We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent...in every possible way!”
Review of Ssaw Hotel (Plaza)

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ssaw Hotel (Plaza)
Ranked #781 of 2,491 Hotels in Hangzhou
Reviewed August 20, 2013

A Good location and great attention to detail with respect to cleanliness in the room and throughout as well were the highlights of this fine hotel. The room was clean, spacious, had an amazing view and the mini-fridge had plenty of complimentary drinks...which were restocked every day!! Staff was efficient though their service lacked some warmth I thought.

Please note that the air-conditioning is not all that comfortable...but then again the outside temperature was a scorching 43 degrees Celsius so I am willing to give them a pass! However I did not face a similar problem in other hotels across china, in cities with comparable weather.

TIP: The bathroom is separated from the room by a transparent glass wall and has NO door whatsoever! Since I was with my partner that was not a problem...but be prepared to conduct your 'business' in full view of whoever you are travelling with!!

Also, English may be a problem here. My partner speaks Mandarin so we didn't have a problem but every time I opened my mouth I got befuddled stares and gaping mouths.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 188 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

We booked the hotel through Agoda and apparently our booking was not registered.
Although at first the staff offered to give us a room with twin beds, after a short discussion they offered to upgrade our room.
We stayed in a very nice and spacious room with modern fittings and decoration.
Overall the service was quite good and the location of the hotel allows to reach several commercial districts or places of interest within 15mn walking .
The only disappointment was breakfast: the buffet selection is quite scarce, the breakfast room is tiny and the deco contrasts with what we found in the room, but mostly it is messy and the service is very poor. In short we had to eat breakfast on a dirty table and the floor under the chairs and table was covered with food leftovers . That particular experience was not so nice and was the only flaw in our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaradY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is a good hotel with comfortable rooms and helpfull staff

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vancatwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

It's mainly because of the fact that the staff doesn't know a word of English.
That alone wouldn't be so bad but gets compounded by the frequent ineptitude.

They took two days to get the AC working in my room.
They make no effort to bridge the language barrier and you are left fending for yourself.

Getting a cab to and from the hotel is an absolute impossibility.
The hotel staff recommends hiring exorbitantly-priced cars from them.

Stay ONLY if you can speaking a reasonable amount of Chinese.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ray1tracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Great hotel (spacious and modern 4 star quality rooms) which was priced at a really affordable rate (<$100). Would definitely recommend. Location, in a part of the city's modern commercial area is a bit of a walk from the West lake (15-20min), but I found it very reasonable and didn't mind the walk (Hangzhou is best explored on foot). Despite having explored around town, there seemed to be fairly few hotel alternatives that would have been closer to the lake yet as nice and affordable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southstar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a night last week, Great value for money. Quiet, nice size rooms, modern decor and good location. Reception staff pleassant and very helpful with good English skills.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bazza1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed December 20, 2009

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hangzhou hotels
Xiacheng District
Wyndham Grand Plaza Royale Hangzhou
Hyatt Regency Hangzhou
#9 of 2,491 in Hangzhou
974 reviews
Shangri La Hotel Hangzhou
#26 of 2,491 in Hangzhou
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huachen International Hotel
#31 of 2,491 in Hangzhou
333 reviews
Sofitel Hangzhou Westlake
#17 of 2,491 in Hangzhou
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ssaw Hotel (Plaza)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ssaw Hotel (Plaza)

Address: No.261 Tiyuchang Road, Xiacheng District, Hangzhou 310006, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Hangzhou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #781 of 2,491 Hotels in Hangzhou
Price Range: $59 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ssaw Hotel (Plaza) 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ssaw Hotel (Plaza) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing