnice roomcomfortable bedmerchants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 257 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2010

I stayed in this hotel for two nights, at the begining, i think this hotel is quite good, people are nice, and it's clean and everything is well equipped. However, I had a very very bad experience on my first day.

I asked them to put a charger in my room before I went out the hotel. After 2 hours, i come back to the hotel, I found my room door is WIDELY OPENED without locked!! The staff forgot to close my room door after entering my room!!! I had a notebook and 1000 cash on the desk. Luckily, I've got nth lost, but I've really really bad experience with this hotel and would not recommend to anyone else!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckylai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed at the Merchant Marco hotel for a week. My wife and I had brought our 8 months boy. We had a great stay at the hotel. It is a modern, somewhat anonymous hotel rather in walking distance to the west lake. At the time of the visit the road to the west lake was quite busy with constructions of the new metro etc. The view from the room was away from the lake and not very pretty - however quite funny to watch the chinese backyards.
We found the hotel staff friendly and some could speak ok english. Chinese generally love kids, so that makes things easy. We got a baby bed in the room for free.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rasmus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We stayed at Marco Merchant for three days for vacation. Due to the good rating we selected this hotel and booked an executive room with lake view.
The rooms are midlevel standard for china, a little worn and could need some thorough cleaning. They are not dirty, but also not clean.
The perks for the executive rooms are not worth any cent; drinks include only tea and coffee, internet for 30min and cleaning vouchers for 40RMB.
Service is generally OK, but during breakfast time we had to clean our table by ourself as no waiter removed the dirty dishes of previous guests.
Foodselection during breakfast is OK, nothing exceptional. If you prefer western breakfast be aware that the selection is very limited (beside cheapest cheese only).

The big perk for this hotel is location: 5 minutes walking brings you to the lake. A good start, but to get to other interesting locations you still need a taxi or a long walk.

I can not recomment this hotel; for the service and quality it is overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LivingInCina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 8, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed November 23, 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews