We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, untrained people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hangzhou Grand Canal
Ranked #291 of 2,443 Hotels in Hangzhou
Reviewed August 4, 2011

the hotel was very nice. its a bit far from all the touring sites but its in a quite place. there's a really good hot pot restaurant 2 blocks from it. the hotel is new and clean. the beds were very comfortable and the rooms were great. the food there is ok. nothing special. the staff is friendly but they're not trained well. the girl at reception messed up our reservation and said our reservation didn't include breakfast. it wasnt until the 3rd day when i checked with my travel agent that i found out that even though she argued with me for 10 mins the previous day she was wrong. we asked the manager to refund us the money but he refused. what they offered us instead of a 40% discount on lunch at their restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilhelmina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 109 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2010

I have stayed in many holiday inns over the last 12yrs plus with this group, this hotel was not good, bathroom was not clean, the staff very rude and far too young immature young girls, three times ringing to reception they could not help. location is next to a motorway, we stayed in room above the aircon equipment slept for 1 or 2 hrs
Go elsewhere, i would of complained if i could talk to some one with intelligence

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

The hotel was a bit difficult to find, but that could just be due to my friend and I getting off on the wrong bus stop. The hotel was close to quite a few bus stops, which was good, but a little far from the center of the city. Also, the name of the hotel, "Grand Canal" is a little misleading. It is near a canal, but don't expect to see it from your window. The hotel is not in view of it. The service was fine, nothing great but they did help us with a problem. We had booked a Standard Room on the website which stated two single beds, and when we got to the hotel they said it was one double bed. However, with a bit of talking they agreed to switch our room and we got two single beds instead. Breakfast was included which was nice, and the room and lobby were both very clean. My only problem would be the location (a lot of traffic and overpasses, but don't worry, I couldn't hear it from the room).

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

While this is a new and relatvely plush Holiday Inn Express, it really can't be recommended, due to its location. It is hemmed in all sides by very busy elevated expressways and flyovers. In fact, one wonders how they managed to take the photo on the hotel's website without showing any of the expressways. The surrounding neighborhood is non-descript, with the bonus of a few good Korean restaurants across the road. But getting across the road, at any time of day or night, is a headache. It should also be added that it is hard to get taxis in this city, which makes its poor location more of an issue.

The rooms themselves are quite comfortable, with all the facilities you would expect from a HIE, including free Internet. The complementary buffet breakfast: well, you have to give them some points for trying, but few non-Chinese guests are likely to be excited. All in all, pay more for the Holiday Inn in the city centre.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

My wife, toddler and I stayed here for one night (Oct 1, 2010) and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel seemed quite new and in good order. The room was clean and there was no smoke smell. It was quiet; we stayed in room 507. The room was also spacious as we were able to set up our son’s bed without shifting any furniture. Decorations are trendy and up to date.

Staff was friendly and spoke enough English; they brought an extra blanket and towel to our room quickly upon our request (although we did have to go to the front desk to request them).

The beds were pretty soft for Chinese standards and also compared to the Holiday Inn Express we stayed in while in Shanghai. There were two styles of pillows for those that like either soft or hard which was nice, each one was appropriately labeled.

Ipod dock with alarm clock and large flat screen TV (I’m guessing but maybe a 32 incher). There is a safe and free internet (not wireless).

Bathrooms were nice but without a bathtub. Water pressure was fine with lots of hot water. The shower was slippery however they do offer a small plastic mat, use it as our toddler slipped in the shower. They offer LUX shower gel and shampoo in a dispenser in the shower.

There were two free bottles of water in the bathroom. No mini bar or fridge – but that’s probably something to do with the “express” concept. They still provide some tea bags, instant coffee, cups and a water boiler.

There are three free public computers with internet in the lobby.

There was a laundry facility on the second floor where you could do your own laundry. It cost 30 RMB for use of the washer and dryer and took 30 minutes each. You have to buy the tokens from the front desk; laundry soap was provided in the laundry room. There was also an iron and ironing board.

The breakfast in the morning offered much for those that can stomach Chinese breakfasts. There wasn’t much for the western taste, even the white bread was very sweet and the margarine didn’t taste right.

All in all it was a good experience and a hotel that we would stay in again.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peppy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2010

This hotel exceeded my expectations. For $30/night, I expected a dinky and dirty hotel (like many low end hotels in the us). However, the room was super clean and had little niceties like slippers, tooth brush kits, and lcd tv. The breakfast had a wide selection of Chinese foods. This is better than most Holiday inns I've stayed at in the US.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahnano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed November 26, 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hangzhou Meiyuan Hotel
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hangzhou Huanglong
2.6 mi away
Milan Hotel
Milan Hotel
#998 of 2,443 in Hangzhou
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hangzhou City Center
3.1 mi away
Huachen International Hotel
Huachen International Hotel
#35 of 2,443 in Hangzhou
325 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cosy Park Hotel
Cosy Park Hotel
#18 of 2,443 in Hangzhou
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hangzhou Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hangzhou Grand Canal

Address: No.329 Shangtang Road, Hangzhou 310020, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#156 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range: $44 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hangzhou Grand Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Hangzhou Grand Canal (no.329 Shangtang Road) centrally located at mid-north of Hangzhou is managed by InterContinental Hotels Group nearly 15 minutes drive to Westlake through overhead highway linking hotel to Westlake, city center and Hi-Tech development area. You can conveniently access Xiasha Economic Industrial Zone, Shanghai, Ningbo, and Nanjiang through Desheng express highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hangzhou Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hangzhou Grand Canal Hotel Hangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing