We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake
Ranked #3 of 2,418 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Large rooms with nice view on garden -- was on a business trip but this looks like an ideal spot for family or couple retreat - restaurant for dinner and breakfast buffet very nice. The reputed Longjing tea is available and should be tried.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean-marc b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alleen W, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear guest, we are very grateful for your comments towards our room, restaurants and the views of our hotel. Your precious feedback will help our service move towards a higher and better level of quality. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
There are newer reviews for Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 508 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with our 3 young kids. The property is magnificent. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. We loved having a little garden to ourselves. We loved walking around the gardens of the hotel and hanging out by the outdoor pool. The service was outstanding. Everyone was extremely wonderful, helpful and friendly. We were torn between staying here or the Aman. We actually went to the Aman for lunch, and we are very glad that we chose the Four Seasons instead. The Aman seemed dark and a bit run down. It is also in the middle of a village, so random tourists can walk in and around the Aman. I do suggest though going to the Aman for lunch. We ate at the Steam House, where they serve traditional dumplings and dim sum. The food was really delicious. I recommend you go there for lunch and then head out to the tea plantation which is close by. But do stay at the Four Seasons!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alleen W, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment on TripAdvisor and thank you so much for having written such a kind review on our property. We are very glad to learn that you had a happy stay and are satisfied with various aspects of the hotel. Your kind words are surely one of our biggest motivations. We wish to have you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Let's be honest about it. This hotel is bloody expensive. But it is worth every single penny.

The room is big and comfy. Service is excellent.

As for the location, it depends on your need. If you want restaurants and bars nearby, then you might want to try hotel like Hyatt. But if you like some place quiet and away from the noisy tourists, then this is a good location.

Getting a taxi in Hangzhou can however be a very annoying experience. While it is probably not a problem getting a taxi in the hotel, it can be a nightmare trying to get a taxi to go back to the hotel. So be prepared to do a lot of walking from restaurants or tourist attractions to the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sincerewong2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alleen W, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for having written such a kind review on our property. We are pleased to discover that you had a good time with us and delighted in hotel rooms, facilities and service. Our room size starts from 63 sqm, guests can get to enjoy a small private garden and picturesque views of the West Lake from their room. Once again, we appreciate your valued comment and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this absolutely sublime resort in late May en route to Shanghai. This property and the surrounding area has to be one of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed. The hotel is magnificent! Incredibly well-maintained and luxurious with plenty of polished limestone and dark timber referencing modern Chinese decor in exquisite detail everywhere, but executed in such an unpretentious way that the public spaces and our beautiful room made us feel immediately relaxed and at home.

We booked the Spa Indulgence Package and after being picked up from the airport in the hotel's BMW 7 series saloon (nice surprise given we'd booked the Audi) were escorted directly to be "checked-in" very efficiently in our suite which had been upgraded from the standard room. The bathroom was magnificent with separate large tub, shower and WC, TV in-layed in the mirror and a beautiful double stone vanity. Marble from here to Christmas! A generous walk-in robe, amazingly comfortable king-sized bed, separate lounge and dark timber screened verandah overlooking a gorgeous courtyard, Nespresso machine and well-stocked mini bar completing our exquisitely detailed sanctuary. Did I mention the L'Ocitane bathroom products, fresh fruit and flowers changed daily?

We had arranged our massage treatments for 4pm that afternoon and after a late lunch on the terrace at WLB restaurant overlooking the lake and gardens, we made our way to the absolutely divine day spa complex in the lower ground floor area, passing yet more beautiful gardens and water features along the way. An incredibly luxurious, professional and relaxing experience and welcome respite from our previous six days spent in Beijing.

We'd also pre-booked dinner for our first night in the hotel's Jin Sha restaurant. What absolutely magnificent modern Chinese decor, food glorious food and amazing service. If all I could eat for the rest of my life are the Jin Sha king prawns with wasabi mayonnaise then I'd die a very happy man. Oh and the walk over to the restaurant through the incredibly vast and meticulously maintained and designed gardens complete with myriad water features, ponds, waterfalls and chinese styled covered ways in the late afternoon light set the tone for the culmination of our amazing first day in Hangzhou West Lake.

For our second day we set out for an early 5km run around the lake surrounding the hotel. I had hoped that this part of the world would be special but had not anticipated just how beautiful it actually is. What we intended to be an energetic run ended up being a leisurely walk given the amount of photo opportunities there are. Words really cannot fully describe just how beautiful this place is.

Breakfast at WLB on the terrace again. We then hired the hotel driver to take us to the surrounding sites. Fei Lai Feng, the Lin Ying Buddist temple complex and the Jiuxi 18 Stream (magnificent easy hike) at the end of Longjing Village are simply breath taking. Our concierge also arranged a boat ride upon our return. We were anticipating a motor boat, but after being driven in the hotel's stretch golf cart limo to the the private lake mooring we were delighted to be greeted by a traditional old timber chinese paddle boat upon which we spent the next ninety minutes being paddled silently around heavenly West Lake - what an experience! A leisurely stroll back to the hotel through the lush public paths and parks (yet more photo opp's) followed by a relaxing swim in the awesome indoor pool, back with an amazing sauna before another hotel dinner, once again capping off another very special day.

A midday check-out on our final day gave us enough time for another lake walk, WLB breakfast on the terrace before a swim this time in the adjacent heavenly moat-surrounded outdoor pool which forms the magnificent focal point of the hotel grounds overlooking the lake. Check-out was seamless and typical of the exemplary quiet efficiency and professionalism we had come to enjoy from all the hotel staff during the preceeding 48 hours. This hotel and surrounding area is truly special and we cannot thank the staff enough for a magnificent albeit brief visit. I'm not sure when we'll return but hope some day to once again experience the magnificent Four Seasons Hangzhou West Lake and this fascinating part of China.

Room Tip: Go for the Spa Indulgence Package - well worth the extra. The Suite upgrade is beautiful and the Day...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alleen W, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with Four Seasons Hotel Hangzhou at West Lake. We greatly appreciate your effort in leaving such a kind review on TripAdvisor after your stay. We are very delighted to learn that you had a happy stay and are satisfied with various aspects of the hotel. I will also be sharing this wonderful comment with my colleagues. With your support, we will continue to show our guests with warm smiles and good service. Thank you once again. We sincerely anticipate your next return to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Certainly one of my top 5 hotels of all time! There is a consistent sense of peace and calm coupled with easy elegance and sophistication that flows throughout the property. The staff are friendly, polite, efficient and accommodating.

While a fairly new property they have managed to perfectly marry the architecture and external feel of "old China" with the facilities of a modern luxury hotel. The water features also go a long way to help to maintain the continuous sense of peace and calm that permeates.

I had an exceptional meal the first night at Jin Sha. Without a doubt some of the best Chinese food I have ever had; my recommendation - forget the menu and ask for their specialties. #culinarybliss.

The spa is another absolute must. The treatment rooms are like decent sized NYC apartments, complete with private showers, bathroom, changing room and lockers, steam and sauna and a very large treatment area. (Note if you have large feet the seemingly comfy slippers they provide may not be so super.)

The breakfast buffet at WL Bistro was delicious, if not terribly expansive, by Western standards. There was a wide range, however, from various (delicious) dumplings, "Chinese porridge" (I forget the name) and fried rice to the 'usual suspects' cereals, yogurt, bacon, etc. Of course you can also supplement the buffet from the menu, which I did, and I am pleased to report they offer an exceptional Eggs Benedict!

The service experience was consistently outstanding. From the concierge to the front desk, room service to wait staff in the restaurants; everyone was just so attentive and proficient. One afternoon we sat by the pool lounging and chatting and it was as though someone was hiding in the bushes watching because they arrived at precisely the correct moment to top up our glasses (every time). The bottle of Cloudy Bay sat less than two feet from where either of us, yet we never even had an opportunity (or reason) to touch the bottle. And all discharged with the ease and calm that befits this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkg2999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alleen W, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment on TripAdvisor.
We are very glad to learn that you had a happy stay and are satisfied with the hotel service, restaurants (Jin Sha and WLB) and the SPA. Your kind words are surely one of our biggest motivations.We wish to have you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Our family of five recently stayed at the Four Seasons at the Westlake in Hangzhou for a short break. What an absolutely beautiful hotel with great staff and a nice selection of activities for the children. It was over the Easter holiday and the hotel organised an Easter egg hunt in their beautiful gardens as well as other games and craft projects for the day which was perfect for the children. The small kids club was perfect for the length of our stay and included a movie room and toys for the younger guests and a room with video games, computers and football table for the older children. The hotel also organised things for our two older children at our request (dumpling making at the Chinese restaurant, manicures, etc). We had a two bedroom suite which was spacious, beautifully decorated, well appointed with neutral decor and with nice amenities. The bathrooms were big and bright and the electronics (lights, av systems) were all user friendly. Staff were very accommodating and liaised with us weeks before our arrival to assist us with reservations and other activities to ensure our stay went smoothly. The spa was lovely and had great treatments as was the Chinese restaurant which was excellent. The children were welcomed everywhere in the hotel and we all had a relaxing time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyHennessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alleen W, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at Four Seasons Hotel Hangzhou at West Lake and giving us great compliments on TripAdvisor. We were particularly pleased to read that your children were happy with activities and your family had a good time with rooms, spa and Chinese restaurant during your stay. Once again, we appreciate your valued comment and look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was one of the most beautiful and serene locations I have visited. Attentive and friendly staff offered kind smiles and impeccable service. Everything was perfect and I could not recommend this hotel enough!

Room Tip: The pagodas on the lake are magical.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictoriaEBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alleen W, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for having written such a kind review on our property. I am very happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay. Your kind words have been transmitted to our entire team as a great source of motivation for us all. We wish to have you stay with us again in the future. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#8 of 2,418 in Hangzhou
935 reviews
Xiacheng District
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#17 of 2,418 in Hangzhou
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
#26 of 2,418 in Hangzhou
811 reviews
JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou
#4 of 2,418 in Hangzhou
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake

Address: No.5 Lingyin Road, Hangzhou 310013, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hangzhou
#2 Spa Hotel in Hangzhou
#2 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#3 Family Hotel in Hangzhou
#59 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range: $520 - $853 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In China’s most picturesque setting, Four Seasons reveals an intimate lakeside village, melding centuries of tradition with chic contemporary style. Convenient to business and shopping, discover a tranquil enclave, woven with ponds, streams and lagoons. Experience the gentle spirit of Chinese hospitality in exclusive private dining rooms and resort-style recreation, including two swimming pools and a cutting-edge designer spa. Deftly sophisticated Four Seasons care instills confidence and delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Hangzhou At West Lake Hotel Hangzhou
4 Seasons Hangzhou At West Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing