We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect lake view, great food and overall value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
Ranked #27 of 2,366 Hotels in Hangzhou
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect lake view, great food and overall value for money!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on business for 2 nights in early March, 2013. When I arrived I was amazed by the service and helpful attitude of the multi-lingual staff. I was upgraded to the top floor with access to the executive lounge as it wasn't that full.
The executive Lounge had free WiFi, breakfast and dinner reception with drinks so this make the $280+ a night cost well worth it. This hotel is historic and dates back to Russian-Chinese post WW2 consulate era. Close to the lake for walks and.close enough to.the.city for business. I highly recommend this hotel when staying in Hangzhou and the only bad part was the taxi queue as I always had to wait 10-15 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angusboy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    316
    125
    46
    21
See reviews for
94
84
25
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Location's perfect.
but the room's too old.
A lot of choices nearby better than this one.
However ,really like the balcony and the rooftop of the restraunt.
And ,they miss my member stay twice.
I heard that they are good at Goverment Relationship.A lot of conferences held here.So they do not care much about their service.

Room Tip: choose the East Building,there's the new room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hbblessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed here in Jan 2013 for 2 nights. At check in the two clerks offered an upgrade to a lakeview room at extra cost. I declined. So then they 'gave' me a free upgrade to said room. D'Oh! They obviously had no other room and had tried me on for an upgrade fee! The room in the annex wing was huge. But essentially unused space that just made it a treck to get from bed to bathroom. And the TV was probably about a 32 inch. From the bed it looked like the size of an iPad, being about 10 meters in the distance! Bit tatty around the edges. eg the bathroom mirror had rust and the chrome lifting off. Bed was comfy. I suspect the view of the lake is very nice, but with fog on both mornings, hard to tell! I grabbed a pizza from the mezzanine restaurant; not bad. The gym is small, but reasonably equipped. At a stretch this is a 4 star hotel; probably a 3.5. They should charge accordingly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cowombat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiping, Malaysia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Located in a great spot BUT there are other hotels that also have excellent choices around the lake and if you only plan to walk (taxi's are close to impossible).

The breakfast was of limited choices and staff were not helpful as it seemed that not having breakfast in house and getting takeway was an alien concept. In other shangri-la's this wasn't a problem as they understood that business guests at times needed a coffee/tea + sandwich to go in the mornings.

the hotel is dated, staff are not friendly (checkin/reception/breakfast) and it's the only Shangri-la that I've written into complain about the terrible service/staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacGyver-SG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Maybe the hotel is a bit old as it is one of the oldest 5 stars hotel in Hangzhou, so the rooms arent fancy enough, but if you consider the price and location - nearby the west lake, it is the perfect hotel for your short stay in Hangzhou.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank katya k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent: close to the West Lake and some famous spots. I really enjoyed the food there, it was not so expensive compared to the room rate. We lived in a villa and it was incredibly quiet and secret.

However, the hotel was a little bit old - as written by most of the reviewers. This was very 90's China style, but they should have make some changes so the room would at least appear to be worthy of the expensive rate.

Room Tip: Rooms in Villa is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Because the public transportation is not very convinient in Hangzhou, it's lucky that I chose to stay here. Easy to access most of the famous attractions in Hangzhou. I went there in November, the weather was nice. Hotel room is a bit old though, with funny smell in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAILIN1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
1.6 mi away
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#15 of 2,366 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#7 of 2,366 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake
1.6 mi away
Midtown Shangri-La,Hangzhou
Midtown Shangri-La,Hangzhou
#21 of 2,366 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.3 mi away
West Lake State Guesthouse
West Lake State Guesthouse
#60 of 2,366 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou

Property: Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
Address: No.78 Beishan Road, Xihu Distric, Hangzhou 310007, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#47 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hangzhou
Hangzhou Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing