We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very best hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banyan Tree Hangzhou
Ranked #15 of 2,497 Hotels in Hangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Spent a weekend there. Very relaxing environment and great services. Staffs are extremely helpful.

We had join a half day tour to Xixi wetland. My son enjoyed the boat ride so much. It is highly recommended to family with kids.

The only complaint was the air condition arrangement. Basically, The hotel switched of the main AC, therefor, rooms as well as restaurant do not have AC at all. In day time, it was ok as it is very comfortable to enjoy fresh air. But at night, mosquito everywhere. We could open the balcony door. It made the room hot.

The hotel should have arrangement with the AC especially during the spring time.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank HappyTravel0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal E, General Manager at Banyan Tree Hangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are happy to read that you had a great experience with us.

The Xixi Wetland is indeed a great location to be in and it is gret to read that you took advantage of the facilities in our backyard.

I wish to apologize about the inconvenience you faced with the A/C. The main A/C system for the resort was facing some issues when you were there as it just started up after the winter. This has obviously been resolved now, but I realize that was too late for you. Wehope it did not inconvenience you too much.
There are some mosquitoes this time of year, however we obviously do frequent fogging to minimize the number of them. We do recommend to keep the balcony doors closed during the night and closes the hordings during the day.

We sincerely hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to our property soon, so that we may provide you a perfect visit on that occassion.

With kind reards,

Pascal Eppink

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 317 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

nice location near Xixi wetland, can take boat from hotel to wetland if you book afternoon tea on boat. you don't need to come to the front desk but wait and seat in lobby with ginger tea and cookies. hotel staff will help you finish the check in.



Room Tip: 120m room. very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank phyy2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal E, General Manager at Banyan Tree Hangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay at Banyan Tree Hangzhou!

We are happy to see that you have enjoyed our location and appreciated the surroundings.

We are here to make you feel relaxed and reenergized when you depart from our property and it pleases us to see that that is exactly how you felt.

We will be more than happy to welcome you back again, so that we may try to exceed your expectations further.

With kind regards,
Pascal Eppink

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

we stayed here for one night and moved to another hotel. The room are large with very high ceiling. and they decorated very pleasantly with lots chinese artefacts. but its a little far away from where we wanted to go. we wanted to be close to the westlake. the restaurant was just ok. the food was just ok.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerome m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal E, General Manager at Banyan Tree Hangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Gerome M,

Thank you for your posting. We are pleasedto see you stay was good overall, but we surely would aim for every aspec to be perfect.
You mentioned the location was not as per your liking. The Westlake takes a 15-20 minutes drive, which is correct, but I hope that the next time you come to Hangzhou you will have the chance to experience the Wetlands as well, which are right adjacent to our property. We have direct access to it with our boats. In our location we have the luxury to be in a tranquil and natural area, yet close to the city's facilities.

We took note of your comments on the restaurnt and we will look with our team into detail of what you had ordered and review what could have been improved for those items.

We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you backon another occassion, so that we may show you the advantages of our location and prepare outstanding meals for you.

With kind regards,

Pascal Eppink
Area General Manager, Hangzhou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

It is a shame such a beaitiful property is under such terrible management. The ceiling of one of the villas has a leak and the wall has sinking molds from moisture. When we first got their s stron smell reaked out of the room and they told me it was from floor heating. Everything looked dusty. they covered the tissue paper with fabric which is white with dust. I asked them to take off the cover, there wa smore dust on the box and no one cleaned it till we left. They offer us a discount yet I think they should not have sold he room to us as a 5 star hotel. It is worse than holiday Inn which is cleaner. The shower does not work as the water woudl go through the toilet. All the windows doors and walls were covered in dust. The desks and tables all have water marks. Far from being a luxury resort. Our packae includes a boat ride and they tod us we had to book in advance and the boatman was off. We only booked the hotel one or two days in advance and not one told us of such a request. The staff was very nice and MArgaret was very paient with our complaints yet it does not rescue the shabbiness and dirt from not cleaning! We have had red eyes from dust and allergic reaction of the mildew which woudl cause cancer!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank slim l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal E, General Manager at Banyan Tree Hangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for giving us details about your stay.

We sincerely apologize for the service discrepancies you encountered, especially regarding the cleanliness. Margaret has shared the details with us and we are getting to the bottom of this. This is very unusual and definitely unacceptable, so we will make sure the root of the issue is corrected as soon as possible.

As for the boat rides, we do advise to book in advance since we have a limited number of boats available wth a proportional number of boatmen, which were all booked in the first week of February. If we would like to arrange for additional boat rides we do have to rent the additional boats from another company, which we can unfortunately not do on the spot. We have advised our reservation team to advise our guest of this upon making a reservation.

We sincerely hope to have an opportunity to serve you better and hope therefore to be able to welcome you once more to our resort, so that you will experience our normal housekeeping standard which we are confident you will appreciate. Please do email me directly at pascal.eppink@banyantree.com and I will ensure that your next stay will be a true reflection of Banyan Tree quality. As we are determined to set hings right for you, we will also be happy make you a very special arrangement to entice you to give us that opportunity.

With kind regards,
Pascal Eppink
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hotel is amazing! I have been to China numerous times and tried out a proportional amount of resorts, but this one really stands out. The décor is "so authentic china", yet modern and comfortable.

The staff are going out of their way to comfort you and please you, although your level of expectation for the English language skills of the local staff should be not too high like in any 2nd or 3rd tier city in China. What amazed me was that it was not just the staff you meet all the time at reception who were so helpful, but even the ladies who were busy keeping the bathrooms clean.

It was so nice to find a well organized and clean place after travelling in China for a week on business.

The hotel is in a nice and quiet location of the city with plenty of restaurants around.

My wife was able to join me for this weekend, but next time I will bring my whole family!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreRen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal E, General Manager at Banyan Tree Hangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

It gives us huge satsifaction to be rated Champion! We do indeed intend to give our guest a true China cultural experience.

We are especially happy to learn about the attentiveness ofour team-members, showing we all join in making you feel at home.

We sincerely look forward to welcome you back with your family. Please do contact me directly and I will take care of your arrangements and ensure your families' expectations will be exceeded.

With kind regards,

Pascal Eppink
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I is a wonderful place, and environment also very beautiful. worth to spend whole day inside the hotel, also you can walk around with in their backyard.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rexhlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal E, General Manager at Banyan Tree Hangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. We are pleased you enjoyed our tranquil environment and made the best out of it.
The winter shows a dramatic setting very much worth seeing, but we also encourage you to enjoy our backyard wetlands in spring when it is in full blossom.

We look forward serving you again in the near future and will be pleased to offer you a special arrangement as a frequent guest.

With kind regards,

Pascal Eppink
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Nice location, quiet and peaceful.

Nice service although the level of English is far from being sufficient in many situations and in any case does not correspond with the standards expected from such kind of hotel.

The huge problem of this hotel is Food and Restaurants. The restaurants are not pleasant places ( you just want to eat quickly and go away, very cold, uncomfortable, dull). They are oldish and no attention is drawn to details that, usually, make the difference in such hotels.
The bar does not have any outside space where you can enjoy a drink ; either you are stuck inside or you take yourself (because you will not be serve outside) your drinks and find a place outside !
And the food is below average. According to this hotel price and standards, I would say the food is terrible - at all times, from breakfast to dinner. No exception. In each restaurant of the hotel. Unfortunately, this was not the time my husband and I expected.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal E, General Manager at Banyan Tree Hangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your sharing your comments on your recent visit. At the outset we wish to apologize that we have not provided you with the experience we should have. This is very disappointing for us as well.

It is positive to see that you felt the overall service is nice. The level of English, which you mentioned to be below par is a constant focus for us. We have 3 trainers who perform practical English classes in the departments on a daily basis. We have also signed a new agreement with a Europan Hotel Management college which will bring us a larger number of constant hotel management students throughout the year. They will be working in various departments to first of all assist foreign guests directly, but also to augment the local staff's exposure to English as we will conduct the majority of the front of house briefings in English. You will surely feel the impact of that on any visit in 2014.

As for our Food & Beverage, it is a shame you did not enjoy the settings first of all. Our Restaurant are built commensurate with local Jiang Nan architecture with which we wish to provide our guests a authentic experience. We understand that the appreciation of this is always personal. Our Bar is decorated as a refined, elegant Chinese tea house with a combination of Chinese and modern interior. It does not have an outdoor terrace, but during the Spring and Autumn months we have our terrace in front of the water pond available for you to appreciate a drink or High-Tea in a natural setting.
We also have our own traditional boats on which we serve meals and High Tea, which you can enjoy while exploring the waters of the Wetlands.
Besides our restaurants, we have individual destination dining locations throughout the resort and in the wetlands which create unique settings for your meals. We always receommend those to complement your stay. Our focus is on unique experiences and we are proud to be able to offer those to you in various formats.

We have elevated our breakfast recently and offer a wide variety of offers from around the globe, all freshly prepared on a daily basis, combined with unique a la carte suggestions. Our chefs are preparing live chinese noodles, various egg styles and cut your fruits in front of you as you please it.
We would appreciate if you could advise us any particular orders you had which were below your expectations, so we may look into these particular ones in detail.

We are sincerely looking forward to welcome you back anytime and let you experience a wonderful overall stay and we are confident you will then experience the Food & Beverage in a whole different dimension.

With kind regards,

Pascal Eppink
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#10 of 2,497 in Hangzhou
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xiacheng District
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou
#4 of 2,497 in Hangzhou
661 reviews
Zhejiang Xizi Hotel
#35 of 2,497 in Hangzhou
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Hangzhou

Address: No.21 Zijinggang Road, Xihu District, Hangzhou 310030, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hangzhou
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#59 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range: $412 - $815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Hangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Banyan Tree Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Hangzhou Hotel Hangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing