We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view”

Le Restaurant (Inside Shenanbei Hotel)
Price range: $24 - $49
Cuisines: European, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Le Restaurant offers a quiet and delectable dining experience for the weary traveler. The PizzaThe art of real pizza is truly an experience not to miss. Le restaurant boasts an artisanal wood fired pizza oven. The subtle smoky flavor, melting mozzarella and friends, that’s the definition of an awesome pizza. Come and experience the true Italian pizza.We are closed on Monday's.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is the old Jiang Nan Yi. We ordered 3 dishes, pizza was good (119 rmb), pasta was good with side salad, burger was terrible - looked like a cheese burger from McDonalds. View is nice from the outside decking, service was fine, beers were cold, all in all not a bad restaurant, i would go back, but definitely should not be number 1 in HZ.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank aussieinhangzhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manoj K, Guest Relations Manager at Le Restaurant (Inside Shenanbei Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Aussie,

Thank you for the review. Point noted we will be improving our burgers.

About no. 1 on TA.. All i have to say to that is "it doesnt really matter". Ranking a restaurant is highly subjective and i personally believe TA should do away with ranking for restaurants.

We just serve good food. We make some mistakes but we always try to improve too.

regards,

Manoj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 81 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

we stayed in the hotel for 3 nights and kids ate at the restaurant all three days. the restaurant is more like home. the pizza is the best and is as close to home as it gets. 100 rmb pizza hmm but it was really great. the australian beef steak was fabulous. the chinese manager speaks great english that was very helpful. the procuitto, carpaccio beef steak and pizza is a must try. they also have stinky tofu pizza.. i stayed away from that!!.. on weekends the restaurant gets quite busy with kids running around and making lots of nice. take a table in the wine place its more peaceful. A big thanks to manager for showing us way to the mountains for a great walk.

1  Thank gerome m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

In Europe the chef would be chased off the property for serving this food. In China it barely qualifies as average. In Hangzhou perhaps it's ok at most. That this restaurant is ranked best in Hangzhou is highly confusing and unlucky for visitors hoping for good food.

3  Thank Gwei10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This restaurant was highly recommended by one of my friends, it was okay, but not great.

Despite specialising in Western style food, the food comes out Chinese style, which means dish-by-dish, so one person eating at a time [or can try waiting and eat a cold meal later].
The cutlery was not appropriate for the food, the pizza was not cut properly which made a huge mess and then I had to use the toilets and the lights were out-of-order.

This is not a cheap place, so when I pay 5-star hotel prices, I expect better service. I might go back and try again, but not prepared to recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Qualitycontroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manoj K, Owner at Le Restaurant (Inside Shenanbei Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Quality Controller,

I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at Le Restaurant. To address some of the points mentioned in your review.
Service sequence - Reason - Most of our clientele are Chinese customers. When food is served by course most of our guests wait until all the food has arrived. This has made the staff a little complacent. And ofcourse I have trained them to better cope with these situations. And thereby avoiding future similar complaints. Thank you for bringing it to my notice.

Pizza - I have spoke to the pizza chef to avoid similar situations.

Toilets - I would request you to take that as a one off incident. The lights may have gone out without us noticing it on time.

Do let us know next time you are in hangzhou, maybe we can it up to you. you can mail us at chl@shenanbei.com.cn

Once again I am sorry for your experience.

Thanks and Regards,

Manoj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We went walking to this place from xihutiandi and it was worth it.
Pizzas are incredible tasty (except for the sticky doufu probably...) and big enough for the 99rmb rate average.

They have also 2 kind of pasta and some steaks. Tiramisu is a must but overpriced (as everywhere in china....).

Service was incredible helpful and attentative. Probably the best of the night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SHAKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manoj K, Owner at Le Restaurant (Inside Shenanbei Hotel), responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear SHAkid,

OMG thats an awesome review thanks a ton... I have shared your review with my team..

BTW our Tiramisu is filled with the best Mascarpone... and that delicious thing is not cheap in china.. Sorry..

Hope to see you again soon..

Regards,

Manoj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Restaurant (Inside Shenanbei Hotel) also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing