We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
Ranked #3 of 2,333 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent service and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night. The service was first-class. The check in manager Daisy was friendly, polite and helpful and created an excellent impression. It was also really nice on arrival to receive a cup of hot lemon tea. Just what was needed after walking around in the cold weather! After check in, when we discovered our room didn't have a bath-tub the hotel quickly and happily moved us to another room with a bath. All of the other staff we encountered through our stay were friendly and obviously well trained, always smiling and saying hello. There were other nice touches such as an offer of free late check out if we needed it. The breakfast was excellent with a good range of both Western and Chinese options. The swimming pool and spa centre is really nice and includes a sauna, steam room and jacuzzi which are great after a long day sightseeing.

The only slight issues I would note are: 1. the bathroom and bedroom in the rooms are separated only by a large glass window which means there is zero privacy when in the bathroom. There should at least be a panel of frosted glass. 2. The swimming pool water could be slightly warmer.

However, for us these were only minor complaints. Overall we had an excellent stay. Why can't all hotels train their staff as well as here? We highly recommend.

Room Tip: The higher floors (14th and 15th) have a view of West Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JiaqiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    159
    22
    4
    3
See reviews for
86
78
30
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night. Nice exterior and the lobby area.
Greated by friendly staff and bellboy.

The concierge staff is very helpful and friendly. We are very impressed with the service provided.
Breakfast was good with variety of food. The pastry area was superb.

Staff will help to get a taxi for your convenience.

Room was clean and spacious.

Will definitely come back for my next trip to hangzhou,

The only negative point is we dont get a west lake view room. it would have be perfect by then.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vinvon28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We only stayed one night at the Courtyard. Our request for a ‘non-smoking’ room was not registered when we arrived so they asked if we would mind taking a ‘smoking’ room instead. We took it since we were only staying the night and we couldn’t be bothered to wait for a ‘non-smoking’ room to come up. The smoking room was bearable.

The room was very basic. Yes, we could smell the smoke in the room but we got used to it after a while.

The Courtyard was in a good location – and there were a wide selection of restaurants within walking distance.

Because it shared some common facilities with the J.W. Marriott, we enjoyed the gym and pool facilities for the night.

We loved...
=========
• Good location – pretty central
• Next the JW Marriott – excellent pool facilities

We didn't like...
===========
•Very basic
•Smoky room

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tam009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florham Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stay at Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin every time I travel to Hangzhou. Because I am a Marriott gold member, I got upgraded to executive level and have the access to the lounge for every stay. The staff there are just outstanding. The service and food at the happy hour at this lounge is just outstanding compares to other Courtyard I stay or even better than most of the JW hotels.

Room is spacious and clean. Location is perfect. Now you can walk to take the new subway. I would like to take this review to honor Jason, who recently got promoted, he deserved it. All young ladies who work there are just lovely and I enjoy every stay.

The front desk staff is excellent as well. I will recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: higher floor can see the WestLake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

I have stayed in a lot of courtyard marriott hotel. The Courtyard by Marriott Hangzhou is definitely one of the best. The hotel is less than three years old and the room is very spacious. Courtyard Wulin shared the gym and SPA with JW Marriott. Therefore, the facility is pretty much the same but Courtyard has much better price. I used the computer in the lobby to surf internet for free.

Definitely like the concierge desk. Everyone has been helpful in giving direction, help us to get train tickets and get taxi.

The location is good for shopping and restaurants. The biggest shopping mall is less than five minutes walk with more than 20 restaurants for selections.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helenuiuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

A 5-star experience in what is billed as a 4-star hotel. It is not an inexpensive hotel, but the excellent service and location makes this a great deal. I particularly like the hotel's decor. Nearby are Hangzhou's largest shopping mall, the historic Grand Canal and the famous West Lake is not that far away. Rush hour traffic is a problem until the city's subway is completed in about a year's time.

Room Tip: The rooms on higher floors give a view of West Lake, Hangzhou's landmark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I usually stay at the Oakwood when I go to Hangzhou, but traffic is worse day by day, so I tried the Marriott Courtyard which is at a more convenient location for me (I need to go to YanAn Rd every day)..
The hotel is new, the room is good (although much smaller than Oakwood). I had a very good price, RMB650 with no breakfast and free internet. If you want to have breakfast it's better to take the rate including it, as there are no nearby places to have western breakfast (unless you consider a KFC)
Being so central I was suprised that the hotel is not noisy at all, sleep quality was very good.
I tried the swimming pool and it was good too, clean and a good 21-22 metres to swim, and not corwded at all (it was me and another guy)
Staff is very good in general

Room Tip: As always in noisy China, ask for high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Make2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
0.5 mi away
The East Hotel Hangzhou
The East Hotel Hangzhou
#6 of 2,333 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#11 of 2,333 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou
JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou
#2 of 2,333 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#8 of 2,333 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
2.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin

Property: Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
Address: 28 Hushu South Rd, Hangzhou 310006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou > Gongshu District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hangzhou
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hangzhou
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#4 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#10 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin makes life on the road most enjoyable. The hotel’s guest rooms feature comfortable bedding with fluffy pillows, comforters and plush mattress toppers, individual climate control thermostats, mini-bar and many extras with deluxe or executive rooms as well as spacious suites available. The executive lounge boasts spectacular views of downtown where beverages and light snacks are served daily. We're also proud to share a modern lobby where you can sit, use the personal computers, be connected to free Wi-Fi or grab something light from MoMo-to-go. Take full advantage of the on-site amenities including an indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center. Our on site restaurant, MoMo Café, offers full breakfast and all day dining serving Hong Kong tea café specialties. Whether visiting Hangzhou for business or leisure, you'll find friendly staff, many amenities and superb location at the Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Hangzhou Wulin Hotel Hangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing