We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banyan Tree Hangzhou
Ranked #41 of 2,349 Hotels in Hangzhou
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Nice location, quiet and peaceful.

Nice service although the level of English is far from being sufficient in many situations and in any case does not correspond with the standards expected from such kind of hotel.

The huge problem of this hotel is Food and Restaurants. The restaurants are not pleasant places ( you just want to eat quickly and go away, very cold, uncomfortable, dull). They are oldish and no attention is drawn to details that, usually, make the difference in such hotels.
The bar does not have any outside space where you can enjoy a drink ; either you are stuck inside or you take yourself (because you will not be serve outside) your drinks and find a place outside !
And the food is below average. According to this hotel price and standards, I would say the food is terrible - at all times, from breakfast to dinner. No exception. In each restaurant of the hotel. Unfortunately, this was not the time my husband and I expected.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal E, General Manager at Banyan Tree Hangzhou, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your sharing your comments on your recent visit. At the outset we wish to apologize that we have not provided you with the experience we should have. This is very disappointing for us as well.

It is positive to see that you felt the overall service is nice. The level of English, which you mentioned to be below par is a constant focus for us. We have 3 trainers who perform practical English classes in the departments on a daily basis. We have also signed a new agreement with a Europan Hotel Management college which will bring us a larger number of constant hotel management students throughout the year. They will be working in various departments to first of all assist foreign guests directly, but also to augment the local staff's exposure to English as we will conduct the majority of the front of house briefings in English. You will surely feel the impact of that on any visit in 2014.

As for our Food & Beverage, it is a shame you did not enjoy the settings first of all. Our Restaurant are built commensurate with local Jiang Nan architecture with which we wish to provide our guests a authentic experience. We understand that the appreciation of this is always personal. Our Bar is decorated as a refined, elegant Chinese tea house with a combination of Chinese and modern interior. It does not have an outdoor terrace, but during the Spring and Autumn months we have our terrace in front of the water pond available for you to appreciate a drink or High-Tea in a natural setting.
We also have our own traditional boats on which we serve meals and High Tea, which you can enjoy while exploring the waters of the Wetlands.
Besides our restaurants, we have individual destination dining locations throughout the resort and in the wetlands which create unique settings for your meals. We always receommend those to complement your stay. Our focus is on unique experiences and we are proud to be able to offer those to you in various formats.

We have elevated our breakfast recently and offer a wide variety of offers from around the globe, all freshly prepared on a daily basis, combined with unique a la carte suggestions. Our chefs are preparing live chinese noodles, various egg styles and cut your fruits in front of you as you please it.
We would appreciate if you could advise us any particular orders you had which were below your expectations, so we may look into these particular ones in detail.

We are sincerely looking forward to welcome you back anytime and let you experience a wonderful overall stay and we are confident you will then experience the Food & Beverage in a whole different dimension.

With kind regards,

Pascal Eppink
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    57
    27
    10
    8
See reviews for
51
65
1
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We visited Hangzhou and stayed at the Banyan Tree Hangzhou … from arrival to departure there just nothing to fault with …
Check in was flawless and information on places of interests or shopping were provided with apt accuracy.
On arrival, the uniform services staff were very helpful with our luggages that was already waiting for us at the fabulous villa. Front Desk staff were polite, friendly and very professional although our arrival was past midnight.
Breakfast was excellent with service staff providing not only attentive but very helpful service. Breakfast room service staff deserved special mention for their good spread and we remember Yoyo and Tyler who served us on both days when we had our breakfast there provided extra care and comfort for our young child who was not well on the second day. Overall it was a fantastic service with food quality to boot.
We did not sample many of your outlets or room service but the service and spread at breakfast left a lasting impression that it will be equally excellent if not better.
We had a late check-out which was granted as our flight out was at midnight. Our young child was still not well for the day and we had planned to join the Christmas Dinner which was very well received and all tables were booked. The hospitality of Banyan Tree staff went beyond this festive spirit and though we do not get a table for our enjoyment with the rest of the crowd, we were allowed back to the room to have room service which we decided not to impose. We were then allowed to stay at the library and enjoy the evening with some drinks and food while waiting for the our ride back to Airport.
The service staff on the evening shift at the front desk and bell counter were excellent. While waiting at the Library we were alerted of an item left in the villa which was placed together with our baggage. It is simply lacking now in many hotels of such attention to details.
Our experience at the Library served by Sophia and Helen was icing on the cake before our departure for Airport.
Where would we stay when we return to Hangzhou?. This is definitely an easy decision to make.

Simply put, it was Perfect from Arrival to Departure which is value for money and worth the experience.

Well Done Banyan Tree Hangzhou, keep the service standard.

Thank you.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a family of four choose their two bed room villa for comfort and experienc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srambini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal E, General Manager at Banyan Tree Hangzhou, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed feedback. We are thrilled to read your feedback and are happy to know that you left with such good experience in hand.

We are particularly pleased to read about the attention and care of our team, which makes us proud and which also encourages us to strive to do even better. Providing an experience based on anticipation and empowerment is our key and I am happy you experienced that in full.

We will certainly recognize Yoyo, Tyler, Helen and Sophia for their attentive service, as well as the other team members who helped you.

We sincerely hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next visit to Hangzhou and wish you a healthy and successful 2014!

Kind regards,

Pascal Eppink
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The resort was one hour from HGH airport (RMB 160), in Xixi wet land park area. So is perfect for family holiday, away from the crowd.

The Resort are excellent, service is good. We had dinner at the Chinese restaurant in the resort, again, the service was good, however food taste was OK.

Room was very big, perfect for couple for honeymoon. Our room was by the river, so the view was stunning.

The only downside is not many option for dinner outside the resort. But overall, fantastic resort!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal E, General Manager at Banyan Tree Hangzhou, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback with us online.

To see your positive feedback on our hotel environment and service is a lot of encouragement for us.

Banyan Tree is located at the Xixi wetland area in a full natural environment, so you will feel far away from city noise and enjoy your holiday in the real nature, yet with very close access to downtown.

We are glad to know you enjoyed your time here and we hope we may welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards

General Manager
Pascal Eppink
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
167 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I could not flaw this hotel as everything was just perfect, from arrival to farewell. Room was spacious and comfortable, complimentary afternoon tea was great, premises well maintained and pretty. The only down side (not for us though) was the location as it was located in the west most side of Hangzhou near the Xixi Wetland. It didn't bother us coz this was not our first trip to Hangzhou and we wanted to visit the wetland this time. It was expensive in China standard.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal E, General Manager at Banyan Tree Hangzhou, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are thrilled to read that you had such a great experience with us and we certainly hope we will have an opportunity to serve you again.

Our location is specifically selected where we are now, because we are blessed to be right at a natural wetland, where our guests can enjoy natural beauty and peace and tranquility in the city. By being on the east side of the Wetlands, we are at the same time in close proximity of the downtown areas. We would love to invite you on our boat to explore the wetlands on your next visit!

I am not sure which area of pricing you are referring to, but I can assure you that we purposely keep our Food and Beverage prices very reasonable and in line with restaurants in the market.

We hope to be able to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The resort located near XiXi which is around RMB40-50 on taxi from the famous West Lake.
XiXi Wetland museum is just 15 mins walk or you can ask staff to drive you over with golf cart. WestBrook is nearby as well and you can find several restaurants over there. We found a path from WestBrook where you can arrive the lobby of Angsana, and the staff there is willing to drive us back to our villa in Banyan Tree.

The view out of the lobby is so lovely that you will definitely fall in love with the traditional Chinese garden. However, the Water View Villa #535 we stayed in isn't that great as it is located at the end of the "river" and we can kind of seeing pipes with the low water level. The balcony looking at the "river" is relaxing but you may see some insects, you may find insect repellent and pesticide in the wardrobe but sometimes you may need help with the housekeeping staff since the villa has 6-meter-tall ceiling and you can never reach the ceiling to spray any pesticide to harmful one.

The villa has several tea for guests to try with a set of professional Chinese Tea making gear, we treated it as a cultural experience on that.

Pool and Gym is open from around 10am to 10pm, we are the only user in the pool at 3pm and no one is at the gym. You may find bottle water supplied in both area and apples supply in gym.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank Zazha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal E, General Manager at Banyan Tree Hangzhou, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Zazha,

Thank you for sharing the feedback of your recent stay with us!

We are happy to read that enjoyed your visit and that you also experiened our wonderful surroundings.

We try to give our guests some cultural experiences as well and thank you for pointing them out. We checked the view from the villa you stayed at and will make sure that also that particular villa will have the view it deserves in our natural setting.

Our Housekeeping is working systematically to keep any mosquitoes out of the hotel, but should some come in to a guest area due to doors being open, our team is more than willing to assist to take of it for you immediately.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon!

With kind regards,
Pascal Eppink
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were there 24-27 Sep.

As soon as we checked in to our villa (508, I think,) we found the room was not well maintained. The hooks in the bath room was loose, the bath room design was bad such that the water would leak to the toilet and formed a pool there. This was unacceptable for a hotel that's only a few years old.

As we checked in late the first evening, we ordered room service. The food was cold and un-inspiring. The cheese burger was not only cold, the beef was like plastic. We ate only the bun and the condiment.

The Chinese restaurant Bai Yun has some decent food. However the service training and setup has problem. In our first visit we were sitting at the far right corner from the door. Initially it looks a nice spot, but soon we found that it's too near the kitchen. The problem was that when the staff going in and out of the kitchen, then don't automatically close the door, and all the noise from the kitchen were really bothersome. I had to ask the waitress to close the kitchen door. But even after it was closed, the people inside were talking very loudly, such that we could heard them in the guest sitting.

The breakfast in the western restaurant was simply horrible. The eggs cooked old even though I asked to had them soft. None of the food item in the breakfast tasted good.

One morning I was waked up by phone call from the cleaning staff, who asked me when do we come out. We were trying to enjoy a quiet and slow paced holiday and would like to sleep until mid-day. We were not very happy to be woken up by the cleaning staff, who by the design of the villa, had no choice but to call by phone.

The location of the Bayan Tree Hangzhou was not good either. It's in the middle of nowhere. Fortunately calling a taxi is not too difficult, and after a day or so we hooked up with a local driver with his Audi A6.

We have been to 2 other Banyan Tree properties before (Phuket & Macau) and the Hangzhou one is a huge disappointment. The place was managed badly and without proper training to the staff. I have been advising my friends to stay away from this Banyan Tree, and go to Four Seasons instead (if they can make a booking.) The Four Seasons Hangzhou is much better in all respect, but about the same price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dontwanttodisplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal E, General Manager at Banyan Tree Hangzhou, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback in detail. My sincere apologies we did not meet your expectations on your recent visit.

The room should be nothing then perfect, so the hook being loose in not acceptable indeed. We reviewed the water drainage as well and found that with a normal flow of water the water stays well within the shower cubicle. There may have been a small obstaclein the shower drainage, which should be preventively removed by our Housekeepers.

The Room Service has certainly been far below standard and we have addressed the logistics of the error. I can assure you that our beef is of a high quality.

I am happy to see that you enjoyed the food at the Bai Yun, but the seating near the kitchen is indeed not comfortable and we have eliminated that table altogether.

I am sorry to hear you did not like our breakfast. We try to accomodate all our guest, hence we have a wide variety of items and serve additional hot items a la carte, so they are fresh. We usually receive very good comments about our breakfast, which we regularly evolve based on our guests comments, but with your comments we have closely monitored our offerings the last weeks and took additional surveys from our guests to ensure it is and remains up to standard.

I can understand you feel upset being called while trying to take a nap. Our Housekeeper wanted to clean your room, but did not get an answer while knocking the door. It is then our duty to call you to make sure we can prepare your room at the time you desire. We have our cards which you can hang on the door anytime if you do not want to be disturbed. Our Guest Service Agents can also assist to keep your phone silent.

It is too bad you have not had the chance to explore our surroundings, because you would have most probably appreciated it. We are blessed with our location at the edge of the XiXi Wetlands, the first natural Wetlands in China. It is a beautiful and rich natural site with various cultural and natural elements. We have our boats with which you may explore the wetlands, while enjoy our high tea for example. Our guest can enjoy tranquility with easy and quick access to other sites in the city.

We sincerely hope to have an oportunity to serve you again and to take you around the surrounding of the hotel as well and we are confident you enjoy the true Banyan Tree experience and enjoy as well what XiXi Wetlands have on offer.

Our whole team is looking forward to provide you a "wow experience" on your next trip to Hangzhou.

With kind regards,

Pascal Eppink
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I was really excited about the prospect of staying at the Banyan Tree in Hangzhou as a real treat after a few rough weeks. The thought of an amazing Hotel in a new city appealed to me need to relax and unwind. Sadly the Hotel was not really quite what I expect from the Banyan Tree brand. The Hotel is located in what seems like marshland with no views (lots of mosquito's), the entrance and most of the buildings are uninspiring and the facilities were so so. There was no outdoor pool and only 2 restaurants, one being small serving ok Chinese food and the other being Western. The room was massive and seemed very luxurious but getting a bit dated. All would have been ok but for the sky high cost of over $450 USD a night, half that price would have been more in tune with what someone should pay.

Room Tip: Get one with a covered balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FullerGriffins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal E, General Manager at Banyan Tree Hangzhou, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear FullerGriffins,

It is unfortunate that your experience in our hotel and its surroundings did not live up to your expectations.

We see you did not enjoy the surroundings and the setting. I would love to invite you for a visit into the surrounding area, which is actually the only natural wetland in China, containing numerous scenic opportunities. The government even built a musem in it to share more information about eco system of the wetlands. I am positive that after going around the wetlands either by boat or by bike, you will appreciate it a lot more. You may have been put off by the extreme hot and humid day while you were here, which did bring out mosquitoes in the area as well.

Our hotel is built in a traditional Jiang Nan style, reflecting local heritage. I fully understand that design taste is always subjective. We wish to make our hotels relevant to the local surroundings, hence the local design features. I am happy to see you found the villa's luxurious.

As a guest of Banyan Tree you are more than welcome to join our outdoor pool in Angsana Hangzhou, which is neighbouring our Banyan Tree Hangzhou. Thereby you will have an indoor and an outdoor pool available.

I sncerely hope that we will have another opportunity to serve you so that you may fully explore the surrounding and I will be more than happy to take you around personally.

Please do contcat me directly should your itinerary bring you to Hangzhou and I will ensure you will have a memorable experience with us and in Hangzhou!

With kind regards,

Pascal Eppink
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
2.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hangzhou at West Lake
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Hangzhou Wetland Park Resort
4.5 mi away
Chaptel Hangzhou
Chaptel Hangzhou
#35 of 2,349 in Hangzhou
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Azure Qiantang A Luxury Collection Hotel Hangzhou
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#7 of 2,349 in Hangzhou
883 reviews
4.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou
JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou
#2 of 2,349 in Hangzhou
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Hangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Hangzhou

Property: Banyan Tree Hangzhou
Address: No.21 Zijinggang Road, Xihu District, Hangzhou 310030, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hangzhou
#38 Luxury Hotel in Hangzhou
#60 Best Value Hotel in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Hangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banyan Tree Hangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Hangzhou Hotel Hangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing