We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!! Why can't they all be like this?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
Ranked #2 of 2,386 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Avon, OH
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“WOW!! Why can't they all be like this?”
Reviewed December 22, 2010

I just spent 3 nights up on the 8th floor. Beautiful hotel. Well appointed room. Excellent bathroom but the vanity was cluttered with their accessories and left no room for my shaving kit.

The King room had a somewhat tall bed with no less than 13 pillows. This trend is ridiculous and I can't wait for it to go out of style. All the furniture was covered in pillows when the bed was turned down. Never the less the bed was comfortable and the hotel offers a selection of pillows if you don't care for the standard ones.

This is the first hotel room I had in China were the heat works as well as the thermostat. It was so nice to actually be able to set the room temperature and then get to and stay at that temperature.

My room was on the outside with a large private balcony. Unfortunately the view of the rooftops across the street was not very appealing. There was also significant street noise. Luckily this diminished substantially by 10pm. Next time I will ask for an inside room.

There is a nice flat panel TV with DVD player. The English TV channels are limited but they also offer On Demand movies.

There is an adequate work desk a little too close to the windows but still adequate for working with your laptop. No in room wireless, but a standard ethernet connection and I was online without having to configure anything. Wireless is supposed to be available in the common areas but I did not test it. The internet connection was reasonably fast most of the time.

Nice buffet breakfast in the morning. It was included in our room rate so I don't know the price. It was nice to be able to have an American style breakfast again, after so long in country. I did not have any other meals in the hotel so I cannot judge the other restaurants.

The front desk, wait staff, and concierge were first rate. They were prompt, courteous, and attentive without getting in the way. Most spoke English quite well and the supervisory staff spoke excellent English. This little thing makes life so much easier when far away from home.

When I come back to Hangzhou this is where I will be staying!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeenThere_Didntdoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    154
    25
    4
    4
See reviews for
124
163
54
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

We enjoyed an excellent stay at this well located and spacious hotel. The staff were very warm and friendly. The executive floor has excellent facilities. I would recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Hangzhou for business or pleasure

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColonelEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

Came to Hangzhou for a conference and hotel was booked for that purpose. My wife and daughter came with me. Hotel is a big one located in a good spot near the lake (West Lake). I have traveled somewhat in China and found this hotel interesting because of a combination of international and Chinese staff, working well together, speaking Chinese with one another, and providing exceptional and warm service to the guests. The international staff come from the U.S. and European countries and speak multiple languages. Two staff where were particularly helpful on ideas of what to do in Hangzhou were Oliya and Julia (she is the guest services manager). The hotel's restaurant is huge and offers very good Chinese and international cuisine. There is a $25/day charge for an extra rollout bed in the room, not including breakfast. Be sure to ask for a non-smoking floor (if you don't smoke). Incidentally, the hotel was built by a Chinese company a few years ago, but was not completed - so Wyndham took it over, redid it, and fitted it out very nicely. But there are a few quirks - one having to do with the heating/air conditioning system: if you want to go from heating to air conditioning (or vice versa) with your in-room thermostat, you will need to call reception and ask them to switch the system for your room. I don't know if they switch for the whole hotel! Final conclusion -- Hangzhou is a great city (so much to do around the lake), and this hotel is a comfortable, friendly oasis at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin_Terri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2010

I have just stayed for the first time at Wyndham Hangzhou. I have been to Hz about 10 times and have stayed in a variety of similar rated hotels and must say Wyndham is head and shoulders above the rest in same price range .

From the minute I walked into the hotel on day one friendly English / Mandarin speaking staff (from a variety of countries) greeted us and make check in very simple. The location, just near to shops, restaurants and of course the West Lake mean the Hotel is situated perfectly for business and tourist visitors alike.

The rooms are clean and spacious with quality furnishings and I must comment on the superior quality bed linen and comfortable bed. The bathroom is very spacious and facilities such as swimming pool etc are top notch.

Restaurant service and range of food is excellent. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough !!!

Finally I want to thank one of the customer service representatives in particular. Her name is Olga and she assisted with everything from talking to taxi drivers (the only one in Hz who didn't know how to get to the hotel), setting up my Chinese telephone, giving great direction and advice for shopping and tourist sights and recommendations for nearby restaurant. She displayed superior customer service which too often is not found in hotels in China.

Thank you Wyndham, I look forward to returning again in early 2001

By the way, this is personal opinion from a completely satisfied independant customer !!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_N_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We stayed several times this year in this hotel. We liked the room with the great bathroom very much and the the view at the Westlake was fabulous. Hospitality and service were great. Very friendly people. Breakfast en Diner were very good provided. This hotel is a good place to stay and we can recommend !!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gajsdlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2010

Stayed 4 nights in June and 2 nights in Oct. Well worth the slightly higher price.
The room with balcony was clean and very comfortable. The staff were exceptional especially in the Thai restaurant in the hotel.
In June it was a staff now it is a team. Great !!
When I come back to Hangzhou, then I'll stay in this hotel
Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wirtzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

So I was given an exective room at the Wyndham, with a lakeside view they said, but when I got there I didn't see the lake. There was a balcony, however. A unexpected, but happy surprise.

The hotel did what it was supposed to do to make me feel wanted and comfortable, but nothing more. The breakfast was a bit cold and the service could use some improvement. Also, it seemed that no matter what time I went for breakfast, they were never fully setup - Sad.

Until a Marriott is built in Hangzhou I may return, especially with the crappy service I received at the Shangri-La here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FDURecruiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#7 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
907 reviews
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#16 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
588 reviews
Gongshu District
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
#4 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou
#3 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
533 reviews
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
#27 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou

Property: Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
Address: No.555 Fengqi Road, Xiachang District, Hangzhou 310006, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#1 Family Hotel in Hangzhou
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hangzhou
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#29 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is adjacent to the breathtaking West Lake, a recent addition to UNESCOS WORLD HERITAGE list, facing the provincial government offices and administration, within walking distance of Wulin Street, and close to Hangzhou Tower and Intime department store. 293 various well-appointed guestrooms such as lakeview rooms, cityview room, suites, and rooms specially designed for ladies, outfitted with balconies, independent bathroom with separate bathtub and shower, 37-inch LCD TVs and high-speed wireless internet access.Western, Chinese and Thai restaurants can always match your taste.7 well-equipped conference rooms seating from 20 to 500 guests. The large Royale Ballroom with a unique window view of the West Lake hill, is the only ballroom in Hangzhou providing this feature!It’s the perfect place to create long-lasting memories for your business, conference or leisure trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou Hotel Hangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing