We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but lot of disappointments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Ranked #17 of 2,402 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location but lot of disappointments”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We travel to Hangzhou and stayed in Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake during the last few days of my kids' summer holidays. We had been this hotel a few years ago and was quite satisfied with the hotel at that time. this time, we are quite disappointed by the fast deterioration of the room. There were water leaking outside the bathroom, the carpet near the bathroom was wet. The housekeeping phone services lady said to us that they would send us the welcome fruit plate TWO times (not sure if that the calls were answered by the same lady) but finally it never comes. Furthermore, we totally didn't expect that their swimming pool and gym are closed for renovation. Where does the hotel expect us to spend our time in the hotel while the ourdoor temperature is over 40 degree C??!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_lover7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Travel_lover7788,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer. Please note that this problem was a true exception to our normal practices. Rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem. All our efforts are concentrated in preventing future occurrences. We are working on improvement of living environment and I believe we can meet your demand better in near future. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you next time.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    227
    95
    39
    18
See reviews for
99
127
35
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Location and room size is good. The reception and concierge staff are also helpful to provide information needed.
Just with the door of shower of the bathroom couldn't be closed properly and water drain out to make the floor wet.
Worthy to stay as it is close to Westlake and some points of interest

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank simonli1ster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear simonli1ster,

Thank you for taking time to write a review and tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. For the issues you mentioned above, we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns about our facilities. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Thank you again for your support!

Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel was an incredibly great experience. The staff went far beyond any expectation my husband and l had upon arrival beginning with an upgrade to a suite and ending with the concierge Jerry accompanying us as an interpreter to handle a banking transaction and then escorting us to the train station when we left because of our being Americans in China. In addition, Phillip, one of the managers, wished us off with a gift as we left. The suite was beautiful, the amenities were Hermes, there were both a shower and a bathtub. Everything was perfect. There was some ongoing construction but it didn't cause any problems for us. We enjoyed our trip to China so much and our stay at the Sofitel was a large part of the experience.

Room Tip: The third and fifth are recommended as the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Melanie K ,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding to your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I’m very pleased to hear from you that you had a wonderful time in our hotel. I hope you will become our close friend! Thank you again for sharing your experience, all the ambassadors in our hotel are looking forward to meeting you again.

Life is magnifique!

Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I chose the hotel because of it's location and the good reputation of Sofitel. But it was horrible. Very old and dirty. Air conditioning was not working, staff were almost aggressive. To make it worse, they were doing renovations, so you could expect hard noise from 9 to 6. Breakfast given in a small room, with few western choices. If you can avoid it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank CEVEKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear CEVEKA ,

Thank you for taking time to write a review and tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake.
I'm sorry for your unsatisfied stay at our hotel, and please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. For the issues you mentioned above, we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns about our facilities and renovation, and this situation will definitely change in the near future. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you on your next visit.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Only stayed here for a couple of nights whilst visiting the city for work.

Hotel is nice. Room service was good and staff were friendly. Cant comment to much as I wasn't in the hotel a great deal.

However, I thought I should comment on the location. This is right next to West lake which is a fantastic way to spend an hour or so at sunset. Unfortunately I was travelling solo and not with my girlfriend so I had no one to enjoy it with, but the views and atmosphere are amazing and anyone staying at this hotel is in great location to this - 1 minute walk away!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear John M ,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Our hotel is an ideal destination whether for business or leisure. It is centrally located, just a few steps away from Xihutiandi and it takes 15 minutes walk to the Qinghefang and Song Dynasty Street.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This review is an update from a previous stay 3 years ago. Last time the hotel was getting old and the food was horrendous. This time... well let's say that time has not been kind to this Sofitel.

Except for a surprisingly good experience in the Club lounge, everything was disappointing. Not bad mind you, but disappointing. Decent hotel but definitely not worth the money unless you need that specific location.

Rooms: spider webs, cracking paint and aging bathroom. Need I say more? Really? Spider webs on the ceiling? At a Sofitel?

Pool: renovation
Cigar and lobby lounge: renovation
Gym: renovation
2nd floor meeting rooms: renovation
You get my drift. This hotel *might* be a good place to stay in 6 months (Xmas 2013) when renovations are done. Don't expect to stay late. Not only do the renovations wake you up, but the marching band practicing at 7am right across your bedroom won't help. Unless you find the sound of drums soothing, that is.

Now for the good:
Location: fantastic. The hotel is right by the lake, walking distance to nice bars, restaurants cafés and your usual row of Starbucks and Costa. Very nice and convenient. Even taxis were easy to find this time around.

Club lounge: for Rmb148 you get a free flow of alcohol daily 5.30 to 8pm (incl. sparkling wine and VSOP cognac) & soft drinks, plus a nice selection of snacks & petits fours. This was (sadly?) the highlight of my stay. The staff was amazing, refilling my glass as soon as it got empty, bringing hot food to me instead of waiting for me to go to the buffet, and even went the extra way by bringing my chair and table outside on the terrace (5th floor) on the (real) lawn. Niiiiiice experience and view. Many thanks to Andy!

Staff: definite improvement over my last stay. They don't pretend to speak French anymore, but they have been well trained and are efficient and courteous. Good hotel management obviously.

I repeat my conclusion: Decent but definitely not worth the money unless you need that specific location. Might be worth it again when all renovations are done at the end of the year (2013).

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the lake: no good view anyways, and you'll avoid some of the noise. Get a Club r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FredericN26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear FredericN26 ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer. We appreciate your sharing your concerns about our guest room and other facilities, and this situation will definitely change in the near future. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you on your next visit.


Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#9 of 2,402 in Hangzhou
918 reviews
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
#27 of 2,402 in Hangzhou
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gongshu District
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
#5 of 2,402 in Hangzhou
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake

Property: Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Address: No.333 Xihu Avenue, Hangzhou 310002, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hangzhou
#10 Spa Hotel in Hangzhou
#10 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#42 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake occupies a unique lakeside site close to Hangzhou’s business and shopping district, only a short walk from the recreational complex of Xihutiandi. Business and leisure travelers alike will find this the ideal location for a comfortable and relaxing stay. 2014, Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake has re-launched to enable the hotel to offer enhanced guest service and better reflect the Sofitel trademark blend of French sophistication and art de vivre with the essence of traditional Chinese hospitality. Hotel enjoys convenient access to Hangzhou’s Xiaoshan International Airport and the Hangzhou East Railway Station. It takes only 10 minutes by car to reach the Hangzhou City Railway Station and five minutes on foot to Metro Line 1 station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake Hotel Hangzhou
Hangzhou Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing