We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience to remember in Hangzhou, China”
Review of Amanfayun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amanfayun
Ranked #19 of 2,386 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“An experience to remember in Hangzhou, China”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We decided on Hangzhou because of the Unesco World Heritage SIte, West Lake and found the Trail of Seven Temples intriguing.
The Amanfayun is an interesting experience as they have "leased" these historic Chinese buildings along a ancient stone pathway surrounded by bamboo and used by monks, other tourists and the community. We found their hospitality to be excellent, and the grounds lush and beautiful. The villas are very sparse as typical with Aman, maybe for some contrived but we felt the furnishings, the bath accessories to be genuinely authentic to the area.
I would highly recommend the Trail of Seven Temples dating back to 300 AD, and this is right outside your doorstep at the Aman. Dragon Well is the source of one of the most treasured green teas in the world and is close by and worth the trip. (If you've been to Starbucks, you've had this herbal, healing, strong green tea.) The restaurant choices may feel limited for some, but we found the food to be very good. My daughter and I treated ourselves to massages and we both agreed, the setting, the therapist, the spa products were all excellent and very relaxing.
This is not a property I would recommend for longer than a few nights, but you stay here for the unique experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    53
    13
    10
    5
See reviews for
36
64
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Typical Disney-esque makeover of a poor peasant village outside Hangzhou with the intention to convince fireign travellers who dont know better that they have had a 'China Experience'. Irritatingtly bad: staff seem poorly managed with little or no understanding of how to handle high paying guests: on occasion it seemed like it was the staff having a good time and not us. Western management (I speak Chinese - the staff told us they were from some 'small European country' that they couldn't remember) often have no idea how to manage their chinese workforce and this seems to be the case. The furniture was cheap swedish style versions of real Chinese classic designs, the hotel completely misses all that Hangzhou is famous for (not much to see in Hangzhou? Do you even know where you were?), horribly expensive, bars without a barman and hardly any drinks, food which is hardly representative of local cuisine - and the usual Aman garbage of hiring the cheap presentable looking locals to serve guests when they have no idea how to. Better have Chinese manage Chinese. And better avoid this ghastly representation of the true sophistication for which Hangzhou is so famous!

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank PapaWreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

we were in hanghzou for business and our partners put us in this hotel. We first wanted to be in the city, but we quickly understood why they put us here. Simply amazing; This is one of the greatest places i have ever been. A orginal , typical chines village as a hotel. Amazing! the rooms (houses) are spacious and are designed in the original style. There was a small smell of humidity (which is apparently due to the old houses), but that was not a problem. You have different restaurants in the village, which offer you a large variety of food. The spa and swimmingpool are of very high level. And you sleep adjecent to the historical temple complex.
A once in a lifetime experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kachtem8870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

location is amazing, it's located on the foothills of the famous hangzhou temple. it's like living back in 500 years ago. the villas are weird because the the toilet walls do not go up to the ceiling, so everything that goes on in the toilet gets heard in the bedroom. the food is ok, it's not amazing chinese or local hangzhou cuisine. the service is minimal and the doesn't have much facilities. it's extremely expensive, aman style, but it's ok if you have money to burn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Located in a typical Hangzhou valley at the door of one of the most famous and well known Buddhist temple The “Ling yin Temple”. The resort is well located to explore the surrounding Hangzhou Hills and temples as well as some of the best longJin tea plantation. The accommodation in a farm style of bungalows are well appointed but lacking of large windows and are quite dark inside. The simplicity of the interior is refreshing.
The 2 restaurants run by the resort (one western and one Chinese) are of good quality but the wine list is overprice.
The service is good and friendly.
An excellent experience but the prices are slightly too high.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 760pieto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
108 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

living in Shanghai, Hangzhou is an easy weekend getaway - and I've been hankering after staying at this amazing property for a long time - but put off by the extremely high price. I finally stayed there last month, and the property is exceptional. It's a converted hamlet of old wooden buildings scattered along a stone pathway that leads up to the temple area. So each 'room' is actually more like a little house, each one unique and sympathetically converted - made comfortable without destroying their original charm. There are a few communal buildings - the reception area, the different restaurants, a central large two storey house which houses a tea room and quiet reflective lounge area, the spa. The pathway through the village is public access, so you do get monks and other people wandering up and down - but not so many that it destroys the sense of specialness. Having such intimate access to the temples (which are totally public access, so as soon as you go through that gate it suddenly becomes very busy if it's a weekend or holiday), but having that proximity felt like a privilege. I stayed there over a holiday weekend - which meant that HZ was jam-packed - but the resort still felt peaceful. In fact, almost too peaceful. Even though there are communal areas, it didn't feel at all social.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fikoukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Amanfayun is like no other "hotel" you have ever experienced. First, the lodging is spread throughout a picturesque valley that is surrounded by temples, local village people, and tea fields. Second, the resort's buildings fit in with the landscape and are designed fit organically with the history and environment of the area--many of their buildings are original and have been historically remodeled. Third, when you arrive in your suite you are transported to a different time period but maintain 21st century luxury and technology. Fourth, the dining options are not your standard high-end hotel restaurants. The resort has a partnership with local independent food providers that have distinct and delicious restaurants all along the valley. The food they provide is exceptional. Finally, the personal butler service they offer is the best I've ever experienced--the St. Regis properties could learn something from Aman Resorts. Overall, Amanfayun is one of my favorite resorts in the world.

Room Tip: Make sure to have tea on the second floor lounge room in the Fayun Place building. As for a specific...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TABridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
2.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake
2.2 mi away
Banyan Tree Hangzhou
Banyan Tree Hangzhou
#43 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
256 reviews
4.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#7 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
908 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Hangzhou Wetland Park Resort
3.9 mi away
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#16 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanfayun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanfayun

Property: Amanfayun
Address: No.22 Fayun Alley, Xihu St, Xihu District, Hangzhou 310013, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hangzhou
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hangzhou
#7 Family Hotel in Hangzhou
#10 Spa Hotel in Hangzhou
#17 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#60 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amanfayun 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the spirit of a traditional Chinese village, Amanfayun is a place to explore - a place of stone pathways leading to shaded courtyards, quaint restaurants and peaceful abodes. Situated on 14 hectares to the west of West Lake, a UNESCO World Heritage Site on the outskirts of Hangzhou, the resort is comprised of 47 dwellings surrounded by tea fields. Amanfayun is the ideal location from which to explore ancient Buddhist temples, botanical gardens and Hangzhou's famous silk and shopping streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amanfayun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanfayun Hotel Hangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing