We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Customer Service not seen before in China!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
Ranked #1 of 2,491 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I really do not know where to start with this hotel. It was flawless from the minute I walked in. Having travelled in China for a number of years, I know that it is sometimes hard to get good customer service when your struggling with the local language, but the staff at this hotel go out of there way to speak english with you and are looking for opportunity to assist you. Even though they have a number of european born staff that seem to be mentoring and coaching the locals, it is good to see that they all seem to really enjoy their jobs there. I even enjoyed interacting with all of the housekeeping staff which I seldom do. Rooms are clean, breakfasts are well provisioned, with great fresh juices. Rooms are a nice size and the location is brilliant. Hangzhou is a magical place and I actually recommend you visit the place in the off season because you see more, and the ambiance is better with a little rain or fog around.

My only issue, which is not the hotel's concern is the rental bikes. They are definitely designed for locals in mind and quite uncomfortable to ride for longer periods of time. The hotel will use one of their cards to unlock the bike for a couple hours free use for their customers. I will do some more research next time and find other suppliers to get a decent bike because the city is definitely bike friendly and most attractions can be accessed in a short ride.

Room Tip: Try get a room facing Westlake and a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

474 - 480 of 930 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have been four days in Wyndham for holidays last month and I would like to say it was amazing!The hotel was huge and I got a spacious room with nice view. Moreover the location was perfect, near to the west lake and at only one hour by train to Shanghai. Most of the staff are very nice and speak English fluently, which make me feel really comfortable, especially Antony from the front office is so helpful and friendly. The Cafe Royal restaurant was tasty, specially for breakfast and the Thai restaurant was amazing. From my personal opinion, I highly recommend to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I had a great time at the hotel.
Service is super super super.
Cleaniness, excellent and very clean.

And best of all the friedly staff whom i met there.
Marco was so friendly and helpful as well as Eva HE. i felt my self honestly at home.

Thank you very much for making my stay so wonderful.

Room Tip: If you are wondering where to book at Hangzhou, the real best place is Wyndham Grand. spaciaous room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amr D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights and the service was first class. The Buffett was very tasty with loads of choice and the service was second to none. What a fantastic location too with a 5 minute walk to the fountain show and the lakeside bars.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jessie278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We booked this hotel after viewing it online. It's appearance is different, but I really liked that difference nice we got there. Not top of the top in terms of hotels but really quite nice. My room had a great view across towards West Lake and the temple on the hill in the sunset. Close to e lake for a boat trip, tea house and walking around the lake.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed here at the end of September with my family and we all enjoyed our weekend away from the regular routine. I stayed at this hotel already several times for business and since it has been always a great experience, I decided to bring my family for a weekend get away.
The location is literally perfect as there’re many restaurants, shops and the famous lake within a few minutes walking distance. The rooms are spacious – we asked for an additional bed for our son and it was charged at a reasonable price and the room was still spacious enough for all 3 of us. Breakfast is lush, a huge choice of breads, pastries and even a juicer machine where you can ask the chef to prepare your preferred fresh juice.
My son also had great fun in the pool and they even had in the fitness centre a ping pong and billiard table which could be used free of charge.
A huge help and something very unique I have never seen in a hotel in China, is the big amount of Western staff working there. The manager always remembers my name and was very kind to my son. The whole team was friendly and helped with language barriers, giving advice where to go, making dinner reservations etc.
In my opinion, this hotel is the best choice in Hangzhou to stay at as the personal touch and the service quality is the extra plus you hardly can find anywhere!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fei_Lan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We like this hotel, which is more like a 5-star hotel, because the room is big and well designed. The bathroom is very spacious and comfortable, too. Besides, all of the facilities show good quality and taste. The overall service is also very good. Patricia from the US is especially nice, making sure we'll have American breakfast at the Cafe. But the local staff obviously don't know where is the big bookstore (Xinghua) around. Most of the time we enjoyed our stay here. Unfortunately, there are 3 flaws.

The first is the mattress, which is not so hard as that in other Chinese hotels, but not so comfortable, either, as that in American hotels. We had expected it to be as soft as what we usually have in US hotels but felt disappointed.

The 2nd is the service and food quality at the 2nd-floor Cafe. We ordered American breakfast and a pot of Longjing tea. The former costs about 70 RMB, while the latter costs about 90. Not only is the price for local tea too high and out of proportion, but the quality of the famous tea is very poor---no taste at all. Besides, the quantity of tea leaves in the pot is much less than what is usually offered at regular tea houses. It seems that the woman manager can choose to offer how much or little she feels like. Above all, the price is calculated wrongly by the female manager, who apologized later.

The 3rd is the Spa service. When we called and booked massage service for two, the manager said we would enjoy the discount offered by hotel coupon, 30 RMB. But then a man, the massage master, I guess, called and said the price should go up to include the discount. Can you imagine how angry we were? It's not the slight difference in price that we cared, but the dishonest attitude of the beauty shop in the hotel basement. So, of course, we rejected their service right away.

Room Tip: We were given a smaller room, I guess. But when I mentioned that to the reception desk, the man sim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou
#4 of 2,491 in Hangzhou
655 reviews
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#9 of 2,491 in Hangzhou
974 reviews
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#17 of 2,491 in Hangzhou
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gongshu District
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
Courtyard Hangzhou Wulin
#5 of 2,491 in Hangzhou
804 reviews
InterContinental Hangzhou
#15 of 2,491 in Hangzhou
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou

Address: No.555 Fengqi Road, Hangzhou 310006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou > Xiacheng District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hangzhou
#1 Family Hotel in Hangzhou
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hangzhou
#16 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range: $120 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou 4.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is adjacent to the breathtaking West Lake, a recent addition to UNESCO'S WORLD HERITAGE list, facing the provincial government offices and administration, within walking distance of Wulin Street, and close to Hangzhou Tower and Intime department store. 293 various well-appointed guestrooms such as lake view rooms, city view room, suites, and rooms specially designed for ladies, outfitted with balconies, independent bathroom with separate bathtub and shower, 37-inch LCD TVs and high-speed wireless internet access.Western, Chinese and Thai restaurants can always match your taste. 7 Well-equipped conference rooms seating from 20 to 500 guests. The large Royale Ballroom with a unique window view of the West Lake hill, is the only ballroom in Hangzhou providing this feature! It’s the perfect place to create long-lasting memories for your business, conference or leisure trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou Hotel Hangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing