We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Haihua Hotel Hangzhou
Ranked #70 of 2,366 Hotels in Hangzhou
Bologna
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good hotel”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

nice hotel with a very good restaurant. they serve also fresh food cooked at the moment. the hotel is placed very near the famous lake and in a very good position to visit the town and shopping area. room standard, good enough but nothing special. the hotel has a good bar service and very nice waiters.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dschubba13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    133
    71
    17
    13
See reviews for
35
65
14
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Level Contributor
122 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

An OK type hotel with facilities and hotel staff better than many 4 star western hotels.

Location is on a busy road but noise was not a problem and nearby lake with musical water jets was a great attraction

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfrescodave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwaz, Austria
Level Contributor
108 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel is a former top model now well into middle age. Guest rooms and bathrooms are smaller in size and though fairly well maintained show signs of age. There are great views on the top executive floor out over the city and the lake, but most rooms offer city/street views - including overlooking the nearby construction site of a new hotel. Nights were however very quiet. Found the hotel staff generally spoke some English and were friendly and helpful. Meals at the western restaurant were well prepared and presented.

In all, if you can get a good rate and secure a non smoking room on an upper floor, this is a good value place to stay. As others have noted it appeared some floors and/or rooms were not truly non smoking, but in some cloudy area in between.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhileasFoggII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at the start of July, when it was very hot (40C and sunny each day). Generally, our stay went well, apart from 3 incidents - check-in, inappropriate behaviour by some hotel staff, massage services offered by the hotel.

First the good things about the hotel...

The hotel is very close to West Lake. You cross the main road and walk about 2 minutes and you're at the lake. From there, it is only a short walk of about 5 - 10 minutes around the lake to the dancing fountain (directly in front of the Hyatt).

We stayed in superior rooms (not facing the lake, which we were told would cost more). Even so, the rooms were spacious, clean and cool (very important in 40C weather!). We could actually see the lake from one side of our window, which was nice.

Buffet breakfast was varied - both western and eastern dishes offered. Quality of the food was generally ok except for the non-hash brown mornings (potatoes offered in some form each morning - avoid the mash at all costs!) Bread-and-butter pudding was on the breakfast menu (unusual in any country) but if you like baked custard then definitely give it a go - it was very good. Coffee was good too. Staff serving breakfast were polite and helpful. Note: although our booking said breakfast was not included in the price (ie. we would have to pay extra), they did not charge us the extra, which was a nice surprise. I'm not sure why this happened - we did have a booking as 'seniors' (I travelled with older relatives) and my relatives said that when there is a senior booking, breakfast is automatically included - not sure how true this is though!

We booked train tickets to Nanjing through the hotel - this was convenient, minimum fees charged by the hotel and the booking was accurate.

Now the bad things...

Check-in did not go smoothly. We had booked directly through Wyndham hotels back in February and requested non-smoking rooms. On check-in, we also reiterated we wanted non-smoking rooms, which we were assured we would be getting. However, after being taken up to our rooms, we realised we had been put in a smoking room, as the room smelled faintly of cigarette smoke and there were ashtrays and matches in the bedroom and bathroom. I went back down to reception and spoke to a different staff member and was told that the room had been 'treated' for smoking. After insisting we wanted non-smoking rooms, we were told we could be moved the next day, as there were no non-smoking rooms available. Although we were moved to a non-smoking room the next day, we would have preferred to have been told of this situation upfront instead of the hotel staff pretending they were putting us in a non-smoking room when this wasn't the case.

Staff generally were friendly and helpful, however, possibly there needs to be more consistent staff training, e.g. one of the bellboys kept following us around when we went to the reception desk and even to the private office (where we booked and paid for the train tickets) - I think partly because he wanted to see what was happening (curiosity) but also in case he could offer us the services of his friend who drove a private car (he had already told us about this when he took our luggage to our rooms the first day). Staff need to be told that it is inappropriate to follow guests around (particularly when they are taken to private offices) in the hopes of offering them non-hotel services.

The hotel also has a massage service in the basement. During our trip, we thought we would get a foot massage as we were doing a lot of walking. While the massage was quite good, the behaviour of the masseuses was not. After our massage, the masseuses told us we had to tip them and that we should tip them CNY 50 (the massage cost CNY 129). We had already decided we were going to tip (tipping is not compulsory by any means in China) but not almost 50% of the massage price. When they realised this, they became sulky and after taking the money, just left us in the room without showing us out. I was later told that the massage services were probably provided by a separate entity from the hotel (the hotel just rents them the space), but the massage services are advertised by the hotel in both the lobby and information folder in hotel rooms, so give the appearance of being part of the hotel's services.

Compared to the more expensive hotels, Ramada Plaza was comfortable, clean, in a good location and the rooms were furnished nicely. Just make sure you are given the room you booked when you check-in and avoid the massage services.

Room Tip: If you want non-smoking, make sure you are given non-smoking (look out for ashtrays in the room).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed in the lakeview executive floor room which we found to be a little small and cramped with all the furniture and a king size bed. The room was clean and comfortable with all the facilities expected in a 4 star hotel room.
The executive floor rooms offer use of a private lounge area with drinks and snacks available all day and for 3 hours in the evening beer, wine and free pour spirits for the guest use. The selection of snacks, especially the hot food selection, could be improved and well below the standard of other executive lounges we have used.
The location is very good being a few minute walk to West Lake and close to the city centre. Many food options available.
Breakfast was extensive, fresh and refilled regularly. It was well serviced.
We found all staff to be helpful and if you asked they would find an english speaking staff member to help you.
Overall, we felt that the hotel offered good accomodation and facilities at a good price for the location but remember this is a 4 star hotel not a 5 star. We would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daleBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

Good location, terrible service. Staff we're unhelpful and disinterested.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brits_in_Shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hangzhou hotels

san diego
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Our room was booked by our tour group. The rooms were so bad the next morning the tour group cancelled their contract with the hotel. There was mold around our sink and bathtub. The carpet was filthy. Not only was it stained and frayed but actually looked liked it hadn't been vacuumed in weeks. The wallpaper was coming off the walls. The beds were hard and the sanitary conditions at breakfast were not the best. I would say 90% of our group of 30 had bad rooms and 10% didn't. Not sure what is going on here. It seems to have declined very fast according to our tour operator.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#15 of 2,366 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Chaptel Hangzhou
#37 of 2,366 in Hangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Xihu Resort
Dahua Hotel
Dahua Hotel
#55 of 2,366 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown Shangri-La,Hangzhou
#21 of 2,366 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#7 of 2,366 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haihua Hotel Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haihua Hotel Hangzhou

Property: Haihua Hotel Hangzhou
Address: No.298 Qingchun Road, Hangzhou 310006, China (Formerly Ramada Plaza Haihua Hangzhou)
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou > Xihu Resort , Downtown , Xiacheng District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Haihua Hotel Hangzhou 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Plaza Hangzhou Haihua is a four star international hotel overlooking the north eastern shore of the famous West Lake adjacent to the city's commercial center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Haihua Hotel Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Hangzhou Hotel Hangzhou
Ramada Hangzhou
Hangzhou Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing