We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything is OK, except the buffet was not fresh at all!”
Review of Crown Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crown Plaza
Ranked #270 of 2,446 Hotels in Hangzhou
Reviewed March 28, 2011

the location is not good, pretty far from the sightseeing part since the factory we need to visit was closeby that's why we picked up it. ( it took the taxi driver extra 20 min to find the hotel)
room is ok, service it not bad, and the internet is so fast ( we stayed there 2 days, one if after the late flight from zhenzhou, it was the fastest internet speed in China i had at the midnight, but you need to pay for the internet,charged by day)
and that day had terrible rain, we decided to had the buffet in the hotel. I have to say it was the worst buffet i had ever had ( normally i checked reviews beforehand), the fish/crab was not fresh at all and i couldnt eat them ( I am really picky about the fish, since there are so many good Japanese restaurants in shanghai)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CuteMinMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 59 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2010

hotel is actually good.but the food wasnt tasty,only coffe was fine for me,not a lot things to choose from.tv in our room never worked-i asked twice ,nothing happend.safe was strange-couldnt find the ,, on,, button,so wasnt able to use.
exchange servise at reception,but sometimes they r short of cash.so be smart-i came in the evening and i could change only 50 euro,the girl told me she ll go to bank at 10 in the morning,and we were leaving at 9,so i came again early in the morning and changed more 50 euro,ppl who came after me couldn do this already:pthe lobby is pretty,the is a ice cream shop.there are a lot of shops and restorants around,across the street.so if u can get by by noodles and eggs:p why they never have yogyrt in china hotels?and bread and even meat sometimes is sweet?

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tensi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

it is a good hotel. Clean room Nice facilities. Nice Service.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wuyuan_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

I've stayed in Crown Plaza, Hangzhou for 2 nights with my girlfriends and we didn't have the best experience there. We knew the location is not ideal, but the reason why we chose it was a reasonable price,leisure facilities (swimming pool&gym), and a Western restaurant they listed..
We booked Delux twin room and additional bed. The room looked like a Standard room and when we wanted to clarify it with the Reception, they kept saying it's a Standard room and also that we booked so, although our booking page was stating it should be Delux.
It was extremely hard to communicate with the reception staff, very poor English! And even we know a bit of Chinese, it didn't help much. They behaved also improperly - they ought to laugh and giggle saying something in Chinese while we were there.
Also there was no additional bed arranged in the room once we came there. After we went back to complain - they brought kind of metal folding bed with very thin mattress.
The room was really too small for that additional bed.
Western restaurant and 'western breakfast' are not so good as well. For the western breakfast, there was no corn flakes/muesli and only fried eggs. All the rest of the food was rather from Chinese breakfast menu - tofu, strange fried veggies, boiled corn, noodles, dumplings...
The worth was that there is no leisure facilities! No gym, no pool! Totally false information about it.
The room was not good sound prof, we heard our neighbors talking. Moreover, we asked for a non-smoking room/floor. But we felt smoke in the corridor.
It can't be a 4**** hotel! We would never stay there again and we don't recommend it to anyone as well.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yulyakub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

what a dump!! 37 degrees C outside and 90% humidity and i could blow cold air faster than the a/c. ugly hotel, ugly rooms and slow poor service. concrete for beds, no complimentary water, poor tv setup, no english working internet and terrible lighting. if your supplier tells you crown plaza remember it's not crownE plaza and look elsewhere. oh they are upgrading it now and expect 7am BANGGGGING to deafen you if you are unlucky enough to stay there like me!!!! luckily i had earplugs to drown out the heavy traffic noise during the night too!! i wouldn't recommend this dump to my enemies dogs enemy!! if i could give it negative stars it would get it's first 5 star rating, negative stars!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MirandaKerrWantsMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Moving to China, I wanted to get some sightseeing in. When seeing all the CCTV commercials for Hangzhou, I decided to go, but as a hotel snob, I wanted to stay at a nice hotel for a good price. I saw the Crown Plaza... but CHECK THE SPELLING because this is not a CROWNE PLAZA... This hotel was ghetto and all I heard was people having sex throughout the night... Kinda says it all about the hotel...

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EddieY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2008

This will the first and would be the last time we stay in this hotel. The experience is terrible and the service is very bad.

The room is very warm and we logged the complaint to the concierge, but no action was taken. We logged the second complaint and the answer we got is: "The weather at night will be chill, thus, our hotel will switch off the air-cond after 12 am". Oh my god, what a good reason???

We hope the hotel will do some improvements on the customer service and the facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Crrny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Xiacheng District
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#17 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huachen International Hotel
#33 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
329 reviews
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#10 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
966 reviews
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
#29 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Plaza

Address: No.88 Tiancheng Road, Jianggan District, Hangzhou 310020, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#141 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range: $47 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Plaza Hangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing