We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel, Very Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Friendship Hotel Hangzhou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Friendship Hotel Hangzhou
Ranked #43 of 2,334 Hotels in Hangzhou
australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Very Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

This is a very pleasant hotel a short walk from the West Lake. Our party of four had a deluxe room and a standard room, and both types were clean and comfortable. The deluxe seemed a bit larger and had a more "modern" decor and fittings (flat screen TV, glass bathroom) but in fact we preferred the standard room. The bathrooms were very small but otherwise good. A mobile phone was provided at no cost for guests to use during their stay. We really enjoyed the excellent breakfast in the 20th floor revolving restaurant.
One thing that set this hotel apart was that all the staff we encountered were exceptionally friendly and helpful - in our experience the hotel really lived up to its name.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirkw00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    119
    30
    8
    6
See reviews for
21
27
17
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yackandandah
Level Contributor
105 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

Well this hotel is a short stroll from the West Lake and there are many restaurants around. It is also a three minute walk from the night market, so all-in-all you can't go wrong. Not the cheapest hotel around but much fancier than I thought it would be for the price. If you can get a rate that includes a buffet breakfast, go for it - one of the most amazing buffets I have ever seen with a stupendous location in the revolving restaurant with sweeping views of the West lake.

The rooms themselves were fairly small but perfectly adequate and the staff were as helpful as they could manage - there are some staff with more English than others, but we always managed to get what we needed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guykb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, Usa
Level Contributor
211 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

The Friendship Hotel has an excellent location in a nice area just a short walk from West Lake in Hangzhou. It offered a reasonably priced alternative to the expensive hotels located by the lake. The hotel was very comfortable with all the services one would expect from a top-quality hotel. Our room was beautifully decorated and had a nice view of the city. When we returned from dinner on the evening of the Moon Festival, we found fruit and Moon Cakes had been placed in our room. Our rate included breakfast in the 20th floor revolving restaurant, and I think it was the best breakfast buffet we have found in our travels in China. It was an exceptionally large buffet with many delicious oriental and western choices. The staff of the hotel were friendly and most spoke good English. We were especially impressed by the language skills of some of the porters and concierge staff. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

We (two Canadian couples) stayed at the Friendship Hotel for five nights. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the location of the hotel was great - only a short walk to the West Lake, with a number of restaurants and shops close by. The hotel provides some nice touches - greeters at the door, a piano player in the lobby in the evenings, a flower on the pillow at night, towels replaced twice daily.

However, what sets the Friendship Hotel apart is the high standard of service provided by the staff, who were all friendly, polite and eager to help. In particular, Monika Prendke, the assistant manager, went out of her way to ensure that our stay was a pleasant experience. We had rented a van through the hotel to take us from Shanghai to Hangzhou, and Monika was there to meet us when we arrived at the Friendship Hotel. She dealt professionally and quickly with a small mixup with our reservations, and then offered us tea and coffee and sat with us for about forty-five minutes to provide us with information about Hangzhou's sites, restaurant recommendations and other tips. Later, she gave us instructions in English and Chinese on how to get to the places we wished to see. I cannot recall another hotel ever offering us such individualized attention. As a result, we had an excellent time in Hangzhou and would without hesitation recommend the Friendship Hotel.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MKW57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

We (family of 2 adults, one 15 y/o daughter) spent 2 nights at The Friendship Hotel. We got 2 Lakeview queen rooms on the 14th floor. We got an unobstructed view of the West Lake. It was worth 3 times the money we paid (we got an excellent deal through travelchinaguide website). On top of that we got free breakfast (all you can eat) for 2 people. The food and service were excellent, far better than any other hotels we have been to.

The rooms were new, clean and modern. They provided everything free, from the toothbrushes, razor, comb to the thread and needle. The air-con was also very good. We took a short walk, 7 minutes, 800m, to the lake side from the hotel. We walked around the lake, paid RMB45 for a return ticket to the three pool island. The day was hot, 32 C, but the trip was good. We took a plenty of photos.

We had dinner at the Japanese restaurant next to the lake (all you can eat and drink for RMB168 per person), we also had dinner at the Grandma restaurant paying RMB150 for 4 people the next night. At 8pm we were at the 30 minute water show (synchronized Chinese music, water sprays and lights) at the lake side (Ping Hai street). Then we walked back to the hotel (just 7 minutes again).

The hotel also booked our train ticket to Shanghai, called the taxi, exchange to RMB from USD at a better rate than at the Hangzhou airport. At Hangzhou you cannot find people who can speak English, but we found many at the Friendship hotel.

I will stay at the Friendship hotel again next time we visit the city.

My tip: if you want to go somewhere, please ask the receptionist to write that in Chinese, so that you can show it to the taxi driver. Please be aware that 99.9% of chinese in Hangzhou do not speak English.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tuanhai5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

It is one of the finest 4 star hotels that we have stayed in. We had fine service especially from an English speaking staff person at the Concierge's desk - Monika Prendke who was not only friendly but super helpful in guiding us to the best places in the Hangzhou given that we were there for a very short visit. Her recommendations were bang on target. We had wanted a hotel with at least a few English speaking staff and this certainly suited that criterion.

Other than Every staff person there provided service with a smile and were very welcoming - this has not been a common experience for us when travelling in China.

As with other hotels in China, the bed was hard and not very comfortable though the rest of the bedding was very good quality.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samaan05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

The Friendship Hotel is nicely located on the east side of West Lake, an easy walk to some of the main viewing vantage points. The 20th floor restaurant was closed for renovation, a disappointment (will open later this summer, but if that is important to you, you may want to check the opening date). The breakfast buffet, moved to the second floor, had a wide variety of choices for many tastes. While there is an office of the Hangzhou Tourist agency in the hotel, the staff does not speak English, but the hotel staff will accompany you to help with requests, and the service fee for them to obtain train and cultural event tickets was incredibly modest. An Asst. Manager was very helpful in providing information on things going on, and suggested a restaurant, "The Grandma's," that was definitely worth a visit. Hangzhou suffers from lack of a subway system and it can be incredibly difficult to get a taxi (unless you want one from the hotel); if your agenda for the day is set, make sure you ask about buses--I had a two hour plus walk back to the hotel in the rain when I ended up at rush hour on the other side of the lake (the little people-movers go around the lake in one-direction only, no return trip, and you have to pay separately for different sections). West Lake is beautiful, but don't expect good views in the summer--the haze from the humidity and pollution presents limited visibility, though it clears a bit at night, when the lights around the lake provide a lovely experience--see "Impressions West Lake' if it is on. This is a four-star hotel and the service is up to the standard. My room was large and clean, and when someone came in for the turn down while I was out, they also refreshed the bathroom. There is a potable water spout in the bathroom sink, so they do not provide complimentary bottled water. One dinner at the hotel restaurant was also tasty and not over-priced. The Business Center staff was pretty clueless, but I finally got what I needed there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobEA96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Huachen International Hotel
#41 of 2,334 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Merchant Marco Hotel
#34 of 2,334 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
West Lake Golden Plaza Hotel
#66 of 2,334 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#11 of 2,334 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Xihu Resort
Haihua Hotel Hangzhou
Haihua Hotel Hangzhou
#54 of 2,334 in Hangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Xihu Resort
Dahua Hotel
Dahua Hotel
#58 of 2,334 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendship Hotel Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendship Hotel Hangzhou

Property: Friendship Hotel Hangzhou
Address: No.53 Pinghai Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310006, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
#40 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Friendship Hotel Hangzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendship Hotel Hangzhou is a four-star Zhejiang, China hotel that offers plush accommodation and business and leisure facilities. Its convenient location near the Hangzhou's central business district is an advantage to traveling executives. This Shenzhen hotel also boasts an extensive roster of banquet halls and meeting rooms ideal for various events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Friendship Hotel Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hangzhou Friendship Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing