We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque hostel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hofang Youth Hostel
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Picturesque hostel in great location”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hostel was easy to get to by taxi, although taxis will drop you off at the drum tower as the hostel is on a pedestrian zone. The staff were really friendly and very helpful. The first thing that happened when we walked in was one of the staff asked if I was Katrina. Throughout the time, they called us by our first names which was really nice they remembered! The hostel is set in a picturesque old building with featured front doors and windows. The room and the private bathroom were clean and simple. The beds were comfortable enough for a good night's sleep. The location was perfect for getting to the local tea shops and a night food market was next to the drum tower. The West Lake was at least 30 minutes walk, which shouldn't be a problem but in 38 degrees heat, it was quite a challenge! Overall it was a lovely stay and made more so because of the nicest staff I have ever encountered in a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wonkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    44
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
22
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing place to stay. We took the subway and after walking and asking how to get there we finally arrived, after some 20min. Two girls greeted us with excitement and a smile on their faces. Instead of just saying "you have a reservation?" Like everywhere else, they asked us how our trip had been and where we came from, then we talked about the reservation and our stay. They joked around and helped us with our membership card (YHA), really useful. They then gave us the key to our dorm.

Overall it's the best service we've ever encountered. The girl, Geminis, was so nice to us. She helped us with every single question we had, drew maps for us and wrote down names and instructions in both english and chinese. She spoke some spanish to us, always with a smile on her face.

Rooms are clean and spacious, with strong AC and a lamp per bed.

Bathrooms are clean and showers as well. You can see they are well kept an looked after.

The restaurant, although not cheap, has 20% discount for guests, making it cheaper for you. The music is nice and the atmosphere too! There's books and magazines, and monday night is movie night.

It's a very nice place to stay and to escape from the overwhelming heat of the city! Cheap, clean and nice, best service ever-you'll never want to leave! What else can you ask for?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan Pablo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is located in a quiete side street to the main road of the old city. The Price/value is excellent - you get what you pay for! A clean room with shower, nice design, tv and really friendly staff. A really cosy café is directly attached to the hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_terry2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I had such a great time here mainly due to the best staff i've ever encountered at any hotel/hostel/bnb. They were friendly, polite, helpful, and very accommodating. I arrived a lot later than I had projected and they gave me a call to see if I was still arriving. I didn't receive the call, but they kept my room for me and sent me an email until I replied. I called them back and they held it for me until I arrived. They were always really enthusiastic in answering any questions you have about hangzhou and are knowledgeable on where you should go and how to get there (the girls at the front desk are amazing).

The location of the hostel cannot be better. It's located in a lane off of the famous hefang road on one end and the drum tower/eating street on the other. 10 minute walk to one of the famous destinations on west lake.

The WiFi, although only in the reception area, was great and you can skype or make voip calls without issue. The reception area is really cute with lots of seating.

What a great place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnie_poops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Comfortable and clean with helpful staff and a decent restaurant. This is a comfortable place to hang out in. Rooms are clean and neat. Be sure to bring your own towels and toiletries. Located right near the Drum Tower, it can be a little tricky for taxis to find as it is in a pedestrian-only area. Take the phone number so the taxi driver can call for directions. Plenty to see in the surrounding streets, and it is only about 10 minutes walk to West Lake. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, Brandenburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The location of the hostel is very good.
The employees at the reception are very friendly and helpful. When we had lost our camera, they helped us getting it back. They also wrote us down the places we wanted to go in Chinese, so we could show it to the taxidrivers.
Unfortunately we had expected a bit more of our rool, superiour double bed, a bit more. It was very small, without a closet or anything else to put our stuff in. It was very clean, though. But never the less, it was clean and if you think of the price of the room, which was still very low, the stay was worth it :)!
I would come back defenitely.
It would be cool, if the hostel would offer some activities for the night - like going out as a group to get to know people.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This was very pleasant and great value for money. We stayed at the hostel for five nights, in a four bed courtyard room. The staff were great, the Wifi worked well, the attached cafe didn't have great food but was a wonderful place to sit and have a drink, and eat if we were too exhausted to go out in the evening. It's on a quiet pedestrian street, but just next to lots of restaurants including Costa and Macdonalds for a quick fix. The bathroom was clean and everything worked well. The room needed painting, and the outdoor space could have been much improved by deadheading and watering plants and arranging furniture for sitting outdoors-could really look great. But overall we had a great stay.

Room Tip: upstairs double tiny but ok, courtyard room slightly dingy but more character and space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glesgagirlScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Huachen International Hotel
#33 of 2,414 in Hangzhou
313 reviews
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#16 of 2,414 in Hangzhou
595 reviews
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
#29 of 2,414 in Hangzhou
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xiacheng District
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#7 of 2,414 in Hangzhou
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hofang Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofang Youth Hostel

Property: Hofang Youth Hostel
Address: No.67 Dajing Lane, Hefang Street, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310002, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hofang Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing