We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Reasonably Okay”
Review of West Lake (Xi Hu)

West Lake (Xi Hu)
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Private Tour: Ultimate Hangzhou Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #1 of 383 things to do in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered one of the most beautiful sights in Hangzhou, this scenic lake is sheltered on three sides by hills, with open flat land to the northeast where downtown Hangzhou is located.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Only Reasonably Okay”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I was a little bit disappointed by my three hours walking along West Lake. I definitely found the best aspect was being amongst all the local people there; of which there were many. The views were pretty good but not fantastic. I enjoyed my time there but felt let down because the place had been oversold to me.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank RCC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,906
    1,908
    433
    45
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Nice Place to visit. I have been there in the Spring festival it was quite cold but really nice Lake and near to Leifeng Pagoda which is very attraction

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monacito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
161 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

It was a vibrant street life, interesting oppor but maybe a little too much. There were many who wanted to be photographed together with us

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ulf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level Contributor
184 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Stroll Through Paradise”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent hours walking around the lake. The photo opportunities are endless. This is the backdrop of the China you have in your head before getting there with the wonderful arched bridges, pagodas and temples in the distance, and more. Did not opt for a bike ride but there were plenty to rent and ride and even tandem bikes available. Be sure to take extra batteries for the camera, a good pair of gloves and hat for the drop in temperature when the sun goes down. Note that the temple closes at 7pm so we missed going in due to stopping for so many photographs.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Spain
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Turned out bright again!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

My hostel organised day tours here and I wanted to go, however the English tour was 4 times price of the Chinese only tour (25 euro compared to 100) so naturally I went for the Chinese one even though I don't speak any mandarin! When I first got on the coach they all looked at me funny! After 3 hour drive we arrived, went on boat trip around west lake which was pretty but over in half hour. Finally we went for lunch and one guy asked if he could practice his English so I agreed, after that he translated everything for me introduced me to others on coach and I had a brilliant day! Was defo worth taking the plunge and doing the Chinese only tour!

Helpful?
1 Thank crasherkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Lake (Xi Hu) also viewed

 
Hangzhou, Zhejiang
 

Been to West Lake (Xi Hu)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing