We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise birthday cake!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
Ranked #5 of 2,446 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Received a birthday cake from the hotel - great surprise!

Check in was fast. Room was moderate in size, very clean. Executive Lounge manager, Alice, was attentive. She even remembered our preferred coffee on our 2nd visit at the Executive Lounge.

Location was good. Eateries and convenient stores are nearby, within walking distance.

Only complaint was the service at Momo Cafe. Bit chaotic and they wanted to charge for breakfast for our 2 children even though we kept telling them we have booked room with Club Lounge access which entitle us for breakfast for 2 adults & 2 children. Anyway Alice clarified for us when checking out.

Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 280 of 787 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

Hotel shares same location as JW Marriott, not far from the West Lake and a few minutes' walk from the city centre. You won't be stuck in the middle of the tourists' jam, and yet it is so convenient to go anywhere in the city from the location. Nice, cozy, spotlessly clean and new room. Really comfortable bed with good support. Exceeds expectations for a Courtyard.
Shower space was huge. Only criticism were the amenities, which are the hotel's own and barely enough for one person's use. However my wife found the lotion to be of good quality.
Service was highly efficient. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Corridors are fairly long so you may want to ask for a room closer to the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCR18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Having stayed a few times at the JW Marriott next door (same building, different tower) I decided it was time to try the cheaper brother. Checkin was a bit slow, I should have gone up to the Executive Lounge. Anyway, they gave me a little gift to apologize and I told them I was in no rush, so really not a concern. Had a standard room. Very comfortable. Glass wall to bathroom gives illusion of being bigger. Separate shower is huge, I like that. Club Lounge is fine with similar services to JW next door. The saving of about 500 RMB is seen in slightly smaller room, lower grade shampoo/soap, no vermouth in the lounge for my martini. Nothing that bothers me; well, maybe the lack of vermouth! Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cowombat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed at the Executive Room at the Courtyard by Marriott Hangzhou Wulin based on TA user reviews. First, I would like to say that nowhere throughout my stay (no welcome letter in the room, no information in the hotel guides in the room, no notification by any of the check-in staff) did I see anything related to use of the Executive Lounge, the opening hours, timings of the cocktails and snacks etc. It was as if they didn't want you to know. We were armed with TA knowledge, so at least we know something beforehand, and for the rest of the privileges, we had to ask the staff at the Executive Lounge what was being served at what time. Not something I'd expect.

The second issue (a major, major gripe) we had relates to getting of taxis. At 3PM on the first day (2nd November) we tried hailing a taxi to the Lingyin Temple and the doorman at the JW Marriott tried getting us a taxi. However, we stood there for 45 minutes and no taxis will take us. JW Marriott staff told us it was change of shifts for the taxi drivers from 3-5PM, but it was an excuse for their ineptness. The real reason is that the taxis coming to the hotel want passengers going a longer distance (like the airport). We gave up and went to the lounge.

The following morning (3rd November) at 9AM, we checked-out of the hotel and tried again to hail a taxi to Lingyin Temple, only this time the JW's doorman told us that there is a marathon around the Westlake area in the morning, and the roads are closed and there are traffic controls so no taxis can get through the Lingyin and FeiLaiFeng scenic area, they said it will be the afternoon till the roads are re-opened. This is ridiculous now! You have such a big event in the city of Hangzhou and the hotel doesn't bother to inform any of the guests to plan in advance? No notification letters, no advanced warning, nothing? Do all the guests coming to Courtyard / JW are for business reasons only - and none of them go to Westlake or the attractions? We were not the only guests griping. There was another Chinese man staying at the JW who was complaining loudly about the JW's staff inability to find a taxis.

We speak Chinese so we are lucky - we discovered the true situation in Hangzhou after a Hangzhou native taxi driver picked us up to Westlake. Most taxi drivers in Hangzhou are non-natives, mostly migrants from poorer neighbouring provinces who are not so culturally-refined. The incomes from driving a taxi are not high enough to attract the Hangzhou natives to drive taxis. He taught us a trick that the JW Marriott doormen don't dare to do - get onto the taxi first and announce your destination later. Or tell the taxi driver you need to get to the airport but need to stop somewhere first... you get the idea. After cycling around Westlake for a while, we eventually hailed a taxi to Lingyin Temple at 10.30AM, the marathon was over and the roads are re-opened again.

For a hotel priced in the mid-upper tier - the taxi situation is enough for me to give 2 stars, this is a major failing for a hotel like JW Marriott. You can have better hotel choices within walking distance to the West Lake and its surrounding attractions, with better services. If you cannot get a taxi from Westlake to the hotel or vice versa, at least you can walk (which is not the case for JW/Courtyard). I seriously recommend you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank enchanted b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stay five nights on my business trip. Rate is reasonable, and location is also nice. It's easy to get to many places of interested. Service cannot be better, including daily refreshments, luggage handling, etc.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

for staying on points it is a great deal as only need 10000 points
otherwise not really nice to stay here except
fitness room great as shared
excecutive lounge ok

use some extra cash and upgrade it to next door to JW marriot 1000x better!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bumsii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights. The service was impeccable and the presentation was more then I expected. The king size room was very large. I was on the 14 floor and my view was fairly decent. Make sure you select the "executive" option as the breakfast and evening snack is well worth the additional cost. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay here my next visit to China.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tap1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Xiacheng District
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou
#3 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
638 reviews
Gongshu District
The East Hotel Hangzhou
The East Hotel Hangzhou
#9 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#17 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
627 reviews
InterContinental Hangzhou
#14 of 2,446 in Hangzhou
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin

Address: 28 Hushu South Rd, Hangzhou 310006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou > Gongshu District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hangzhou
#4 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#5 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range: $106 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin makes life on the road most enjoyable. The hotel’s guest rooms feature comfortable bedding with fluffy pillows, comforters and plush mattress toppers, individual climate control thermostats, mini-bar and many extras with deluxe or executive rooms as well as spacious suites available. The executive lounge boasts spectacular views of downtown where beverages and light snacks are served daily. We're also proud to share a modern lobby where you can sit, use the personal computers, be connected to free Wi-Fi or grab something light from MoMo-to-go. Take full advantage of the on-site amenities including an indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center. Our on site restaurant, MoMo Café, offers full breakfast and all day dining serving Hong Kong tea café specialties. Whether visiting Hangzhou for business or leisure, you'll find friendly staff, many amenities and superb location at the Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Hangzhou Wulin Hotel Hangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing