We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Metropark Hotel Hangzhou
Ranked #37 of 2,386 Hotels in Hangzhou
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The location seems pretty good as it takes about 10 minutes to the West Lake on foot. Buffet was not impressive, but decent. I do not know the rate as I did not pay, but it does not seem to very high either. I would stay here next time unless I would have become a super rich at that time.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank HoonKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    188
    59
    12
    6
See reviews for
20
42
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels in Hangzhou, all of the top 5 star western hotels e.g. Hyatt Regency, Sofitel, Shangri la etc and they are very expensive! When I booked to stay at the Metropark, the rate told me it wasn't going to be a 5 star hotel (468RMB, how can it be?), so I wasn't expecting one. However the hotel is in a good location, very clean, the bed is comfortable not hard like many Chinese hotels, internet is free and fast, also you have HBO, CNN etc. The hotel staff are very courteous and helpful, yes the hotel and the rooms could do with some updating.If budget is of no problem and you are looking to stay at a 5 star, the same luxurious standard and modern interior as Hyatt Regency or similar, then this is not for you.Otherwise because of the price I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for value , cleanliness and a good nights sleep, just not 5 star luxury.

Room Tip: The standard rooms for Westerners are better, as the superior rooms with very big bed, the bed is to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules_UK68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
161 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

It's a modern and luxurious hotel in the city center: 10 minutes walking from the west lake and shopping streets. Position is definitively very good. Room was quite large, while the bathroom was extremely small. The outdoor pool was very nice and large enough to swimm. We had a buffet breakfast in a nice hall (Le cafè); buffet was good and various.

Room Tip: high floor because of the traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ugomilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Calling this a 5 star hotel is ridiculous. The hotel is tired and average. Their a/c still doesn't work. If you're traveling during the warm season, you're going to be pretty uncomfortable. The only decent think is the hotel's location and decent breakfast.

Stayed May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank William-NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2010

I visited Metro Grandpark, Suzhou and loved the hotel and expected Hangzhou hotel to be as good as their Suzhou one. And, totally disappointed. They have horrible service and rooms. Gloomy place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truedreamzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeosu, South Korea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

The good:
- Early check-in possible.
- Late checkout possible without payment.

The bad:
- Old rooms.
- Extremely bad concierge service.

Together with my wife and our 20 month old daughter I stayed at Grand Metro Park Hotel for one night.

As several reviewers has written before there is nothing 5 stars about this hotel. At its best it just barely swings by 3 stars. And that’s just because of the pool which was decent.

Checking in was no problem and we could have the room already at 10 a.m. However they did demand a deposit of 150% of the total price for the complete stay.

The room was not particular good. They bare the signs of having been used for a long time without renovation.

Our real irritation with the hotel began when we need them to help us with some small things (which you would imagine a 5 stars hotel could do without problems and complains). We went from Shanghai by train and had return tickets. The return trip was however a bit late in the evening and we wanted to change our departure time. We asked the concierge if this was possible and was told that they did not know, but we should go by the train station. They did not suggest that they could call and ask for us. I know that bad service is the epitome of China but it shouldn’t be at a hotel claiming to be 5 stars.

We also asked them if they could post some postcards for us. We were told that we needed to put another 8 RMB stamp on each postcard. That was a bit hard for us to believe so we went by the post office and was told that there was sufficient postage on the postcards.

In the evening we wanted to go to a special restaurant (we had the address but not written in Chinese). So we asked the concierge if they could please tell the taxi driver where to go. After the guy had conferred with 4 other colleagues we were told that the restaurant did not exist and the name was just the name of the area. But they could recommend other restaurants in the area. In the end we decided to find the restaurant ourselves, which we did without any problems.

Would we go back to this hotel – definitely not.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mjallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2010

The Grand Metropark in Hanghzhou is a bright and friendly, comfortable hotel. It is a quarter's walk away from the beautiful West Lake of Hangzhou, situated very central. No problems to find taxis, they stop in front of the hotel’s main door. You just need to ask the concierge to write / or explain in Chinese where you want to go, otherwise there is no way to communicate with the driver. The reception is very helpful. The breakfast and food & beverage service must be great if you like Chinese food, if you prefer Western food I would rank it average.
The only negative point is the sports and recreation service. There is a pool on the roof top but it is totally neglegted as well as the fitness center. An employee is literally sleeping up there and that is really all he does. No service, no possiblity to enjoy yourself up there. The water quality must at least be all right since I didn't suffer from any allergic disease after swimming there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaEmmanuela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Huachen International Hotel
#36 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
303 reviews
Merchant Marco Hotel
#38 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
245 reviews
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#16 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Landison Plaza Hotel
#22 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
223 reviews
Xihu Resort
Haihua Hotel Hangzhou
Haihua Hotel Hangzhou
#143 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropark Hotel Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropark Hotel Hangzhou

Property: Grand Metropark Hotel Hangzhou
Address: No.2 Pinghai Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310006, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
#20 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#35 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Metropark Hotel Hangzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Metropark Hotel Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropark Hangzhou
Hangzhou Grand Metropark Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing