We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou
Ranked #4 of 2,420 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here for the first time in April whilst visiting some factories.
Room excellent.
Staff helpful, with good English.
Restaurant was good, with very high quality steaks. (Had the same meal 2 nights running as it was so good).
Well situated for the business traveller.

Room Tip: High floor.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Business_ClassLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 609 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

This truly was a luxury hotel. Clean, well serviced and a personal service. As with a couple of the other reviews the angle of the TV in the bathroom made it unwatchable unless you were standing in the bath. I would be very happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: the higher the better!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim198212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This is another great Marriott that offers nice room and superb service. There are several things we are not used to though. One is that everyone swims in the swimming pool requires to wear swimming hat. This is odd and we never experience this rule in another Marriott. Just imagine having to wear a swimming hat in a beach resort! Also the walk way to the right of the hotel is dangerous. It is shared with cars but without marked lanes. Stay to the side or else you would be forced to do so by rude drivers coming behind you.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank Roger_Thunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Staff were very friendly and we enjoyed our stay.

I second the previous reviewer, "Other than the flat screen TV in the bathroom that was mounted too high, we were extremely happy with our stay. We highly recommend the Marriott." There was no way that you can sit in the tub and watch the TV. The TV should be tilted a little bit at least.

Also there was a tiny burn mark on the counter of the coffee machine.

When we checked out, there was a rude lady guest that cut in before us, I tried to tell her but she would not listen and the receptionist did not say anything. Letting them show the surveillance camera will solve the problem but we just did not have time and energy for this and let it go.

Room Tip: We got a room that can see park of the West Lake.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callmegt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed 3 nights from 1 to 3 June 2012. A couple of things stand out. Firstly, the wonderful service throughout the hotel from front desk to chambermaids. The staff were all polite and helpful. Secondly, the room. It was large, clean and tastefully furnished. There were a number of things in the room that showed much thought went into making the stay a comfortable one. For example, by the desk, there were at least two international electrical outlets for your electronics (so you need not bring along any adaptors), and also AV RCA, HDMI and VGA connectors if you wish to project your laptop screen on the huge flat screen TV. There is also a blu-ray player. The bathroom also has a flat screen TV above the bathtub and comes with a waterproof remote control. Unfortunately, the TV was mounted a little too high so the image was therefore not clear. All the blinds and curtains are motorized.

Another area that we liked was room service. Food was tasty, portion was decent and we were surprised they even had not so common items like Indonesian soup buntut (oxtail) which incidentally was delicious. You get a good spread of Western and Chinese food for breakfast including Chinese noodles cooked on the spot. Security is good too as access in the lifts to the rooms is by the room keycard.

Behind the hotel a 10 minute walk away is an upmarket shopping mall (Hangzhou Tower) with a supermarket in the basement. Along the way, there is a 24-hr convenience store.

Other than the flat screen TV in the bathroom that was mounted too high, we were extremely happy with our stay. We highly recommend the Marriott.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a view of the Grand Canal.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel was part of our package tour. This hotel had everything we expected from a JW Marriott. From the personal service we received upon check in to the huge lobby bar and lounge to a very nice room, everything here was absolutey wonderful. Now for my pros and cons.

Pros:
- a big room with very comfortable beds
- lot of plugs for charging those cameras and iPhones
- an excellent breakfast buffet (the best we had all trip!). American, Chinese, Japanese selections with made to order eggs, fresh baked pastries, and fresh made noodles
- service in the lobby bar was excellent (my wife recommends the Lychee Martini for those who like fruity drinks)
- A big bathroom with lots of counter space
- 2 bottles of water in the room for drinking and brushing teeth

Cons:
- the toilet was not separated in the bathroom

Tip:
-Before you visit China, purchase plug adaptors (and possibly a converter). All of our chargers were rated for voltage that ranged between 110v and 240v so no converters were required (check your plugs). I bought 3 adaptors for $5 total including shipping a month before our departure. The only thing we needed a converter for was my wife's curling iron, which we ended up buying one for about $10 on our trip. Now she has an international travel curling iron for future trips.

Since we were part of a tour, and only stayed here for one night, I cannot give an accurate description of driving distances to any attractions or any surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Kman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I have continued to become more and more of a fan of of Marriott's JW brand over the years and the JW Marriott Hotel in Hangzhou is an excellent example of everything the brand should stand for. I have used the hotel as a base of operations for my business team over the last 10 months and have racked up 70+ nights here over about 20 stays, so I am well familiar with what the property has to offer. To start, the property is new, fresh, bright and clean and even the most standard rooms are generous in size and possess all the amenities you'd expect of a hotel in this class. The 26th Floor Executive Lounge is a sanctuary, regardless if you are there for business or pleasure. I often take my breakfast and dinner in the lounge and find its quality of food and service to be excellent. The food at the hotel's three restaurants is excellent, starting with the ground-floor Asia Bistro (basically a giant buffet), right to the pricey Cru Steakhouse - probably the best place in HZ to get a western-style steak. Man Ho restaurant is among the best Chinese restaurants I've been to in HZ and rivals the excellent Jin Sha at the Four Seasons on the West Lake. The concierge team is very capable and on-the-ball when it comes to arranging complex logistics and the staff at the front desk, business center and executive lounge are always friendly and helpful. The only complaint I have as a very frequent guest and Marriott Gold Rewards member is that room upgrades are almost never given for guests at this level - even for someone like me who stays frequently and has brought over 1000 nights of business to their hotel in the past year. Otherwise, service, value and quality here is superb.

Room Tip: Book an Executive Floor room ahead of time online - it's worth it and will be far cheaper than w...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Xiacheng District
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#9 of 2,420 in Hangzhou
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gongshu District
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
#5 of 2,420 in Hangzhou
700 reviews
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#17 of 2,420 in Hangzhou
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou

Address: 28 Hushu South Road, Gongshu District, Hangzhou 310006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 2,420 Hotels in Hangzhou
Price Range: $178 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Hangzhou offers unmatched luxurious accommodations. Guest rooms are tastefully designed and appointed with guests’ utmost comfort in mind. Deluxe rooms, executive rooms and spacious suites are available to meet every discerning taste. The executive lounge overlooks West Lake with spectacular view of downtown, serves a full breakfast, choice refreshments and delicate snacks throughout the rest of the day. In the evening, cocktails and selected wines are served along with a variety of appetizers, international and local favorite dishes by our culinary team. Three world-class restaurants offer unforgettable culinary experiences. On-site amenities are catered to your home away from home needs such as a relaxing swim at our indoor pool; pamper yourself in our serene Spa or working off your fatigue at our well-equipped fitness center. Our friendly and attentive staff is delighted to serve and will strive to make your stay at Hangzhou an enjoyable and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing