We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and cheap”

Grandma's Restaurant(Hubin)
Ranked #2 of 2,893 Restaurants in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“great food and cheap”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We cycled to 3 Hubin road where Grandma's is upstairs. Took a number and have to wait in queue. fortunately, did not wait long because the usher could arrange for us to sit with another group, to share a big table.

Prawns, fish and pork were all good. When the bill came, it was very affordable. Will come again to this restaurant if, and if, I return to Hangzhou.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank francis_61jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    111
    32
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Based on the online reviews I saw, this is one of the best restaurants in Hangzhou and it offers great value for the money. It was also recommend by the official tourist guide prepared by the Hangzhou Tourism Committee.

The restaurant is located very close to the West Lake, among a lot of other restaurants. But judging by the line waiting at the entrance, it is the most popular. When I got my waiting number at 5pm, I was informed that there were over 100 “tables” of guests waiting in front of me. If you left your Chinese cell phone number, the restaurant will send a message to your phone shortly before your number will be called.

I walked by the West Lake for over one hour before going back to the restaurant. There were still six table of guests waiting in front of me. They offer free tea, popcorns, and candies to the guests waiting. Eventually I got in and ordered the courses recommended by the tourist guide, the tea flavored chicken, Grandma’s fish balls, Mapo Tofu (hot and spicy tofu), and dissert made with fresh lotus seeds and sticky rice. All courses were very tasty at very reasonable prices. I especially recommend the Tea favored chicken which appears to be the most popular course of the restaurant. It’s juicy and tender and delicious. It’s a little salty to eat alone. So it is better to order a bowl of rice to go with it. The price for Mapo Tofu is only RMB3, which is less than US$0.5! One could continue to get free tea at the restaurant. You need to leave your table to go to the tea barrel to get a bamboo cup and also get the tea yourself. The tea tasted extremely well. One of the stuff told me that it’s called “Sticky Rice Fragrant Tea.” However, according to her, you can’t buy this tea in the market, but could only get it from restaurants. I only spent RMB88 (US$15) for four courses.

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone going to Hangzhou. But you need to be patient with the waiting since everyone likes it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cindy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Food”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This restaurant and all of it's branches pumps with action. Obviously a very popular offering. I enjoyed the food, especially the bamboo shoots and the chilli shrimp. I enjoyed the cleanliness and the food was fresh as the day it was harvested.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Faithfulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Food and Cheapppppp!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great Hangzhou institution! Food is good, service suffers due to the continuous throngs of patrons and ambiance is pleasant. Try the the pork-belly (Dong Po Rou)...it was exquisite. Avoid this location if possible (there are 20 others) as it gets really crowded and you can expect to wait anywhere from 20 min to an hour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Packed!!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We arrived in the afternoon for an early dinner to avoid the crowds. No matter what time you get here the place is packed!!! We shared a large table with a bunch of strangers. The food was great and the restaurant was recommended by everyone in town.

Great food, great prices but as you can guess due to being permanently busy the service was a little rushed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 202164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandma's Restaurant(Hubin) also viewed

 

Been to Grandma's Restaurant(Hubin)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing