We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sophia Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$141
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$531
$499
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Huachen International Hotel(Hangzhou)
$63
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$250
$239
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dahua Hotel(Hangzhou)
$165
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$245
$224
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveler rating
9
21
6
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
21
6
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 36 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We arrived to the hotel with a taxi from the railways station.
The check in was quick and efficient and we found the service very friendly (I asked and received a guide of Hangzhou and we asked a couple of time a taxi).
The price of the taxi is very cheap and so a convenient way of travel without loosing a lot of time looking for a bus or walking a lot.
The room was good and as usual a lot of free amenities useful for your stay.
The hotel was of good quality and the price we paid was really low, one of the cheapest we paid in our trip to China.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Rosario_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the clean and modern facilities when we opened the room door. Initially, we were abit worried when the cab driver from the train station said that the hotel wasn't good. We later concluded that it was because the hotel was located too close to the train station and the cab fare was only US$2 and also because the cab driver tried to introduce us other hotels and get commission from it.

I would recommend this hotel for a relaxing stay in Hangzhou as the beds are very comfortable and the amentities are very clean. Only less than 5 minutes by cab to Westlake and cab fare is only around US$2. The hotel lobby staff will also help you to get a cab when you need one, so service is good. For the price we paid, this is exactly what we wanted.

Room Tip: Please ask for top floor (level 7) non-smoking rooms
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChangMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

A clean and beautiful hotel in the quaint streets of Hangzhou.
The hotel is quite famous so quite a few taxi drivers know about it.
The rooms are modern and clean.
There is also an excellent in-house restaurant for tasty Chinese food.
Internet speed is ok.

Room Tip: There are rooms on the ground floor which are cheaper. If you are visitng Hangzhou just for a night and dont intend to spend long time in the hotel ask for ground floor rooms without breakfast,
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RupZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights while on a round trip in China in the Sophia Hotel. Was the best hotel on this trip. Large, clean rooms, friendly staff (even if communication in English was not that easy, but this is normal in China). Good breakfast buffet, free internet in the room (unfortunately cable only) and WiFi in the Lobby.
Very modern rooms with good beds, big LCD-screen, safe and superb bathroom.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cirrus75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Nice and clean new hotel. Was told it was close to all the attractions of west lake. That's true if you have a car, but walking-wise it takes a while to get to west lake. Easier just to take a taxi which is pretty cheap. My room came with breakfast which was chinese buffet style and alright. The reception staff were friendly but had trouble with their english. They were happy to help when they could though. There was a restaurant but I didn't try it. Overall I was happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah123472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews