We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay”
Review of Lily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lily Hotel
Ranked #813 of 2,497 Hotels in Hangzhou
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed overnight at this hotel while it was clean it is very tired and aged the bathrooms in particular could do with upgrading and replacement. I found the rooms quite small and noisy.You could hear the people in the next room running a bath

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank IGW187351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 141 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

I stayed in a single room which is surprisingly clean and good room. The price is not too cheap either but it comes with the value.
The breakfast was also good, they offer a wide range of Western and Chinese breakfast.
It is not located near the city so don't expect too much with the lively surrounding but I found the place is peaceful.
The staff can speak English and helpful.
The hotel also is in walking distance to the lake, it took around 10 - 15 min to reach Yue Fei Temple.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marry_Kusuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We were staying at another Hotel in Hangzhou but were taken to the Lily Hotel for lunch by our tour guide. This review relates only to the restaurant. Hangzhou is a beautiful garden city with outstanding scenic gardens and lakes. This lunch was the worst lunch we had in almost 4 weeks in China. The food was cold, some of it not fully cooked and the restaurant room itself was an interior room without any windows - so the natural ambiance of the city was totally missing. A shocker.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Djembewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed here at the end of April for a week. We had a 'suite' as our daughter was with us (16 yrs) which was a decent sized 'sitting room' a good sized bedroom (two large singles), fold up bed for teen in sitting room, and bathroom, so enough space for three people.
The room was clean (carpet a little grubby) and had everything we needed (slippers and bathrobes provided) PC with internet in the room, nice touch (tho we had a laptop). The AC didnt make any impact on the temperature of the room, but it was end April so not a huge issue for us - not sure how it would be when its hotter!
The breakfast every morning was buffet style. Good range of foods - not any real european foods but then why would you eat western food while in China! COffee and tea were available, eggs from the egg-cooking-chef were also available - we had fun trying to get scrambled vs omelette vs fried depending on hand signals, but all were ok. The dim-sum type dumplings were excellent
Lack of english speakers was pretty much our only real problem during our trip to china - the hotel staff, apart from reception, didnt have any english, but it didnt really impact us.
We ate in the hotel in the evening a few evenings - 'private' dining room for a party of three is a bit sad, but it was fine. They have all these seperate dining rooms for evening use - depending on the size of your group. Food in the evening was very good, and the price was really very good too. Warning - their bowls of soup are family sized!!

The lake is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel.
You can walk around the lake, discovering many different side attractions along the way - seperate gardens, temples etc. (the Botanic gardens are very dissapointing - also within walking distance)

Didnt have any probs getting a taxi from/to hotel - receptionist usually called one for us when we set out. There are bus stops very close by. Tip: Get receptionist to write in chinese where you want to go - to give to driver. Also always bring a hotel card (or name of hotel written in chinese) with you so that you can tell drivers/buses etc where you want to get back to!

Room Tip: This road is quite quiet really so noise not an issue. We were in suite 615 I think, AC might be an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

First, the hotel. It's a large, clean, attractive building, with a good breakfast, comfortable rooms and wifi...which is hard to find. I recommend the hotel. If you are going to Yangshuo for business..then maybe you will want to be on the other side of the lake, in the city itself. We were there to enjoy the lake..so it was perfect. And a cab ride is only a few dollars.

This is a nice hotel in the West Lake area. It you are a walker, A few blocks down, you you will enter the lake area and then you can spend hours exploring, taking a boat ride on the lake, seeing historical monuments and buildings...much of the description is in English too. Many Chinese poets wrote about the lake and translations of their words is found all over the lake area and on the signs for the local parks too (which there is an abundance). Everyone is out, in parks, walking... it's a nice, relaxing experience. I didn't spend time in the city, except for meals but it's a bustling city with many stores and gov't offices. Busy!! Business is happening there! They also a silk market in the city area.

Of course, the biggest issue in China for visitors is that there are few people that speak your language, and even when you try hard to pronounce words in Chinese, you have little luck. So you must depend on others to write locations down in Chinese to hand to taxi drivers and hope for the best. ;)

That was the issue in this town. 2 drivers refused to pick us up...they didn't want to leave the city area and drive the couple miles along West lake to take us back to the hotel. But I'm writing, so you know it worked out okay. Actually, we felt appreciative that someone would take out money and take us back.. lol. Other drivers were fine. Try to get a sense of what a cab ride should cost...an estimate.

We had the greatest foot massage while in Yangshuo. Find the Fodors guide, as it's in there and it's totally worth the 139Y for an hour and a half. What an experience. They used cups on our feet too...nice spa atmosphere, on a sleepy residential street.... and up the street we found a delicious bakery and further up, a local grocery/drygoods store where we bought the chinese glass, lidded tea holders with the screen inside. Everyone there uses them...and now I am using it at home. We also found small goodies...snacks, in the corner store....and haggled with a vegetable owner who tried to overcharge us at a local fruit stand. We bought next door...and the woman was nice. Everything is an adventure.

Room Tip: Away from West street apparently...my room was away from the traffic but I read other peoples notes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel-For-Fun-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

This is located on the quietest side of town.
You will need to get a taxi to get away 17RMB

This hotel is actually very clean and comfortable.
The room is very big and the arm chair is something to be attracted to.
Its so big and comfortable that makese the bed second choice.

Only problem is getting a taxi. you can wait outside the hotel for someone coming back or walk to the end of the road as they all seem to turn away from the road leading to the hotel.

Once in town its all in one place.
Dont forget to catch the water fountain show in 3D at 7pm

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chi1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I have stayed at the Lily Hotel in Hangzhou China 4 times and each time has got worse. On this occasion there was no air conditioning in the rooms. When I enquired why they said it was the end of the season so they turn them off. The outside temp was over 26 C and above.
The room was very hot and uncomfortable.
So I decided well since it's hot lets use the huge pool they have, well guess what? Because it's now at the end of the season the pool was closed as well, so sorry kids (I have 2) can't have a swim.

The service was rude and the staff are not very helpful either. To sum it up, keep away from this terrible hotel.

Room Tip: Stay there when they have airconditioners on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
#28 of 2,497 in Hangzhou
831 reviews
Xiacheng District
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
Huachen International Hotel
#29 of 2,497 in Hangzhou
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#10 of 2,497 in Hangzhou
979 reviews
JW Marriott Hotel Hangzhou
#4 of 2,497 in Hangzhou
661 reviews
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#18 of 2,497 in Hangzhou
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lily Hotel

Address: No.156 Shuguang Road, Xihu District, Hangzhou 310013, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #813 of 2,497 Hotels in Hangzhou
Price Range: $41 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lily Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lily Hotel Hangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing