We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Haihua Hotel Hangzhou
Ranked #70 of 2,428 Hotels in Hangzhou
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel has grown old since we've been here about 6 years ago. It is not a bad hotel, but it is not very good either. Take a room with a lakeview, we had a room on the other site which had a view at an indoor courtyard. We didn't get any fresh air, which was no fun because the airco created a very dry atmosphere.
The restaurant is not very good. We didn't have breakfast because, despite of what we expected, it wasn't included and compared to the roomprices, very expensive. We tried the buffet once at dinnertime, that wasn't very good, we didn't like trying the a la carte-menu.
This all sounds bad, but it is not a bad hotel, just not very good.

Room Tip: Take one with lakeview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzannevS-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 296 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is a disgrace to the Ramada chain. This dated hotel has staff that do absolutely nothing when it has guests smoking on a non-smoking floor. Instead of dealing with the issue they suggested moving us to a different room when it was already 11pm at night. Terribly dissappointed...thanks Ramada for ruining my wife's Christmas gift.

Room Tip: Don't book there unless you're a chain smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Hotel is old and outdated. Room was dirty. Bed was Hard. Staff did not speak any english. Foods that should have been hot were cold and food that should have been cold were hot. The hotel is not located in a good part of town. Stay some place else. There are better hotel in Hangzhou.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

A one time opulent hotel that is now looking rather worse for wear. Room was executive king non-smoking, tiny room by modern standards, poor sound proofing could hear traffic all of the time (China never sleeps outside this hotel). All looking rather dated and walking through corridors is smokey, due to smoking rooms on same level as non-smoking which baffled me. Everywhere smells of stale cigarettes.
Plus side is nice choice of breakfast and places to eat. Very overpriced in my opinion as you can walk outside and eat for half price in similar surroundings.
As usual any imported beers are shockingly overpriced, but then again a coffee was expensive as well.
I got a lakeview room, I'll try and upload photo - yeah you can see the lake...just behind that huge building and that huge building and if you squint.

Room Tip: Goodluck - I don't think there are any as all sides have very busy roads on them and traffic is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkWorldlywise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

A business hotel which also caters to tour groups, it is located near West Lake, a park with jogging trail (map provided in room) and shops/restaurants nearby but the smell of cigarette smoke permeated the lobby, halls and rooms. My non-smoking room #361 came with smokey smell, ash trays and matches so I switched to non-smoking room #691. It smelled fresher but at the end of the hallway was a cigar smoking lounge for hotel guests. Fortunately, while the hallway reeked of smoke my room was okay. Two bottles of water per person per day were supplied by the hotel for drinking and brushing teeth because the tap water was not considered potable. The extensive buffet breakfast had both Western and Chinese selections as did the evening buffet dinner which was excellent – much better than expected ‘hotel food’ and far superior to what we were served at many touristy restaurants throughout this tour of China. My room air conditioning shut off after midnight in what is probably hotel money-saving policy. At 2:00 AM a group of overly-refreshed men, yelling to each other because all drunks must be deaf, returned to their rooms on the 6th floor. After about five minutes all was quiet. If you are a non-smoker, check out your room at the Ramada Plaza before settling in. If you are a smoker, rejoice you are among friends.

Room Tip: If your room smells of smoke, ask for a different one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xygb7dklt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Definitely a shabby old hotel that has seen it's time come and gone. It's tired and although fairly tidy, it just doesn't seem like the Ramada has been steam cleaning carpet and disinfecting the place. The hallways and rooms are all dimly lit with dark carpeting so the hotel doesn't convey a sense of fresh and bright. I came away from my two day stay with four bug bites (fleas?) on my feet that definitely came from the bedroom.

Stay here only if you are in town for a short amount of time and want to be near West Lake. I stayed in a room on the fourth floor that faced the main street, Qingchun Road. It was definitely noisy but I wore earplugs and that took care of the sounds.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimSamSoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The staff at the hotel were friendly and you notice this the moment you arrive at the hotel. Absolutely every staff I encountered at this hotel was warm, friendly and professional. I had such an enjoyable stay here and would definitely recommend it. The other benefit is that it is a walking distance to West Lake. You can book tickets to the West Lake show here and they don’t charge a booking fee!

I have a halal diet and there seemed to be no restaurants serving only fish or vegetarian dishes nearby so I returned and ate at the Malaysian restaurant at the hotel. They went out of their way to accommodate my diet at the restaurant and the food was lovely.

There are limited taxis in the evening so if you stay to watch the West Lake show the hotel recommended I walk back via Bai road, which takes about an hour to get back to the hotel. This was a really pleasant, scenic walk and I’m glad I took their recommendation and did that. It is especially nice if you are a couple as it is a romantic location for a walk.

Other points, there is a tourist bus stop around the corner from the Hotel, and if you are not on a special diet then there are many restaurants nearby, although I found the hotel restarurants were good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank humaira123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Xiacheng District
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
Zhejiang Business Hotel
#83 of 2,428 in Hangzhou
140 reviews
Huachen International Hotel
#36 of 2,428 in Hangzhou
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chaptel Hangzhou
#42 of 2,428 in Hangzhou
42 reviews
Hangzhou Overseas Chinese Hotel
#250 of 2,428 in Hangzhou
84 reviews
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#17 of 2,428 in Hangzhou
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haihua Hotel Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haihua Hotel Hangzhou

Address: No.298 Qingchun Road, Hangzhou 310006, China (Formerly Ramada Plaza Haihua Hangzhou)
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou > Xihu Resort , Downtown , Xiacheng District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range: $74 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Haihua Hotel Hangzhou 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Plaza Hangzhou Haihua is a four star international hotel overlooking the north eastern shore of the famous West Lake adjacent to the city's commercial center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Haihua Hotel Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Hangzhou Hotel Hangzhou
Ramada Hangzhou
Hangzhou Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing