We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Friendship Hotel Hangzhou
Ranked #60 of 2,497 Hotels in Hangzhou
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Breakfast was better than i hope but all other things was average. It is my first time in china staff were helpful but difficult to understand each other. Very close to west lake which was beautiful, i like it so much, i walk there every morning.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bennystar131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 234 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights as a foreigner who speak almost no mandarin, it was a difficulty getting english communication in this hotel as most staff are not proficient in english. They are very friendly and try to help but I have to wait many a time for them to get someone who can converse in english to help.

As for the room we stay in the Lake view executive room which is of similar size to NA hotel rooms. But the air-condition or ventilation system was not working and imagine I have open the two side windows to cool the room and get the circulation going. As for the view, well the lake can only be view at a certain angle (25deg) rather than in from my room. Then the room itself with its toilet and bathroom has its layout such that we feel the washroom/showerstall is right in the bedroom.

Breakfast as I will agree to most tripadviser folks at the 20th floor is great and has lots of variety.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank E-TravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2010

The location is excellent within walking distance of the West Lake and many restaurants. Ongoing renovation in the hotel from 8.30am to 5pm so there is constant loud drilling and knocking sounds especially on the lower floors. Breakfast on the 20th Floor is comprehensive and gives 360 degree view of Hangzhou with panaromic view of the West Lake. Rooms are clean. The onsite tour agency booked train tickets for a RMB5 handling fee pe ticket. Hotel is highly recommended,

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Friendship88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

Stayed here two nights over the weekend transitioning between business meetings in other cities. It was good enough. I got the cheapest room so I can't complain about much. The sink in the bathroom leaked out of the bottom and onto the floor but other than that I enjoyed my small room.
Make sure you ask for a non smoking floor.

Breakfast on the 20th floor in the restaurant was good. Best I've had in 2 weeks in China I'd say. And the location was great. Easy walk to the lake and tons of restaurants/bars.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
Thank getlostonpurpose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

This is a very pleasant hotel a short walk from the West Lake. Our party of four had a deluxe room and a standard room, and both types were clean and comfortable. The deluxe seemed a bit larger and had a more "modern" decor and fittings (flat screen TV, glass bathroom) but in fact we preferred the standard room. The bathrooms were very small but otherwise good. A mobile phone was provided at no cost for guests to use during their stay. We really enjoyed the excellent breakfast in the 20th floor revolving restaurant.
One thing that set this hotel apart was that all the staff we encountered were exceptionally friendly and helpful - in our experience the hotel really lived up to its name.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirkw00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Well this hotel is a short stroll from the West Lake and there are many restaurants around. It is also a three minute walk from the night market, so all-in-all you can't go wrong. Not the cheapest hotel around but much fancier than I thought it would be for the price. If you can get a rate that includes a buffet breakfast, go for it - one of the most amazing buffets I have ever seen with a stupendous location in the revolving restaurant with sweeping views of the West lake.

The rooms themselves were fairly small but perfectly adequate and the staff were as helpful as they could manage - there are some staff with more English than others, but we always managed to get what we needed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

The Friendship Hotel has an excellent location in a nice area just a short walk from West Lake in Hangzhou. It offered a reasonably priced alternative to the expensive hotels located by the lake. The hotel was very comfortable with all the services one would expect from a top-quality hotel. Our room was beautifully decorated and had a nice view of the city. When we returned from dinner on the evening of the Moon Festival, we found fruit and Moon Cakes had been placed in our room. Our rate included breakfast in the 20th floor revolving restaurant, and I think it was the best breakfast buffet we have found in our travels in China. It was an exceptionally large buffet with many delicious oriental and western choices. The staff of the hotel were friendly and most spoke good English. We were especially impressed by the language skills of some of the porters and concierge staff. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlwaysForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Huachen International Hotel
#29 of 2,497 in Hangzhou
336 reviews
Merchant Marco Hotel
#47 of 2,497 in Hangzhou
257 reviews
Grand Metropark Hotel Hangzhou
#43 of 2,497 in Hangzhou
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#18 of 2,497 in Hangzhou
644 reviews
Xihu Resort
Haihua Hotel Hangzhou
Haihua Hotel Hangzhou
#66 of 2,497 in Hangzhou
300 reviews
Holiday Inn Xiaoshan Hangzhou
#56 of 2,497 in Hangzhou
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendship Hotel Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendship Hotel Hangzhou

Address: No.53 Pinghai Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310006, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
#56 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range: $63 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Friendship Hotel Hangzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendship Hotel Hangzhou is a four-star Zhejiang, China hotel that offers plush accommodation and business and leisure facilities. Its convenient location near the Hangzhou's central business district is an advantage to traveling executives. This Shenzhen hotel also boasts an extensive roster of banquet halls and meeting rooms ideal for various events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Friendship Hotel Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hangzhou Friendship Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing