We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou
Ranked #2 of 2,258 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed for three nights in a very nice and extremely spacious Executive room at this very good hotel. The staff in the Executive Lounge were very efficient and helpful. Both our room and the lounge had a good view towards West Lake and the attractive scenery beyond.

The new metro has a station very close to the hotel. The metro was due to open on the day we arrived and would have been very useful but the opening was put back, so we had to walk or rely on taxis. We had no problems with this. No doubt the metro will soon open and provide a new way of reaching West Lake.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MSDSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    97
    18
    5
    0
See reviews for
42
41
13
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here 3 nights and it was very good. Rooms are nice and comfortable. The one think which I found best, are The people working there; they all offer great service!
For that, I would book this hotel again.

Breakfastbuffet is excellent with lots of choice and Freek food.
Diner buffet is good, but I found it à bit overpriced.
The gym is good with à good sauna and steambath which are open until 23.00

I would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for three nights here for business and was disappointed with this hotel. The rooms are very comfortable, although slightly tired compared to some of the other big chains I've stayed at in China. There are no services in the hotel (ATM, Sundries store etc). You need to leave the hotel and walk around to the back. As a female traveler I did not feel comfortable doing that at night. Also, no security, just a lot of staff milling around looking busy doing nothing.
The Steak and Seafood restaurant ran out of shrimp and lobster and we had to ask several times for bread. The lobby bar (as well as the Steak and Seafood restaurant) did not know how to make a vodka martini. Unless the drink was on the fruity martini menu they looked dumbstruck as to how to make it. The coffee shop served basic food which was fine, the service, if you order a la carte, was very, very slow. The staff tried their best, but really, it's a three star hotel, not a 5 star as proclaimed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GloberunnerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

J.W Marriott is a well known hotel chain in Hangzhou the hotel went one step ahead of other western hotels in China by offering the business travel a full western experience with almost no touch of local culture, architecture and food.
It hosts one of the best restaurants in Hangzhou with an exclusive menu of gourmet dishes.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was my third time staying at the JW Marriott in Hangzhou. It is a great experience all around. The staff is excellent and caters to any of your needs. The club lounge is nice with a great selection of food and drinks along with a great staff. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. They even noticed my birthday while I was there and provided a complimentary bottle of wine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toolstud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Nothing but good things to report here. Hotel was excellent. Service was excellent. Gym was big and new. Room was great. Dinner at Asia Bistro was nice. This was my first visit to HZ so I cannot compare to any other hotels in city but you will not go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Harwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for three nights in September 2012 and was very impressed. The rooms are large and bright and exeptionaly clean. Tv has some English film channels as well as the usual news channels. We were in a luxury room which had remote controlled curtains and bathroom blinds. The beds were extremely comfortable. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#6 of 2,258 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 815 reviews
2.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The East Hotel Hangzhou
The East Hotel Hangzhou
#4 of 2,258 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
#3 of 2,258 in Hangzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 469 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#10 of 2,258 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou
Address: 28 Hushu South Rd, Hangzhou 310005, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2,258 Hotels in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Hangzhou offers unmatched luxurious accommodations. Guest rooms are tastefully designed and appointed with guests’ utmost comfort in mind. Deluxe rooms, executive rooms and spacious suites are available to meet every discerning taste. The executive lounge overlooks West Lake with spectacular view of downtown, serves a full breakfast, choice refreshments and delicate snacks throughout the rest of the day. In the evening, cocktails and selected wines are served along with a variety of appetizers, international and local favorite dishes by our culinary team. Three world-class restaurants offer unforgettable culinary experiences. On-site amenities are catered to your home away from home needs such as a relaxing swim at our indoor pool; pamper yourself in our serene Spa or working off your fatigue at our well-equipped fitness center. Our friendly and attentive staff is delighted to serve and will strive to make your stay at Hangzhou an enjoyable and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing