We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice People/Great Tapas, etc.”
Review of LA PEDRERA - CLOSED

LA PEDRERA
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Nice People/Great Tapas, etc.”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Food was excellent. Owner trained in Barcelona and the chef is Spanish. They know Tapas and other great Spanish food. Estrella beer is also very good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WalkswithNoCares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEDRERAHANGZHOU, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at LA PEDRERA, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thanks!!
Actually the owner is chinese but she lived in Barcelona for 20 years... I think she speak spanish better than me! haha
The thing is we all love the spanish culture and food and is really nice to know customers appreciate that.
Thanks for comming and see you the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    28
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Average kitchen. Many items not available. No coffee.”
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

We went to this place because of the comments here. Nice chef. The menu was new, but many things not available.
The paella was nice. There was no coffee available.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Seat_0A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEDRERAHANGZHOU, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at LA PEDRERA, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
First of all thanks for your comment.
We are very sorry about the items that you ordered and we didn´t have...
I remember you! That was the first week of the winter menu and we had some problems with the supliers... Our chef is always taking care about the fresh and delicious food but sometimes is really hard to find in China... We have season food, an we already change the menu 4 times in two years....
We hope to see you again and have another chance to surprise you!
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Spanish food I have ever had”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I travel internationally for business. Often times that requires travel to Hangzhou China. I would have never thought such an amazing restaurant would be located in this city, but it is. I visit Hangzhou a few times a year, and must say this is the best restaurant in the entire city for Spanish food.

I can also say that the food is very traditional, and something that should be a must for anyone who enjoys Spanish food while in the city.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PH22779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEDRERAHANGZHOU, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at LA PEDRERA, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thanks!!!

Our chef Ezequiel remembers you and he said next time he will make the best baby pork for you =)
It's a pleasure to meet people like you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“¡Muy bien!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Ever since i had the privilege to spend a year in nothern Portugal and Galicia, spanish (and portuguese!) food are a favorite cuisine of mine.
The food in La Pedrera comes very close already to the food i enjoyed so much back in those days.

Given this place is in a chinese "second-tier" city like Hangzhou, one must say they do a very good job.
i wouldn't ever underestimate how difficult it must be to source the raw materials in a place like Hangzhou to prepare good tapas and other classics of spanish cuisine and to have those available freshly all year round - so the level of difficulty for the owners/chefs (who looked very much like they indeed come from spain) must be very high.

We had several tapas, like chistorra sausage, marinated octopus, croquetas jamon - all of them authentic and quite tasty. I must also say this is probably one of the best places just to go have a drink in Hangzhou - the wine and drinks like Mojitos are excellent.

The service was excellent too. We did come for (late) lunch though so we were almost the only guests in La Pedrera at that time and got everything served to our table quickly. temperature of wine and drinks just right !

One more thing: The atmosphere in La Pedrera is very cozy - in fact i would move in if they had rooms to let. The place is small, maybe only around 10-15 tables max. and the deco is no-nonsense, simple and pleasent.

Value: going out to La Pedrera can be anything from maybe 100-150 RMB/person to very expensive, depending on which dishes you order. All in all the prices are fair - for ex. this place is a welcome exception, not overcharging on drinks - a can of coke if you like to order one is 10 RMB if i remembered correctly; a glass of their house white is 45-60 RMB drinks anywhere between 30-60 RMB.

Its great to have a restaurant like this in Hangzhou - ¡Muy bien!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Christian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEDRERAHANGZHOU, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at LA PEDRERA, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Hello Christian!

You don't know how much we appreciate your comment! Its the best reward after so much effort.
Thanks for coming! We hope to see you soon to thank you personally and enjoy more mojitos! =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I go to Hangzhou every once in a while for business trip. I must say, this is by far the best place there. The food is amazing. The cocktails are great. You should try their gin tonic. It comes with roses and slices of cucumbers in it. It's definitely the best gin tonic i've tried in my life. The chefs are all from Argentina and Spain. So basically it's the only place I know in Hangzhou where you can get a really good food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Alessandro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEDRERAHANGZHOU, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at LA PEDRERA, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thanks Alessandro!

Our chef Eze is a Gin lover and he will really happy to read your comment...

Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LA PEDRERA also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing