We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice decor”
Review of Qing Teng Teahouse

Qing Teng Teahouse
Ranked #11 of 23 Coffee & Tea in Hangzhou
Restaurant details
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice decor”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Nice place to sit and drink tea, eat from the free buffet (well paid for in the price of the tea) and chat with friends.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“good to unwind”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

ok perhaps a sunday was not the best day to pick, full of families and children but my sons fiancee says very much quieter in the week so tried to see beyond the w/e hiatus. Pricey teas from £8-£20 but includes free buffet style snacks, rice, nuts, quails eggs, buns, shredded meat,veg dishes, cakes, ice creams fruit etc that are plentiful and good quality. Nice surroundings with booths private rooms and open tables in large upper teahouse above lamborghini and Rolls Royce showrooms. Nice traditional decor and plentiful small bridges and streams meandering through the place, and quick efficient service to top the water up in the kettle beside your table. We dragged a cuppa out for four hours, so it can become good value, and there's no pressure to leave. Very near the west lake so an ideal stop after promenading.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dhdCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good place to chill, wifi, lots of food”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

They have two time shifts morning from 9:30 - 4:00 and the evening from 5 to night

I went there in the morning and did my work on my laptop
and had great food!

before with one price of tea, you could change one more time for free
but now you have pay 15 rmb or more to change to other tea

but i think this place is the best tea house among all the 3 other tea houses I went to..

b/c it has wifi, also has lots of food, and huge!!
it can get very crowded in the weekend so need reservation for Sat or Sunday

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ECO_minnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ok food expensive”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

A co-worker took me to the tea house. Nothing too special about the food nor anything to scream home about regarding the tea. Overall expensive for the tea, and they do have an all you can eat buffet. Not that I would expect the best food in the world at a buffet, but some of it is not super appealing. The good thing is that when the weather is nice, they have a great view of the lake. We went right before it got dark and were there for a while. I would recommend going right before it is totally dark, and stay for a while. You can see how different the lake is, before all the lights go on around the lake. That way you can get two different aspects to how the lake looks.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank PH22779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“terrible food and music”
Reviewed May 19, 2011

i went to the QingTeng at Yuanhua Plaza because of the good reviews here.
we ordered tea - one for RMB 118 and another for 88.
the food - if it can be considered that - was just horrible- oily, fried- even the Edamame (soy bean) was fried!
if you are expecting a meal, forget it. they are just tit-bits.
the music played by 2 ladies are NOT classical- but chinese pop.
the place also smell of cigarette.
we went on Sunday evening - the place was huge and quite EMPTY! definitely not popular as it's made out to be - and i can see why.
there's nothing edible so the price we paid for the tea was exhorbitent.
definitely overpriced for what they serve.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mizu2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Qing Teng Teahouse also viewed

 

Been to Qing Teng Teahouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing