We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lack of sanitary conditions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Ranked #16 of 2,386 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    225
    95
    38
    18
See reviews for
98
125
35
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I recently stayed at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake and I have to say that whilst the hardware may not reflect that of a true Sofitel the service is truly wonderful!

I stayed in a Club Sofitel Room which gave me access to the Club Lounge and I have to say that the team in the Club are great. I was greeted by a young girl each morning with a pleasant Bonjour and was treated to a wonderful breakfast offering which included yummy homemade yoghurt, freshly squeezed orange juice and great croissants. At night during "happy hour" the beverage offering is excellent and the food offering definitely lives up to Sofitel standards.

The biggest asset of the hotel is it's staff; do not go there and expect truly luxury rooms as they are a little tired but be sure to upgrade to Club Sofitel as the service and offering is fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b_tsandpiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, General Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam:
We very much appreciate your time to review your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed here with my family members and stayed in Deluxe rooms, which were large and comfortable. Although touted as “lake facing” rooms, our view was of the rear of a ramshackle apartment block instead. Turns out what it really means is that the rooms face towards the lake area and it does not mean that you can actually see the lake from your room. The only place you can see the lake from is the restaurant on the club floor, but even that offers a limited view at best.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, General Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake is situated in a good location directly across the street from beautiful West Lake. To get to the lake, one would need to use the underground pedestrian pathway (looks like stairs access to a subway). There is a high-end restaurant inside the hotel and a few others within walking distance. There are also some silk shops nearby.

Hotel seems older but is still clean - and parts were under construction, so may be undergoing renovation. Lobby is clean and airy. Rooms have high ceilings, so makes for a more spacious feel and bathrooms are clean with nice L'Occitane toiletries. As a business traveller, what was inconvenient was poor internet wi-fi signal in the rooms.

Amenities: There is a gym, but it is smaller and a bit dated. There is a club lounge which is very nicely decorated and provides a relaxing atmosphere especially for happy hour in the evening. It is also worth it to pay for the breakfast buffet for one day - the spread is excellent (try the bread pudding!).

Service is excellent - hotel staff are very polite and helpful. Taxis were never a problem because the staff would help me to arrange beforehand. As mentioned in my other reviews, don't forget to ask for a hotel business card which includes locations/sites in both Mandarin and English (easy to point to when in a taxi).

In summary, it is a nice hotel with great service and location. It fits the bill for the price point.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 1-Around-World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, General Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam:
We very much appreciate your time to review your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Your comments concerning the need to renovate the hotel are well understood and indeed the Owner and Sofitel will commence with such a program this year.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houjie
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Service was extremely good, all staff were very nice and knowledgable.

Was a bit disappointed there was no outdoor furniture on the veranda.

Although this hotel was expensive the decor did not live up to the price we paid. Alot of the facilities are dated, especially the rooms and bathrooms. The gym was nice but again very dated.

I probably wouldnt choose to stay here again when the Hyatt around the corner is only a small increase in price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomo0380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, General Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
Your comments concerning the need to renovate the hotel are well understood and indeed the Owner and Sofitel will commence with such a program this year.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Close to West Lake (Xi Hu)
Hard to get a taxi
Too expensive
Try to avoid weekends in Hangzhou, too many people
Nice roof garden

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom-Janas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, General Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Sir:
We very much appreciate your time to review your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My 3-day stay in Hangzhou was excellent as Hangzhou is magic with rich history and traditions and with beautiful landscaped gardens everywhere. The best part were world class shows of "Impression of Westlake" directed by Zhang Yi Mou and "Legend of Romance" at Song Village, both recommended by Concierge Sky Chai who took the pain to explain and recommend the best range of tickets and seats available. We enjoyed the shows very much, with all credits go to Sky. A Fantastic hotel staff to have !!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKTjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelHangzhou, General Manager at Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam:
We very much appreciate your time to review your stay at the Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

General Manager
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#7 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
907 reviews
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
#27 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gongshu District
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
#4 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
633 reviews
Gongshu District
The East Hotel Hangzhou
The East Hotel Hangzhou
#9 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake

Property: Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Address: No.333 Xihu Avenue, Hangzhou 310002, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hangzhou
#9 Spa Hotel in Hangzhou
#10 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#43 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake occupies a unique lakeside site close to Hangzhou’s business and shopping district, only a short walk from the recreational complex of Xihutiandi. Business and leisure travelers alike will find this the ideal location for a comfortable and relaxing stay. 2014, Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake has re-launched to enable the hotel to offer enhanced guest service and better reflect the Sofitel trademark blend of French sophistication and art de vivre with the essence of traditional Chinese hospitality. Hotel enjoys convenient access to Hangzhou’s Xiaoshan International Airport and the Hangzhou East Railway Station. It takes only 10 minutes by car to reach the Hangzhou City Railway Station and five minutes on foot to Metro Line 1 station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake Hotel Hangzhou
Hangzhou Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing