We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
Ranked #2 of 2,386 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great vacation”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Way to go Wyndham!!! I have been in more then 100 hotels in the past 10 years, and I have to admit this one was the best hotel ever! Location, cleanless, big comfy rooms and smiley faces everywhere. What made my stay so special was the staff and their hospitality. I experienced Hanghzou in different light thanks to Mihaela, Eva, Patricia, Sheyma, Marko and Vivian. Guys thank you so much, you are the best! The hotel will not be the same without you and all the positive energy you spread arround. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    154
    25
    4
    4
See reviews for
124
163
54
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a total of 4 hotels recently both in Shanghai and Hangzhou and we were delighted with this hotel. Everything about it from the customer service to the food and cleanliness of the room was excellent. We had a problem with the remote control on the television and not only was it resolved immediately, the Assistant Manager came to the room the next day to check that everything was ok. We were also very impressed with the fact that they ensured that a member of staff who could speak English was available on the reception desk when we arrived and checked out. Also the young lady who saw us to our taxi at the end of our stay spoke perfect English and was delightful. Well done the Wyndham!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My first time staying at this hotel I wish I had found it sooner. Room is big and bed is excellent. Bathroom is very luxurious. All for less than neighboring hotels on west lake. Great value. Breakfast and food were very well presented and good was high quality

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isaackr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I just returned from a 4 night business trip at the Hangzhou Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hotel. The hotel location adjecent to the West Lake historical area is outstanding...being just one block from the lake front activity area. I also enjoyed the very modern and luxuriously appointed room with Flat Panel TV, Full Glass Step in Shower with two head shower plus jaccuzi tub. There is a very nice desk with power plugs capable of US power without adapters and a hard wire internet connection. The room also came with Free WiFi. There is also an in room Mini Bar, Coffee Maker and Electric Tea Pot with free coffee, tea and condiments. My room was on the 5th floor on the outer street perimeter with a balcony. I found the noise to be ver minimal from the street below. I suggest 5th floor or higher and try to get on the inner wall of the hotel for superior views and quietness. The fitness center was pretty good with free weights and benchs, olympic weights and a basic set of machines for chest and legs. Cardio equipment from Treadmills, steppers and bikes. The staff is helpful...one guy spotted me on my bench press lifts. They also have an indoor pool and hot tub area...i don't think it was large enought for lap swimming though I did not try it. The restaurants are pretty good but not great. With the breakfast buffet being outstanding and the western restaurant for dinner being just ok. I found the dinner service to be slow and the food of just ok quality. I had a steak and it was cold, thin and lacking flavor....I ordered chicken but they where out do to a pandemic in china. The room service breakfast was ok and it arrived in less than 20 minutes. I also had wonton soup in the lobby bar one evening. We liked having drinks in the lobby bar as it was relaxed and they had entertainment most nights. The hotel has a small shopping area attached and there is a good Massage spa across the street. I had a traditional Chinese massage my first night and it was one of the better massages I have had in sometime. I like my stay at the Wyndham...I have stayed at two other Hangzhou Hotels at a similar pricepoint. I recommend the Wyndham over the others.

Room Tip: Pick the inside wall rooms and I suggest 5th floor and above to minimize street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcelenti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed in this fabulous hotel with my boyfriend last month, and it was brillent! It was our first visit to Hangzhou and we aimed to walk around the West Lake. This hotel is perfectly located beside the west lake, only 5 minutes or less away from it.
The service was outstanding. We had some bad experience in the train station, because when we waited for the taxi over 30 minutes and there were long-long queue, I got terrified by the "black taxi". So I called the hotel in English and asked for help. The lady on line was so sweet, she told me to stay in the queue, do not take the illegal taxi because the "black taxi" can con a lot of money, and it would not be long to have one (she also told me the price). When we finally made it to the hotel, we had a lovely welcome with juice and towel. The hotel service is managed by a Switzerland team (that's why i choose this hotel), I have nothing to complain. What's more, they ask taxi for you every time you want one, you can just wait in the lobby and enjoy orange juice or wine, and they will call you when your taxi arrives. More than awesome!!
We booked a deluxe double room which was big. The decorations were quite unique and nice, what surprised me was that they paid lots of attention to the details. The bed was super comfortable, and you can ask for pillow service (they offer 5 different pillows and you can call for any one you want OMG).
We also took their breakfast buffet, including western and chinese food. There were various choices, and the quality is pretty high.
I stayed in some 5 star hotels, and this one is absolutely more than 5.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnieX89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Hulpe, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

It is when you are confronted with difficult time that you can really appreciate the value of an exceptional service. My wife fell down because of her heavy luggage in one of the rolling escalator of the old Hangzhou central railway station. She was badly wounded at one of her legs, Soon after our arrival at the hotel Wyndham, we asked the Manager of the day to pay a visit in our room in order to get advice. My wife was immediately taken care of, accompanied by Vivian, a member of their client communication department, and brought immediately by hotel car to the emergency room of the closest nearby Chinese hospital. Vivian took care of everything, translating to and from the physician, handling the administrative matters, and bringing us back to the hotel. The same scenario applied the following days with her colleagues who brought my wife back to hospital for follow up treatment. No need to say that Chinese hospital is quite an experience for a Westener...! and the help of Wyndham staff was way beyond expectation and boosted our moral. At the hotel, the whole staff from the concierge to the CEO was alerted about this unfortunate situation and sincerely CARED about us. We have never been so spoiled by an hotel staff in our entire international traveling experience over the world (we are over 70 in age). Lots of thanks to Vivian, Eva, and JoJo (executive lounge) and to the international multilingual management team (Bulgarian, Latino-american, German, Tunisian, Italian) for their assistance and friendly care. We felt home, and the ruined vacation from a touristic standpoint turned into a warm and rewarding human experience in the hotel premices.
The hotel is quite comfortable and its location is conveniently located at 5 minutes from the lake which can be viewed from the upper floors, in particular from the executive lounge which we warmly recommend.

Room Tip: Select the upper floors for view of the lake. For a couple, it is better value to select an executi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed for your honeymoon at the Wyndham Grand Plaza.
This is to-date the best 5 star I ever stayed in and I would rank it 6 in trip advisor if I could.
Throughout our stay the staff had a great attention to detail and the desire to make our stay memorable. First at the reception they knew who were; we got a cold drink and towel to refresh from the heat. After settling in the room we got offered a cake and a bottle of wine to congratulate on our honeymoon. The room was incredible, with a great taste in the choice of design and material; a big bathroom with a dedicated makeup area for my wife. The breakfast is really good: I had twice the Chinese noodles; the patisseries were as fresh and tasty as you would find in France. We went twice to the leisure center; it is free and included in your rate; the pool is perfect if you want to exercise; you also have a jacuzzi, saunas and steam rooms.
The location is also ideal, you only have to walk out the door to get on the best part of the West Lake.
All in all, my only regret is to have stayed only 2 nights and I would recommend to anyone staying at Hangzhou to stay at the Wyndham.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#7 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
907 reviews
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#16 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
588 reviews
Gongshu District
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
#4 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou
#3 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
533 reviews
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
#27 of 2,386 in Hangzhou
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou

Property: Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
Address: No.555 Fengqi Road, Xiachang District, Hangzhou 310006, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#1 Family Hotel in Hangzhou
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hangzhou
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#29 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is adjacent to the breathtaking West Lake, a recent addition to UNESCOS WORLD HERITAGE list, facing the provincial government offices and administration, within walking distance of Wulin Street, and close to Hangzhou Tower and Intime department store. 293 various well-appointed guestrooms such as lakeview rooms, cityview room, suites, and rooms specially designed for ladies, outfitted with balconies, independent bathroom with separate bathtub and shower, 37-inch LCD TVs and high-speed wireless internet access.Western, Chinese and Thai restaurants can always match your taste.7 well-equipped conference rooms seating from 20 to 500 guests. The large Royale Ballroom with a unique window view of the West Lake hill, is the only ballroom in Hangzhou providing this feature!It’s the perfect place to create long-lasting memories for your business, conference or leisure trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou Hotel Hangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing