We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't like it and terrible service!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elan Inn Hangzhou Jiefang Road

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elan Inn Hangzhou Jiefang Road
Ranked #176 of 2,334 Hotels in Hangzhou
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Didn't like it and terrible service!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

We came here as we had seen good reviews. Our experience of the Elan wasn't a good one at all. People at reception didn't speak English (except for one guy who was quite nice) and didn't make an effort to be helpful or nice. The room wasn't very clean and when we arrived to the room the toilet was full of urine. It was a very small room and didn't think it was very clean. We had booked the room with breakfast and it turns out they ordered KFC. We told them in chinese (as my husband speaks some) that we were veggies and they didn't take notice. On the second day we didn't get anything! When we complained they kept us waiting for a long time whilst the girl at reception saw people that came after us and didn't sort anything out in the end. It is pretty central but still about 5 blocks away from the central area. We wouldn't stay here ever again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    100
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
4
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

I booked two rooms in this hotel as my wife and I were traveling with her father. Another reviewer describes the hotel as cozy. Cozy meaning small. We booked a City View room. There was maybe 18 inches at the end of the bed to pass and 4-5 feet on either side of the bed. The toilet was in a glassed off nook on one side and the shower on the other side of the wall with the TV in between. The sink was on another wall in the room. In other words the space was tight. This room was very inexpensive and the staff was helpful. It is on a busy road that did quiet down at night some so it was not too hard to sleep. At some point, you get what you pay for and there is nothing wrong with this hotel but if I go to Guangzhou again I think I will pick another hotel.

Room Tip: You want a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbeachey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

The hotel has a cosy ambience and newly renovated rooms and toilets. It is located beside a very busy road and overhead highway. There is a bus-stop just 20 steps from its main entrance, and a bicycle-for-rent station about 50 steps away from the main entrance. The hotel is able to loan the cards needed to rent a bike. It is not within walking distance from the lake (maybe an hour or more to walk to the lake) but it is certainly reachable by cycling. There are some amenities and shops nearby but nothing fanciful. However, for the low price and clean cosy rooms, I think this place is certainly a good place for those on a budget and not requiring something that's too fussy.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank tiara1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

What a find! Great facilities with budget price. The room is so much better than what we expected with the price that we paid. A bit antique but looks really classy i.e. beds are five star, free cable TV with up-to-date movies, roomy toilet/shower. We booked 3 rooms - 1 double, 1 twin and 1 single. All 5 of us are very satisfied. For double, it's really for couple as the bathroom door is the see-through type ;-) Will definitely stay in this chain of hotel if I visit Hangzhou again. A pity it's not found elsewhere in China.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leeyean2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

This hotel is very accomodating. The location is fantastic and is very close to the silk market and west lake. The service was really good eventhough English was a bit of a problem.
The manager kathy went out of her way to make me so comfortable and the bell men were great. the bed must be one of the most comfortable in china so eventhough it is a 3 star and really cheap you will feel right at home.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sieze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

This is a chain hotel (怡莱连锁酒店) about a 15-20-minute walk from Hangzhou train station and a 10-15-minute walk to West Lake. It's at the intersection of Zhonghe Middle Road (中河中路) and Jiefang Road (解放路) with bus stops nearby. It's right by the main road but surprisingly quiet! There's a convenience store right downstairs and IC-card bicycle rental stands closeby (you have to get an IC card first though). It is not right by any restaurant that I could see but not a far walk to restaurants.

The frontdesk staff was also refreshingly nice and helpful. The room felt surprisingly nice and clean, especially since it was not expensive at all! Everything inside seemed very new. All the furniture looked really modern.

The only thing that you may find weird is that the bathroom.... Oh, also there was a vibrating condom for sale on the dresser... Anyway, in the room we got, the bathroom/toilet walls consisted of matte glass from the calf up... and from about calf-length down, it was just see-through glass. It might be a bit strange if you're staying with a friend/family member. Also, I didn't quite get how to adjust cold/hot water in the shower - it was different. The shampoo/conditioner/liquid body soap provided was nice! I also liked the fact that they have an additional sink in the room outside the bathroom. I was happy to have chosen this hotel out of the many I browsed through online.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redeyeblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Sunny Huansha Hotel Hangzhou
#322 of 2,334 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Huachen International Hotel
#40 of 2,334 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Shangcheng District
Bokai Business Hotel
Bokai Business Hotel
#340 of 2,334 in Hangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hangzhou Overseas Chinese Hotel
#220 of 2,334 in Hangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Xihu Resort
Haihua Hotel Hangzhou
Haihua Hotel Hangzhou
#55 of 2,334 in Hangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elan Inn Hangzhou Jiefang Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elan Inn Hangzhou Jiefang Road

Property: Elan Inn Hangzhou Jiefang Road
Address: No.175 Zhonghe Middle Road, Shangcheng District, Hangzhou 310001, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou > Xihu Resort , Downtown , Shangcheng District , Xiacheng District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 2,334 Hotels in Hangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Elan Inn Hangzhou Jiefang Road 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Elan Inn Hangzhou Jiefang Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing