We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must try!!”

LvCha (LongJing Road)
Ranked #6 of 2,837 Restaurants in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Must try!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Been to hangzhou 3 times but just got the chance to try it this time. Local says foods is good but have to Q for an hour. Luckily when my visit few weeks ago hangzhou was rainy so probably people lazy to out. Food are delicious, especially the dessert. Forget the name but i have the picture and i'm gonna post it here. Staff are friendly and the ambience quite noisy because this place are favorite to local either tourists.

Helpful?
Thank Huttonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    75
    19
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A must do for visiting Hangzhou, unbelievably cheap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

First: Send someone in to get your number, expect to wait for 30-45 minutes, if not longer. Meanwhile, let everyone else walk around the area (it's lovely, tea fields, pond) until your number is 5 spots away.

Second: Order the fish head, the tea leaf roast pork, the nian gao (rice glutamate?), the qianye tofu, which are all home runs. Four of us finished a ton of food, including a couple desserts (green tea bings are a must), and the final check came to 63 RMB a person. For a place with a line out the door and substantial serving sizes, I'm surprised it wasn't much more - I probably would have paid double.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
238 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“value for money, tasty, noisy ambience, long Qs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

a friend treated me to this place since i havent been there before. this is the original restaurant of this chain group. my friend has been eating here since they began business years ago so she swears by this HQ.

the Qs are fantastic. she said once she had to Q for 3 hours just to get a seat.(the staff also confirmed that waiting 3-4hours during peak times is the norm!) so if you are planning to visit this restaurant, go during off-peak times like weekdays or make sure you go early to snap a seat. i doubt they take reservations since they are so popular.

the decor is quite unique, rustic kind of country feel. but its a noisy restaurant for friends and family casual dining. dont expect a quiet romantic dinner for lovers.
we ordered many dishes (see our pics), but being a chinese-style restaurant, they didnt bother about "desserts last" kinda concept. whatever was ready, was served immediately. our desserts were served first unfortunately and our ice cream left to melt while we ate our mains.

we ordered their signature roast chicken. very nice, a little spicy, so it went well. my friend said maybe they are too busy the chicken is a little cool, if it was piping hot, it would be delicious. we also had salad, broccoli veggie soup, steamed minced meat (great with rice), cheese grilled scallops and the custard steam bun was very good, nice flowy custard. the portion size was all good.

the desserts were a little massive and disappointing though my friend said its a must try. too much carbo for me. the puff pastry tower with fruit layers, i felt was a little tasteless, it could do with more custard or cream to beef up the taste and more fruit. the giant toast with ice cream as well. it could do with more ice cream and the layers should all be baked with butter (not just the top) otherwise, its just like eating a chunk of white bread.

on the whole, value for money meal. individual portions are quite large and not very pricey. some dishes good, some dishes so-so, dessert could be much better though. i would visit here again but not frequently i guess due to the distance and also long Qs. maybe its not worth to Q 3 hours for it! this branch is located within the westlake scenic region, so tourists can pop by if you are touring the west lake area, especially the Long Jing (or Dragon well) tea areas.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mingzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good prices, excellent food quality, 5-star dishes presentation and serving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

After highly recommended by the hotel, we walked to this restaurant. Our comments are as follow:-

1) Good prices : i.e. steam fish head RMB 48.00 which in Hong Kong would cost HK$150 easily and the fish head is so fresh.
2) BBQ pork : RMB 28 and the quantity is enough for four persons.
3) All dishes are served with double 5-star restaurant white plates.
4) However, there is no booking for a table. We have to get a ticket number and have waited for 45 minutes. Luckily, next door is Star Bucks where we can get free wifi to pass time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I've been to this restaurant a few times, depending on the dishes and day, the food quality varies. It isn't as oily as most restaurants and the location is paramount to its success, and for that reason it's worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jiffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LvCha (LongJing Road) also viewed

 

Been to LvCha (LongJing Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing